Recommended Resources
- The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)The principal federal archive for the United States. Digitized content, research guides, and finding aids.
- The National Archives (United Kingdom)The United Kingdom's principal public archive. Digitized content, research guides, and finding aids.
- Library of CongressIt's a library. It also has images, maps, sound recordings, videos, manuscript collections, and more.
- Library and Archives CanadaCanada's federal archive. Digitized content, research guides, and finding aids.
British Archives: A Guide to Resources in the United Kingdom by ISBN: 1349652288Publication Date: 2016-04-30"British Archives is the foremost reference guide to archive resources in the UK ... Over 1200 entries provide detailed information on the nature and extent of the collection as well as the organization holding it."
Directory of Rare Book and Special Collections in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland by ISBN: 9781783300167Publication Date: 2015-05-01The Directory is the only publication to bring together rare book and special collections from all kinds of libraries across the British Isles and is an essential research tool for researchers and librarians throughout the world.
Archives & Special Collections: Tools
- ArchiveGrid (US and Canada)Search more than four million collections at depositories principally in the United States and Canada. Invaluable for identifying collections in unexpected places. See your liaison librarian for help with this and other archival search tools.
- Discovery at The National Archives (UK)An extensive and searchable databases for archives in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, and beyond.
- AIM25A searchable guide to London's archives and libraries, largely within the M25 encircling the city.
- Archives Hub (UK)Search across more than 300 archives in England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland for relevant collections.
- Online Archive of CaliforniaIn addition to finding aids from more than 200 participating institutions, Online Archive of California provides access to more than 250,000 digital images and texts.
Archives & Special Collections: Next Steps
- LA as SubjectMore than 200 institutions documenting the histories and peoples of greater Los Angeles, California.
Handwriting, Transcription, and Paleography
- The National Archives and Records Administration (US): Citizen Archivists: Transcription & Tagging ProjectsPractice reading and tagging manuscript documents and contribute to the accessibility of American history.
- Spanish Paleography Digital Teaching and Learning ToolThe Spanish Paleography Digital Teaching and Learning Tool is an online interactive resource to assist users in the learning of the deciphering and reading of manuscripts written in Spanish during the early modern period, roughly from the late 15th to the 18th century.
Handwriting of the Twentieth Century, 2nd ed. by ISBN: 1841509914Publication Date: 2007The main purpose of this book is to create a historical record ... techniques are illustrated that may be useful for teachers today, while the ever-changing views of the stylists provide examples, as well as a warning, to those who plan for the future.
Archives & Special Collections: The Rabbit Hole
- Denver Public Library: Genealogy, African-American & Western History ResourcesA vast collection of materials documenting the city of Denver, the state of Colorado, and the Rocky Mountain West. Ask your liaison librarian for additional assistance.