Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description for Environmental Justice
Around the world, people suffer because of environmental degradation, from sickening industrial pollution to unnatural disasters to disruptive climate change. This course examines how environmental harms are unequally experienced, as well as how communities organize to protect themselves. We will discuss the concept of “environmental justice” as it has developed through social movements in the United States and elsewhere. We will also explore it as an analytical category that (a) explains how inequality manifests environmentally and (b) enables critical thinking about concepts like the “environment” and mainstream environmentalism and environmental policy. Drawing from Anthropology, Geography, History, Sociology, and other disciplines, we will focus on the lived experiences of environment justice and injustice around the world.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 09/26/2023]; Dist: SOC
Environmentalism
The beliefs and practices associated with concern for the environment, particularly for the negative impacts of human activity on nature. Environmentalism covers a very broad range of ideas and actions, although they share the proposition that the environment is something apart from society and under threat from it. A helpful distinction was made by Tim O’ Riordan in Environmentalism (1976). He noted two polar types of environmentalism: technocentrism and ecocentrism. ...
Castree, N., Kitchin, R., & Rogers, A. (2013). "Environmentalism." In A Dictionary of Human Geography. Oxford University Press,. Retrieved 20 Jan. 2022
Environmental justice
A political claim that all people and communities have a right to safe, clean, and healthy environments. The environmental justice movement is closely bound up with campaigns against ‘environmental racism’, which challenges the unjust distribution of environmental harms along lines of race, ethnicity, and indigeneity.
Rogers, A., Castree, N., & Kitchin, R. (2013). "Environmental justice." In A Dictionary of Human Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 20 Jan. 2022
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
environmental justiceThis is a relatively new subject heading in the online catalog.
-
"environmental justice"This is a keyword search with the term in quotes in the online catalog. The quotes look for a phrase rather than the 2 words separately.
-
"environmental movements"This is a keyword in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Encyclopedia of American social movements
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780765680457This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice. -
Environmental justice: key issues
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429029585Environmental Justice: Key Issues is the first textbook to offer a comprehensive and accessible overview of environmental justice, one of the most dynamic fields in environmental politics scholarship. The rapidly growing body of research in this area has brought about a proliferation of approaches; as such, the breadth and depth of the field can sometimes be a barrier for aspiring environmental justice students and scholars. This book therefore is unique for its accessible style and innovative approach to exploring environmental justice. ... -
Moral geographies: ethics in a world of difference
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 42 .S57 2000ISBN: 9780748612796This book explores the interface between geography, ethics and morality. It considers questions that have haunted the past, are subjects of controversy in the present, and which affect the future. Does distance diminish responsibility? Should we interfere with the lives of those we do not know? Is there a distinction between private and public space? Which values and morals, if any, are absolute, and which cultural, communal or personal? And are universal rights consistent with respect for difference? David Smith shows how these questions play themselves out in politics, planning, development, social and personal relations, the exploitation of resources, and competition for territory. ... -
The Routledge handbook of environmental justice
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138932821The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice presents an extensive and cutting-edge introduction to the diverse, rapidly growing body of research on pressing issues of environmental justice and injustice. With wide-ranging discussion of current debates, controversies, and questions in the history, theory, and methods of environmental justice research, contributed by over 90 leading social scientists, natural scientists, humanists, and scholars from professional disciplines from six continents, it is an essential resource both for newcomers to this research and for experienced scholars and practitioners. ... -
The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movements
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405197731The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements contains over 400 entries across three volumes, exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.
Selected book title(s)
-
Closing the rights gap: from human rights to social transformation
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520283091Do "human rights"--as embodied in constitutions, national laws, and international agreements--foster improvements in the lives of the poor or otherwise marginalized populations? ... -
Environmental justice for climate refugees
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003102632This book explores who climate refugees are and how environmental justice might be used to overcome legal obstacles preventing them from being recognized at an international level. Francesca Rosignoli begins by exploring the conceptual and complex issues that surround the very existence of climate refugees and investigates the magnitude of the phenomenon in its current and future estimates. Reframing the debate using an environment justice perspective, she examines who has the responsibility of assisting climate refugees (state vs non-state actors), the various legal solutions available and the political scenarios that should be advanced in order to govern this issue in the long term. ... -
Contested knowledges: water conflicts on large dams and mega-hydraulic development
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783038978107Water acquisition, storage, allocation and distribution are intensely contested in our society, whether, for instance, such issues pertain to a conflict between upstream and downstream farmers located on a small stream or to a large dam located on the border of two nations. Water conflicts are mostly studied as disputes around access to water resources or the formulation of water laws and governance rules. However, explicitly or not, water conflicts nearly always also involve disputes among different philosophical views. ... -
Environmental justice: law, policy & regulation
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry KF 3817 .R385 2020ISBN: 9781531012380Publication Date: 3rd ed.Environmental Justice: Law, Policy, and Regulation explores theory and practice in this dynamic subject, which fuses environmental law and civil rights enforcement. From early concerns over toxic waste in minority communities, environmental justice expanded to consider the range of environmental threats facing poor, immigrant, and indigenous communities; women, children, and seniors; and other vulnerable populations. ... -
Environmental movements in minority and majority worlds: a global perspective
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813534947Environmental movements are among the most vibrant, diverse, and powerful social movements occurring today, across all corners of the globe. They range dramatically from government lobbyists raising campaign funds to save the North American spotted owl; to "Green Warriors" engaging in guerrilla conflict in the mountains of the Philippines; to small landholders and indigenous peoples vowing to die by meeting the waters of the Narmada River in India as it rises due to its damming. Drawing on his primary fieldwork in six countries, environmental researcher Timothy Doyle argues that there is, in fact, no one global environmental movement; rather, there are many, and the differences among them far outweigh their similarities. ... -
Form and flow: the spatial politics of urban resilience and climate justice
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262367066An examination of urban climate change response strategies and the resistance to them by grassroots activists and social movements. -
The politics of nature
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415124713This book presents a uniquely comprehensive and balanced survey of current green political ideas. It analyses the ability of these ideas to provide plausible answers to fundamental problems in political theory, concerning justice and democracy, individual rights and freedom, human nature and gender. The authors explore the relationship between green ideas and other traditions including liberalism, anarchism, feminism and Christianity. -
The Routledge handbook of environmental movements
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781000517941This handbook provides readers with up-to-date knowledge on environmental movements, activism, and is a reference point for international work in the field. It offers an assessment of environmental movements in different regions of the world, macrostructural conditions and processes underlying their mobilization, the microstructural and social-psychological dimensions of environmental movements and activism, current trends as well as prospects for environmental movements and social change. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Environmental ethics from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445Environmental ethics focuses on questions concerning how we ought to inhabit the world; what constitutes a good life or a good society; and who, where, or what merits moral standing. The field emerged most significantly in the 1960s from an increasing awareness of the global environmental condition, although its multiple roots stretch back through the conservation legacy of Roosevelt and Leopold, the transcendentalism of Thoreau and Muir, a growing wilderness movement, insights from the ecological sciences and their precursors, and 19th-century Arcadian sentiments. ... -
Environmental justice: approaches, dimensions, and movements from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199830060Environmental justice (EJ) is the struggle for access to a safe and healthy environment free from pollution and for access to the environmental resources needed for survival, well being, and social reproduction. The term environmental justice was originally born in the United States from the resistance of African American communities linked to the civil rights movement protesting toxic dumping and the siting of hazardous facilities in their communities. Scholars soon joined activists, concerned citizens, and religious leaders and communities to systematically document injustices and demonstrate that “pollution is not color blind” by demonstrating that disparities of environmental exposure exist among racial lines. ... -
Environmental justice from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002“Environmental justice” is both a social movement and a research subject. Broadly defined, environmental justice means that all people—irrespective of race, ethnicity, class, gender, and physical ability—have the right to live in clean, healthy, and safe environments; to have equal access to safe and healthy workplaces, schools, and recreation areas; and to have access to safe and nutritious food and clean water. Environmental injustice was first recognized in the United States and has been traced to “Jim Crow” ideology. ... -
Geography of justice from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The term “geography of justice” can be interpreted in a number of ways. One reading of the term relates to the spatial aspects of claims to justice. This interpretation is often related to questions of social justice, work that examines fundamental questions of inequality and the uneven distribution of resources or harm. The roots of this scholarship are diverse, inspired by anticapitalist, anticolonial, and feminist movements of the 19th and early 20th centuries. Despite the diversity of these approaches, they all express an interest in addressing questions of spatial justice, where the organization of space is understood as a crucial aspect of the entrenchment of injustice within society. ...
Films on environmental justice
Find more films on environmental justice in the library's online catalog.
-
Come hell or high water: the battle for Turkey Creek
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #22762ISBN: 9780615892597Come Hell or High Water follows the painful but inspiring journey of Derrick Evans, a Boston teacher who moves home to coastal Mississippi when the graves of his ancestors are bulldozed to make way for the sprawling city of Gulfport. Over the course of a decade, Derrick and his neighbors stand up to powerful corporate interests and politicians and face ordeals that include Hurricane Katrina and the BP oil disaster in their struggle for self-determination and environmental justice. -
Global environmental justice film collection
by
Call Number: Streaming videoThis is a curated collection of 35 documentaries that cover a wide range of subject areas, from Asian, environmental, and Indigenous studies to law, geography, anthropology, global health, policy, conservation biology, and more. -
Going to green byCall Number: Streaming videoGoing to Green deals with the restoration of America's urban landscape through the creation of sustainable neighborhood ecosystems. Each episode is devoted to a specific subject and includes ways in which everyone can work to help the environment.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Our collection includes at least one journal which looks at Environmental Justice exclusively. A link is provided below. Because environmental justice can be very interdisciplinary, it might be easier to start your search with Academic Search Complete or Web of Science to find relevant articles.
-
Environmental justice
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe essential peer-reviewed journal that explores the equitable treatment of all people, especially minority and low-income populations, with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies. -
Environmental science index
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types. -
Academic search complete
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Arcadia: Global Environmental MovementsThis is a collection of writings on global environmental movements from
-
Environmentalism was once a social justice movement from The Atlantic... The vigil at Standing Rock, which surprised nearly everyone by blocking the proposed route of the Dakota Access Pipeline through traditional Sioux lands, was a far cry from the litigation and high-level lobbying that are so much of the environmental movement’s work these days. ...
-
Environmental Justice from the EPA
Environmental Justice is the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin, or income with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies. EPA has this goal for all communities and persons across this Nation. It will be achieved when everyone enjoys the same degree of protection from environmental and health hazards and equal access to the decision-making process to have a healthy environment in which to live, learn, and work. -
The Modern Environmental Movement from American Experience (PBS)This is a timeline of environmental movement in the United States.
-
Office of Environmental Justice at the Department of Health & Human Services
... The Office’s mission is to protect the health of disadvantaged communities and vulnerable populations on the frontlines of pollution, and other environmental hazards that affect health. ... -
Office of Environmental Justice at the Department of Justice
The Office of Environmental Justice (OEJ) will engage all Justice Department bureaus, components and offices in the collective pursuit of environmental justice. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.