Research Guides: Earth Sciences: Find Books

Stacks Guide

Baker-Berry Collections Guide
Check out how Baker-Berry Library is laid out, where you can find our different collections, and where different call number ranges are located within the library.

The earth science collections are housed in the Baker-Berry Library on Berry Level 4.

Did you know that books are organized according to subject? Books in earth sciences are shelved in the Dartmouth Library by Library of Congress call number. Geology is classed in the QE's, with related areas in the QC's (geophysics, meteorology) and the G's and GB's (geography, geomorphology, hydrology).

QE 1-996.5 - Geology
QE 1-350 - General (including geographical divisions)
QE 351-399 - Mineralogy
QE 420-499 - Petrology
QE 500-639.5 - Dynamic and structural geology
QE 640-699 - Stratigraphy
QE 701-996.5 - Paleontology, paleozoology, paleobotany

QC 1-999 - Physics
QC 801-809 - Geophysics. Cosmic physics
QC 811-849 - Geomagnetism
QC 851-999 - Meteorology. Climatology Including the earth's atmosphere

GB 3-5030 - Physical geography
GB 400-649 - Geomorphology. Landforms. Terrain
GB 651-2998 - Hydrology. Water
GB 5000-5030 - Natural disasters

Library of Congress Classification Outline - Q
For slightly more detailed information about how the subject breaks down further, view the interactive Library of Congress Classification Outline for the Qs provided by the Library of Congress.

If We Don't Own It

Did you know that you can request items that the library doesn't own?

Interlibrary Loan
Dartmouth's Interlibrary Loan system. Request books, chapters, articles, -- anything Dartmouth doesn't own and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from a small, but strong, group of libraries (the Ivies). Often the fastest option for getting books that Dartmouth doesn't own, or that are missing or checked out.

Inclusive excellence in STEM

Inclusive Excellence in STEM Collection
Browse books celebrating a diverse range of identities in STEM and resources to help you champion inclusivity in your field.

Book Collections of Interest

Books on GeoScienceWorld by Publisher
Scroll down on the page to browse eBook Publishers. Click on individual publishers to visit their pages and see their different book series.
GSA Decade of North American Geology (DNAG)
Published between 1982 and 2005, the Decade of North American Geology offers a comprehensive look at the geology of North America. These valuable resources include many large maps, transects, and more.
GSA Memoirs
Full-text of all volumes from 1934 to the present. Use the "View Results on Map" feature to see a geospatially referenced set of links to volumes of interest.
GSA Special Papers
Full-text of all volumes from 1934 to the present. Use the "View Results on Map" feature to see a geospatially referenced set of links to volumes of interest.

Field Trip Guidebooks

Geological field trip guidebooks are a great source of detailed information on the geology of a particular geographic area or geologic formation.

New England intercollegiate geological conference
Call Number: QE80 .N4

Publication Date: 1938

SEPM Field Trip Guidebooks

Howe Library

If you're a Dartmouth student, you can get a free library card to the the public Howe library in Hanover!

Although the Dartmouth Libraries have a solid amount of books for leisure reading (try searching for some of your favorite titles in the catalog - see what you find!), public libraries specialize in these kinds of titles, including audiobook and eBook formats. Sign up for a library card to get access to their collections.

Get a Library Card - Howe Library
Did you know that Dartmouth students can get a free library card at the public library in Hanover? Get yours today!