Research Guides: Earth Sciences: Find Articles

Databases and Search Engines

GeoRef
GeoRef is the major index to the geological literature from 1785 to present. Covers all aspects of terrestrial and extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geophysics, mineralogy, petrology, economic geology, hydrology, oceanography, geomorphology, geoarchaeology, and engineering geology. Includes records for geologic maps, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical papers and reports, and books.

GeoScienceWorld
A searchable full-text collection of journals and ebooks published by several prominent geoscience society publishers. Searches, result lists, and article records are fully integrated with GeoRef.

USGS publications warehouse
Contains citations and, in many instances, full-text for publications of the US Geological Survey, dating back to the 1880s. Advanced search allows you to limit to specific numbered series, reports and maps, including the USGS Professional Papers, Bulletin, Open-File Report, Scientific Investigations and Water Resources Investigation Report.
AAPG/Datapages
Online fulltext search platform for geoscientists working in energy fields (primarily oil, gas, and energy minerals) including material in environmental geosciences. Includes the AAPG Bulletin, Memoirs and Special Publications, as well as other AAPG digitized books and the publications of many regional geological societies.

COLD Database
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI), the COLD Database is the most comprehensive bibliography of cold regions. It is comprised of the USPA Permafrost Alert Program (2011 - Present), the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (1900-2011) and the Antarctic Bibliography (1950-2011).

Energy citations database
ECD (OSTI.gov) includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Environmental Science Index
This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
Web of Science
Covers 5,900 journals in the basic and applied sciences, including earth and environmental sciences; more than 20,000 journals in all disciplines. Covers 1945-present (1901-present for articles from a select list of 250 very influential journals).
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

SciX (Beta)
The Science Explorer (SciX) is a NASA/SAO digital library portal for researchers in astronomy, earth science, heliophysics, physics, and planetary science. The four bibliographic collections maintained by SciX cover astronomy (including astrophysics, heliophysics, and planetary science), physics, earth science, and general science. Overall the system contains over 20 million records covering refereed publications plus all arXiv, ESS Open Archive, and EarthArXiv preprints. It launched publicly in 2023, and is still in beta as of 2024. This is an expansion of the Astrophysics Data System (ADS).

Accessing Full-Text

Tutorial: Accessing the Full Text of an Article
Check out this 15-20 minute tutorial that will walk you through the different ways to access the full text of an article through the Dartmouth Libraries.
Off Campus Access
Are you off campus and having trouble accessing a resource? Check out our page for help regarding off-campus access.
Browser extension LibKey Nomad
Check out our guide for adding the browser extension LibKey Nomad. It can provide direct linking to full-text resources available in our library's collection!

If We Don't Own It

Did you know that you can request items that the library doesn't own?

Interlibrary Loan
Dartmouth's Interlibrary Loan system. Request books, chapters, articles, -- anything Dartmouth doesn't own and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from a small, but strong, group of libraries (the Ivies). Often the fastest option for getting books that Dartmouth doesn't own, or that are missing or checked out.

Open Archives

Earth-prints
The Earth-prints Open Archive is created and maintained by Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia. You can browse, search and access manuscripts, journal articles, theses, conference materials, books, book-chapters, and web products under the topic headings of Atmosphere, Cryosphere, Hydrosphere and Solid Earth.
EarthArXiv
The Earth ArXiv preprint server has been active since 2017. It hosts articles from all subdomains of Earth Science and includes related domains of planetary science.
ESS Open Archive
The Earth and Space Science Open Archive server hosts early research outputs including preprints, presentations from scientific meetings and scholarly society documents. Items in this archive are not peer reviewed before being posted, but they are screened for scientific relevance and originality.
PaleorXiv
Contains working papers, preprints, accepted manuscripts and published papers for paleontology research.