HIST 07.05: Slavery in West Africa (S25)
-
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African HistorySubstantial, peer-reviewed topical articles on African history with extensive bibliographies and suggested readings.
-
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Historiography: Methods and Sources
by
ISBN: 0190698705Publication Date: 2019-04-12The difficulties of exploring African history, especially for earlier periods, have spurred the development of a wide range of methodologies and approaches, such that Wyatt McGaffey once termed it "the decathlon of the social sciences."
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
-
AfricaBib.org This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary suite of bibliographic databases indexing scholarly articles, books, dissertations and films related to Africa.
-
Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly articles & books on Africa - and to a lesser extent the African diaspora. Subject coverage principally in the social and environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts. Some items from the medical, biological and natural sciences are included. African government publications and works of creative literature are not normally listed.
-
Cambridge Histories OnlineFull-text online access to more than 300 volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
HIST 67: History of Modern South Africa (S25)
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS): South AfricaFBIS search for South Africa (Source), limited by Date (1970-2000), and sorted by relevance (Best).
-
BBC Monitoring: South AfricaFBIS search for South Africa (Source), limited by Date (1970-2000), and sorted by relevance (Best).
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text resources on topics including current and general news. Invaluable for news in the born-digital era, with some earlier content.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text resources on topics including current and general news. Invaluable for news in the born-digital era.
-
PressReader This link opens in a new windowNewspapers and magazines from around the world, including South Africa. Invaluable for the most current news, comment, and culture, but inappropriate for searches requiring any depth in time.
-
Clippings, 1975-2000: South African Labour and Development Research Unit (SALDRU), University of Cape TownCurated newspaper clippings, arranged topically.
-
RSA Truth and Reconciliation Commission WebsiteExtensive documentation from the TRC's official website.
-
JSTOR Primary Sources: Struggles for Freedom in Southern AfricaPrimary sources on Southern Africa during the era of decolonization and the struggle against apartheid in South Africa.
-
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA): South AfricaDeclassified U.S. documents on South Africa.