Librarian
Wendel Cox
He/Him/His
Contact:
231 Baker
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Recommended Resources
- America, history and life This link opens in a new windowScholarship on the United States, Canada, and colonial antecedents; combine with Historical Abstracts for topics with international dimensions.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarship on the modern world. The United States, Canada, and colonial antecedents are largely excluded; combine with America: History & Life for topics with American or Canadian dimensions.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowUse JSTOR's advanced search for greater power and flexibility. Search for concepts by keyword in full text.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowSearch numerous databases from a variety of disciplines using a single interface; a complement to ProQuest Central.
- ProQuest central This link opens in a new windowSearch numerous databases from a variety of disciplines using a single interface; a complement to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSelect historical newspapers for national, regional, and local events. Coverage includes the United States, China, Britain, India, and Canada.
Highlighted Collections
- BBC Monitoring (1939-2001)Global in reach and intended to provide open-source intelligence to the British government, BBC Monitoring complements the CIA's Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Briefs.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new windowFBIS was part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and its precursors, and Daily Reports were the United States’ principal historical record of open-source intelligence from 1941-1996.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowA vast database of post-World War II national security decisionmaking, much of it declassified through extensive use of Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) suits.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)The FRUS series documents American foreign policy from the Civil War to the 21st century. Invaluable for any examination of modern American statecraft, diplomacy, and international relations.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL): Collections:JapanA guide to the strengths of CRL's holdings on Japan, with links to more detailed descriptions, digital versions of content, or digitized finding aids for microfilm.
How to Cite
Chicago Manual of Style OnlineISBN: 0226817970Publication Date: 2024-09-19Published September 19, 2024, this latest edition presents substantial changes to citation and other directions for scholars, editors, and publishers alike.
Handwriting, Transcription, and Paleography
- The National Archives and Records Administration (US): Citizen Archivists: Transcription & Tagging ProjectsPractice reading and tagging manuscript documents and contribute to the accessibility of American history.
- Spanish Paleography Digital Teaching and Learning ToolThe Spanish Paleography Digital Teaching and Learning Tool is an online interactive resource to assist users in the learning of the deciphering and reading of manuscripts written in Spanish during the early modern period, roughly from the late 15th to the 18th century.
Handwriting of the Twentieth Century, 2nd ed. by ISBN: 1841509914Publication Date: 2007The main purpose of this book is to create a historical record ... techniques are illustrated that may be useful for teachers today, while the ever-changing views of the stylists provide examples, as well as a warning, to those who plan for the future.
