Computational Data Sources - Licensed to Dartmouth - Computer Science

Company & Financial Data Sets

Bloomberg
Real-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more.

Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.

Datastream
Global historical data and analytics: equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly formats, covering 30+ years. Available within WRDS or by permission within LSEG Workspace.
FIVEProject
The FIVE Project aims to accelerate and broaden the reach of research on firm and industry evolution and related areas of entrepreneurship. Downloadable data sets include: historical workstation sales, photolightography, breweries, and shipbuilding.

Finaeon
FKA Global Financial Data. Financial and economic time series data covering 200 countries and 20,000 different data series. Includes data on markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264.
GlobalData: Disruptor
Decodes emerging tech-enabled opportunities with information on promising start-ups, technology led innovations, latest sector trends, consumer insights, and venture capital portfolio investments. Covers these technologies: artificial intelligence, blockchain, connected devices & IoT, digital business, payment technologies, robotics & drones, security tech, and others within these verticals: consumer, retail, financial services, and healthcare.
GlobalData: Medical
Medical device intelligence covering 16 key therapy areas: cardiovascular, orthopedics in vitro diagnostics, general surgery, diagnostic imaging, healthcare IT, wound care, diabetes, dental, neurology, nephrology and urology, anesthesia and respiratory, ENT, and ophthalmology. Find marketsize and growth, procedures data, pipeline products, company profiles, clinical trials, reports/analysis, news and deals.
GlobalData: Oil & Gas
Research solutions covering the full breadth of the oil & gas industry, from exploration to refining, data and analysis across the upstream, midstream, downstream and petrochemicals sectors. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
GlobalData: Power
Covers renewables, carbon emissions and trading, hydrogen and fuel cells, coal to gas, gas to liquids, biomass to liquids and nuclear industries. 25,000+ power plants, 16,000+ companies, and hundreds of research reports. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.

International Financial Statistics Online
1948 to current. International Monetary Fund. Detailed tabulations of international and domestic finance data by country. Time series data summarize each country's balance of payments, with collateral data on major financial components such as trade and reserves, and data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, international transactions, prices, production, government finance, and interest rates.

MarketLine Advantage
Country-specific industry reports include market overviews, data, segmentation, outlook and five forces analysis. Company reports include financials, top competitors, deals and SWOT analyses.

UCLA-LoPucki Bankruptcy Research Database (BRD)
Dataset consisting of approximately 200 fields of data on each of the approximately one thousand large, public company bankruptcies filed in the United States Bankruptcy Courts since October 1, 1979, updated monthly. The purpose of the BRD is to promote research by providing a statistical-analysis-ready core of basic data. Note: Make sure you are on the Dartmouth network. If you are off-campus, have Global Protect/VPN running on your computer. Download the zip file by clicking on the “Download cases table” link (in red, located on the left-side menu list under “Data Access”).

WRDS: Wharton Research Data Services
Wharton's business data research service - our subscription includes access to: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, COMPUSTAT, Compstat Global, CRSP, CUSIP, ComScore, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, Eventus, FDIC, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, IBES, LSEG, MFLINKS, Morningstar CISDM, Option Metrics, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Order Execution, TRACE

Other Library Subscription Databases

Sage Data Statistical Datasets
(fka Data Planet) Repository of standardized and structured statistical data: 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business/Finance, Social Sciences: Political Science (election data, campaign finance, lobbying revenue, etc.), criminal justice, social work, Demography, International Studies, Economics, Agriculture, Education, Nursing/Public Health, Environment/Climate Data/Energy and more. Help Guide

Gallup Analytics
Users can create custom data tables, trends, charts, and scatterplots. You can export data to Excel. Data includes:
U.S. Data: collected daily since 2008. Users can monitor data daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually, at the state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) level. Gallup U.S. polling data since the 1930s can be accessed using the Gallup Brain feature.
World Polling Data: available since 2005 from more than 160 countries. 80 metrics are tracked as part of the Gallup Macroeconomic Path a behavioral-based leadership model for successful societies. See country specific results or make comparisons across countries and regions.
Policy Map
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.

Statista: the leading statistics portal
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.