Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Definition
Python is a widely used high-level, general-purpose, interpreted, dynamic programming language.[24][25] Its design philosophy emphasizes code readability, and its syntax allows programmers to express concepts in fewer lines of code than possible in languages such as C++ or Java.[26][27] The language provides constructs intended to enable clear programs on both a small and large scale.[28]
It is also the coding language used within ArcGIS. This page highlights various resources for learning and using Python. ...
[Source: Wikipedia. Python programming language. July 25, 2016.]
SQL (/ˌɛsˌkjuːˈɛl/ (
listen) S-Q-L,[4] /ˈsiːkwəl/ "sequel"; Structured Query Language)[5][6][7] is a domain-specific language used in programming and designed for managing data held in a relational database management system (RDBMS), or for stream processing in a relational data stream management system (RDSMS). It is particularly useful in handling structured data, i.e. data incorporating relations among entities and variables.
SQL offers two main advantages over older read–write APIs such as ISAM or VSAM. Firstly, it introduced the concept of accessing many records with one single command. Secondly, it eliminates the need to specify how to reach a record, e.g. with or without an index. ...
[Source: Wikipedia. SQL. January 1, 2021]
Introduction
The Library collection includes many books, eBooks and streaming video for Python. Print books can be found in the Baker/Berry Cook collection. The call number range is QA 76.73 .P98 on Berry Level 3.
- python AND arcgisThis keyword search will show you books that combine ArcGIS with Python.
- geographic information systems AND pythonThis keyword search will show you books that combine GIS (in general) with Python.
- SQL AND geographic information systemsThis keyword search will show you books that combine GIS (in general) with SQL.
Introductory reading(s)
A concise Introduction to programming in Python by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781439896945Suitable for newcomers to computer science, A Concise Introduction to Programming in Python provides a succinct, yet complete, first course in computer science using the Python programming language.
GIS tutorial for Python scripting by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781589483569GIS Tutorial for Python Scripting uses practical examples, exercises, and assignments to help students develop proficiency using Python® in ArcGIS®. This workbook for Python scripting builds upon previously acquired GIS skills and takes them to the next level with the use of Python.
A Python primer for ArcGIS by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.212 .J46 2011ISBN: 9781466274594The automation of geoprocessing tasks is becoming a common practice among GIS professionals. Python is the standard programming language for ArcGIS and other fields such as remote sensing, GPS, spatial modeling, and statistical analysis. A Python Primer for ArcGIS(r) combines fundamental Python programming structures to help professionals automate common geoprocessing functions.
Python scripting for ArcGIS by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781589482821This book is a guide for experienced users of ArcGIS® Desktop to get started with Python scripting without needing previous programming experience.
Think Python: how to think like a computer scientist by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781491939369Publication Date: 2nd ed.If you want to learn how to program, working with Python is an excellent way to start. This hands-on guide takes you through the language a step at a time, beginning with basic programming concepts before moving on to functions, recursion, data structures, and object-oriented design. This second edition and its supporting code have been updated for Python 3. Through exercises in each chapter, you'll try out programming concepts as you learn them. ...
Selected book title(s)
ArcGIS blueprints: explore the robust features of Python to create real-world ArcGIS applications through exciting, hands-on projects by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781785286223Explore the robust features of Python to create real-world ArcGIS applications through exciting, hands-on projects.
ArcPy and ArcGIS, geospatial analysis with Python: use the ArcPy module to automate the analysis and mapping of geospatial data in ArcGIS by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781783988679ArcGIS allows for complex analyses of geographic information. The ArcPy module is used to script these ArcGIS analyses, providing a productive way to perform geo-analyses and to automate map production.
Automate the boring stuff with Python: practical programming for total beginners by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781593279929Publication Date: 2nd ed.In this second edition of Automate the Boring Stuff with Python, you'll learn the basics of programming in Python, the fastest growing programming language today, before moving on to create Python programs that effortlessly perform useful and impressive feats of automation. This updated edition is full of step-by-step instructions that walk through each programme. Practice projects at the end of each chapter challenge you to improve those programmes and use your newfound skills to automate similar tasks.
Beginning programming with Python for dummies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119457893Publication Date: 2nd ed.Python is a remarkably powerful and dynamic programming language that's used in a wide variety of application domains. Some of its key distinguishing features include a very clear, readable syntax, strong introspection capabilities, intuitive object orientation, and natural expression of procedural code. Plus, Python features full modularity, supporting hierarchical packages, exception-based error handling, and modules easily written in C, C++, Java, R, or .NET languages, such as C#. ...
More Python programming for the absolute beginner by Call Number: Baker-Berry Cook QA 76.73 .P98 H368 2012ISBN: 9781435459809What better way is there to learn a programming language than with a game-oriented approach?
Programming ArcGIS with Python cookbook: over 85 hands-on recipes to teach you how to automate your ArcGIS for Desktop geoprocessing tasks using Python by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781785281259Programming ArcGIS with Python Cookbook, Second Edition, is written for GIS professionals who wish to revolutionize their ArcGIS workflow with Python. Whether you are new to ArcGIS or a seasoned professional, you almost certainly spend time each day performing various geoprocessing tasks.
Other library resource(s)
CyberGIS from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002CyberGIS is an emerging interdisciplinary field that combines cyber-infrastructure, geographic information science and systems (GIS), and spatial analysis and modeling to enable scientific discovery. Much like physical infrastructure such as highways and energy grids supported a 20th-century industrial economy, cyber-infrastructure is designed to support a 21st-century knowledge economy. Pioneering geographers and geographic information scientists (GIScientists) started to leverage the computational infrastructure made available through cyber-infrastructure to advance geographic research. ...- Geographic information science from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Geographic information systems (GIS) are the collection of software, hardware, outputs, personnel, and practices that together facilitate the analysis and mapping of geographic entities and phenomena. The field of geographic information science (GIScience) broadly explores the theory and concepts underpinning GIS and related geospatial technologies such as remote sensing and the Global Positioning System (GPS). The technological history of GIS began in the 1960s with the first rudimentary systems developed primarily for storing land information and for basic visualized outputs of geographic entities. ...
