Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Summer Programs at Esri
Esri offers 2 summer programs for interested undergraduate and graduate students. Click here for more information. The deadline is usually mid-March. This page also lists other opportunities around the country.
Regional Conferences
- Esri EventsWant to see what conferences are happening around geospatial information and processes? Here is a list of regional, national and international user conferences centered on ESRI.
Keeping up with the journal literature
A definition for GIS
Essentially, the merging of cartography, statistical analysis, and database technology (K.-T. Chang 2014). The critical functionalities of any GIS package are: data capture, storage, management, retrieval, analysis, and display. See Eldrandaly (2007) Applied GIS 3, 5, 4 for a really useful guide to the different types of GIS package, and their strengths and weaknesses. See C. P. Lo and A. Yeung (2007) on GIS and spatial problem-solving.
M. Cope and S. Elwood, eds (2009) explain that qualitative GIS aims to look at how individuals understand space and what the impacts of these understandings are for the production of socio-spatial relations. For an example, see Verd and Porcel (2011) Forum Qualitative Sozialforschung/Forum: Qualitative Social Research 13, 2 on the way qualitative GIS was used to study the social production of urban space. A geographic resources analysis support system is a free, open source GIS capable of handling raster, topological vector, image processing, and graphic data (K.-T. Chang 2014).
Mayhew, S. (2015). Geographic information systems. In A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 7 Feb. 2022
What is Geographic Information Systems/Science
- What is GIS?
This web site is courtesy of Esri, the creator of the software ArcGIS and associated apps. They want you to use their software, so they do provide you reasons and instruction for using it. - What is GIS? from Unearth
This site takes you through the fundamentals of GIS from a company specializing in online geographic information systems. - Geographic Information Systems (GIS) at the CDCThis page is from their working group on Geography and Geospatial Science. They use GIS in public health.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of geographic information science by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412913133Geographic information science (GIS) is an emerging field that combines aspects of many different disciplines. As a result, GIS literature is spread widely across the academic spectrum and the vocabulary is an amalgam of all of these fields. Often, given the specialized disciplinary orientations of authors, some expectation of foundational knowledge is assumed in much of the literature, making it difficult for readers from different disciplines to understand the full context of what they are reading. The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field. It also provides details about the key foundations of GIS, no matter what their disciplinary origins, and is, therefore, an important resource for both academic and corporate libraries. ...
Encyclopedia of GIS by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780387308586The Encyclopedia of GIS provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide, contributed by experts and peer-reviewed for accuracy, and alphabetically arranged for convenient access. The entries explain key software and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. ...
Article indexe(s)
ACM digital library by Call Number: Electronic resourceACM Digital Library is a searchable, browsable, bibliographic database from the key publishers in computing, including books, journals, proceedings and theses.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) by Call Number: Electronic resourceProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Army Geospatial Center (AGC)The Army Geospatial Center organized as a major subordinate center under the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in 2009 to support ground operations with the dissemination of terrain data. The AGC collects, analyzes, manages, and delivers geospatial data and products, provides acquisition support, and develops innovative solutions to solve the toughest geospatial challenges.
- Cartography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS)
The mission of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society is to support research, education and practice to improve the understanding of, creation, analysis and use of maps and geographic information to support effective decision-making and improve the quality of life. - CitizenScienceGIS
They make geospatial technologies for science more accessible and understandable by fostering relationships between communities and scientists, of all ages, across the globe. - GITAThe Geospatial Information & Technology Association (GITA), founded in 1982 and re-launched in 2022, is the nonprofit product technology showcase for the GIS industry, providing unbiased, world-class information on geospatial technologies.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for Cartography or GIS? And do you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.