Research Guides: Earth Sciences: Geologic Maps

Finding Geologic Maps

Many geological maps are published as part of journal articles and books, and can be found attached to those publications online. Most of the flat maps in the library collections are shelved in the Evans Map Room on the 2nd floor of Berry Library, which also has a variety of indexes for locating particular maps. You can also search the library catalog for maps.

Dartmouth College Library Catalog - Advanced Search
You can find individual maps in the library catalog. Search by subject, by keyword, or by title. In the advanced search settings, you can choose "Maps" as the Material Type.

USGS Map Resources

USGS National Geologic Maps Database
Locate geologic maps using a standardized lexicon of geologic names or through a map interface. Access historic topographic maps through TopoView.
National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program
The National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program (NCGMP) is the primary source of funds for the production of geologic maps in the United States and provides accurate geologic maps and three-dimensional framework models that help to sustain and improve the quality of life and economic vitality of the Nation and to mitigate natural hazards.
USGS Maps Store
The USGS Maps Store helps you identify maps, and locate a source for ordering them.
USGS Products - Maps
Includes geologic maps, 3D geologic frameworks, topographic maps, and volcanic maps.

Guide to USGS Publications
Call Number: Evans Map Room QE77 .G95
Publication Date: 1996
This is a guide to maps in the USGS Bulletins and Professional Papers. It allows you to locate maps by quadrangle name, county and state, coordinates, or type of map.

Web Resources for Maps

David Rumsey Map Collection
Maps in this collection can be useful for comparative studies of changes over time.
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
This is a useful reference for locating information about geographic places and features. It provides coordinates and location information, plus links to some maps that include the feature.
Geographic Names Server (GNS)
The Geographic Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (BGN). This is a searchable gazetteer of worldwide geographic names and coordinates and has output to GIS options.
North American Environmental Atlas
The North American Environmental Atlas combines geospatial data from the USA, Canada and Mexico to create a variety of map layers useful for geographic and environmental analysis.
Omni Resources Catalog
A catalog of international print and digital maps and atlases.
Perry Castañeda Library's Map Collection
UT Austin's Perry Castañeda Library's Map Collection was archived as of 2021, but the link will take you to their page where you can access either digital scans of maps through the Collections Portal or geospatial data through the Texas GeoData Portal.