Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Biogeography from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Biogeography is a broad and holistic science that examines spatial patterns of biological diversity. Biogeography is a subfield of the discipline of geography (or biology, depending on area of specialization), the study of the spatial distribution of phenomena over the earth. Biogeographers examine the historical, geological, ecological, and environmental factors that influence the pattern of life on earth in the past, in the present, and into the future. The field of biogeography has composite origins, with its foundations built from theories and observations generated before biogeography was established as an independent discipline by renowned scientists from allied disciplines including Carl Linnaeus, Alexander von Humboldt, Charles Darwin, Alfred Wallace, and C. Hart Merriam.
Internet resource(s)
- The International Biogeography SocietyBiogeography is a dynamic and burgeoning field that seeks to understand the role of historical factors in shaping biodiversity and, as importantly, to develop predictive capacities for gauging how biodiversity will respond to our rapidly changing world.
- Island BiogeographyTheir island biogeography projects seek to understand the generation of biodiversity on island archipelagos in relation to geographical isolation and dispersal abilities of taxa.
Keeping up with the journal literature
The science of biological distribution patterns, and a discipline examining the characteristic spatial and temporal occurrence of the Earth's organisms. As the name suggests, there are two components to this form of natural science. The biological component entails that its objects of study are biological entities, from species up through higher orders of taxonomic classification. The geographical component embodies the identification of distributional patterns and the search for an explanation as to the factors that underlie them. Depending on the level of taxonomy in question and the spatial scale of interest, there may be a strong degree of overlap between biogeography and ecology, since ecologists are also interested in organism distributions. ...
Thomas, David S.G. (2016). "Biogeography." The Dictionary of Physical Geography, John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated accessed on 2022 Mar. 03
In the Library's Collections
Most of the works on Biogeography are located in several library collections. Verify the location of specific, print resources.
Call number ranges: QH 84 through QH 198. Suggested subject headings are listed below.
Introductory reading(s)
Biogeography: a very short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198850069Biogeography is the study of geographic variation in all characteristics of life - ranging from genetic, morphological and behavioural variation among regional populations of a species, to geographic trends in diversity of entire communities across our planet's surface. From the ancient hunters and gatherers to the earliest naturalists, Charles Darwin, Alfred Russel Wallace, and scientists today, the search for patterns in life has provided insights that proved invaluable for understanding the natural world. And many, if not most, of the compelling kaleidoscope of patterns in biological diversity make little sense unless placed in an explicit geographic context. ....
Biogeography: biological diversity across space and time by Call Number: Dana Biomedical Stacks QH 84 .B76 2017ISBN: 9781605354729Publication Date: 5th ed.Biogeography provides an insightful study of geographic variation across terrestrial and marine environments and how it influences the fundamental processes of immigration, extinction, and evolution to shape species distributions and nearly all patterns of biologicaldiversity. This empirically and conceptually rich text illustrates general patterns and processes using examples from a broad diversity of life forms, time periods, and aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems.
Historical biogeography: an introduction by Call Number: Library Depository QH 84 .C6798 2003ISBN: 9780674010598Though biogeography may be simply defined--the study of the geographic distributions of organisms--the subject itself is extraordinarily complex, involving a range of scientific disciplines and a bewildering diversity of approaches. For convenience, biogeographers have recognized two research traditions: ecological biogeography and historical biogeography. This book makes sense of the profound revolution that historical biogeography has undergone in the last two decades, and of the resulting confusion over its foundations, basic concepts, methods, and relationships to other disciplines of comparative biology. ...
International encyclopedia of the social & behaviorial sciences by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2nd ed.The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. It discusses history, current trends and future directions. ...
An introduction to applied biogeography by Call Number: Library Depository QH 84 .S7 1999ISBN: 9780521457125Biogeography is about the geographical distribution, both past and present, of plants, animals and other organisms. In this undergraduate textbook Spellerberg and Sawyer bring a modern and new approach to a developing subject, writing in a lively and sometimes provocative manner. Throughout the text the applications of biogeography in conservation management, economic production, environmental assessment, sustainable use of resources, landscape planning and public health are emphasised. ...
Paleoecology: past, present, and future by Call Number: Baker-Berry QE 720 .B66 2016ISBN: 9781118455845Paleoecology is a discipline that uses evidence from fossils to provide an understanding of ancient environments and the ecological history of life through geological time.
Selected book title(s)
Early hominin paleoecology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781607322245... Early Hominin Paleoecology offers an up-to-date review of the relevant literature, exploring new research and synthesizing old and new ideas.
Evolutionary biogeography: an integrative approach with case studies by Call Number: Library Depository QH 84 .M665 2009ISBN: 9780231143783Rather than favoring only one approach, Juan J. Morrone proposes a comprehensive treatment of the developments and theories of evolutionary biogeography. Evolutionary biogeography uses distributional, phylogenetic, molecular, and fossil data to assess the historical changes that have produced current biotic patterns. ...
Here be dragons: how the study of animal and plant distributions revolutionized our views of life and earth by Call Number: Baker-Berry QH 84 .M34 2009ISBN: 9780199542468Why do we find polar bears only in the Arctic and penguins only in the Antarctic? Why do oceanic islands often have many types of birds but no large native mammals? As Charles Darwin and Alfred Russel Wallace travelled across distant lands studying the wildlife they both noticed that the distribution of plants and animals formed striking patterns - patterns that held strong clues to the past of the planet. The study of the spatial distribution of living things is known as biogeography. It is a field that could be said to have begun with Darwin and Wallace. ...
A land imperiled: the declining health of the southern appalachian bioregion by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 155 .A58 N65 2005ISBN: 9781572333260Cherokees called the magnificent mountain range in eastern Tennessee "land of the blue mist," which European settlers later changed to "Smoky Mountains." Today, the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is one of Southern Appalachia's leading tourist attractions. But that fabled blue mist isn't so blue-- or healthy-- any longer. Particularly in the summer months, the "smoke" of the Smokies is a haze of sulfate particles and other pollutants released by coal-burning power plants, a mixture more likely to create dangerous ozone levels for visiting tourists than the invigorating "mountain air" so many come to seek. ...
Natural selection and beyond: the intellectual legacy of Alfred Russel Wallace by Call Number: Library Depository QH 31 .W2 N38 2008ISBN: 9780199239160Alfred Russel Wallace (1823 - 1913) was one of the late nineteenth century's most potent intellectual forces. His link to Darwin as co-discoverer of the principle of natural selection alone would have secured him a place in history, but he went on to complete work entitling him to recognition as the 'father' of modern biogeographical studies, as a pioneer in the field of astrobiology, and as an important contributor to subjects as far-ranging as glaciology, land reform, anthropology and ethnography, and epidemiology. Beyond this, many are coming to regard Wallace as the pre-eminent field biologist, collector, and naturalist of tropical regions. ...
Journal articles & titles
Articles and other writings about Biogeography can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look at Biogeography exclusively. Below are a couple of the journal titles we have in our Library's collection. You can search journals individually, use an article index such as Web of Science or the search box at the top of the page.
- Check list: journal of species lists and distribution byCall Number: Electronic journalCheck List is a bimonthly peer-review online journal, devoted to publishing lists of species and notes on the geographic distribution of any taxon.
Global ecology and biogeography by Call Number: Electronic journalGlobal Ecology and Biogeography (GEB) welcomes papers that investigate broad-scale (in space, time and/or taxonomy), general patterns in the organization of ecological systems and assemblages, and the processes that underlie them. In particular, GEB welcomes studies that use macro-ecological methods, comparative analyses, meta-analyses, reviews, spatial analyses and modelling to arrive at general, conceptual conclusions. ...
Journal of biogeography by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Biogeography publishes research at the intersection of biology and geography that is scientifically important and of broad general interest. They seek papers describing patterns and revealing mechanisms that shape biodiversity, through time, throughout the planet, from the deep past into the future, and from local to global scales. ...
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
