General Earth Science Reference Works
- Encyclopedia of Earth Science SeriesA series of separate, single-volume encyclopedias, each of which deals with a separate branch of the earth sciences (e.g., geomorphology, sedimentology).
- A dictionary of geology & earth sciences This link opens in a new windowSearchable database providing coverage of the earth sciences and related topics, including geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, and planetary science as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology
- Encyclopedia of Geology This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
The Cambridge handbook of earth science data by Call Number: Electronic ResourcePublication Date: 2009Also available in print at Baker-Berry library: QE26.3 .H45 2009
Geological Structures and Maps by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780128180259Publication Date: 2020
Reference Works for Sub-Disciplines of Earth Sciences
- Treatise on Geophysics This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, integrated summary of geophysics. Review chapters summarize research and provide key references in all major areas of solid-earth geophysics.
An Introduction to the Rock-Forming Minerals by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780903056434Publication Date: 2013
- Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences This link opens in a new windowArticles ranging from the physical processes that drive the oceans to the chemical, biological, and geological disciplines. Also addresses social and economic issues such as global programs, marine policy, law of the oceans, and the impact of pollution and climate systems.
- Treatise on Geochemistry This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, integrated summary of geochemistry. Review chapters summarize research and provide key references in nine major areas of geochemistry.
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by Call Number: Stacks QE515 .E48 1999ISBN: 9780412755002Publication Date: 1999- Encyclopedia Arctica byCall Number: Electronic resourceA 16-volume Arctic encyclopedia, sponsored in the 1940s by the U.S. Office of Naval Research and never published. General editor Vilhjalmur Stefansson was a Canadian Arctic explorer and ethnologist, and Director of Polar Studies at Dartmouth College.
Encyclopedia of Snow, Ice and Glaciers by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9048126428Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of geomorphology by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 400.3 .E53 2004 v. 1 - 2ISBN: 9780415272988
Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient Environments by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1402044119Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Scientific Dating Methods by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9400763263Publication Date: 2020
Quaternary Geochronology: Methods and Applications by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1118668480Publication Date: 2000
- Encyclopedia of Quaternary science This link opens in a new windowQuaternary science links ancient prehistory to modern environments, focusing on the Earth's history over the last approximately 2.6 million years. Articles from a broad range of disciplines cover subjects as diverse as glaciation, stratigraphy, sea level change, ice core studies, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion.
Handbook of soil sciences by Call Number: Baker-Berry S 591 .H363 2012 v. 1-2ISBN: 9781439803059Publication Date: 2nd ed.
Soil Genesis and Classification by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780470960608Publication Date: 2011
Societies
- IAGD - International Association for Geoscience DiversityThe International Association for Geoscience Diversity is a 501c3 non-profit dedicated to improving access and inclusion for people with disabilities in the geosciences.