Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Other library resource(s)
Home: a stunny visual portrayal of Earth by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16706Spanning 54 countries and 120 locations, Home captures the Earth's most amazing landscapes in a new and astonishing light, showcasing its incomparable beauty and acknowledging its vulnerability to change.
Internet resource(s)
- British Society for GeomorphologyGeomorphologists are also “landscape-detectives” working out the history of a landscape. Most environments, such as Britain and Ireland, have in the past been glaciated on numerous occasions, tens and hundreds of thousands of years ago. ...
- Geomorphology Specialty Group of the AAGTo foster better communication among those working in the geomorphic sciences, especially in geography.
- International Association of Geomorphologists
International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG/AIG) is a scientific, non-governmental and non-profit organisation, whose principal objectives are development and promotion of geomorphology as a science through international co-operation and dissemination of knowledge of geomorphology. ... - NASA Visible Earth
This is a catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet Earth. At the bottom of the page are sub-categories to find more targeted images.
Defining geomorphology
The science concerned with understanding the form of the Earth’s land surface and the processes by which it is shaped, both at the present day as well as in the past (British Soc. Geomorphology). Since many landforms cannot fully be explained by present-day geomorphic processes, geomorphologists also consider the impacts of past events on the present-day landscape; the landscape is a physical system with a history (S. Schumm 2003). B. Rhoads and C. Thorne (1996) show geomorphology as having the potential to change character as it evolves through time. The process geomorphology approach focuses upon the dynamic elements of geomorphological, hydrological, geological, and ecological systems; see D. Ritter et al. (2001).
Harrison and Dunham (1998) TIBG 23, 4 stress that landscape change is dominated by uncertainties and probabilities, arguing that an idealist approach to geomorphology (that recognizes the primacy of consciousness) can better appreciate the world’s unpredictable and probabilistic nature. Lane (2001) TIBG 26 observes geomorphology pays attention to the ‘way in which the real becomes contingent to form the actual’; it is place-dependent. Harrison (2001) TIBG 26, 3 argues that process geomorphology is essentially reductionist, but that landforms are not amenable to reductionist explanations. ...
Mayhew, S. (2015). Geomorphology. In A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 30 Jun. 2023
In the Library's collections
The collection for Geomorphology is now in Baker-Berry Library under the call number range GB 400 through GB 649 on Berry Level 4.
Below are some of the relevant subject headings:
- geomorphologyGeomorphology covers the call number range of GB 400 through GB 649 .
Introductory reading(s)
Encyclopedia of geomorphology by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 400.3 .E53 2004 v. 1 - 2ISBN: 9780415272988Geomorphology, the discipline which analyzes the history and nature of the earth's surface, deals with the landforms produced by erosion, weathering, deposition, transport and tectonic processes. In recent decades there have been major developments in the discipline and these are reflected in this major Encyclopedia, the first such reference work in the field to be published for thirty-five years. Encyclopedia of Geomorphology has been produced in association with the International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG) and has a truly global perspective. ...- History of geomorphology and quaternary geology byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781862392557This book deals with various interesting aspects of the histories of geomorphology and Quaternary geology in different parts of the world. The papers cover a range of topics: the origin of the term ‘Quaternary’, histories of ideas and debates relating to aspects of fluvial geomorphology (USA and Australia), glacial geomorphology and glaciation (Northern Europe, the Baltic countries, Russia, Iceland, and New Zealand), desert dunes and the geology of Australia, ...
Landscapes and geomorphology: a very short introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 400.4 .G68 2010ISBN: 9780199565573What were the landscapes of the past like? What will landscapes look like in the future? Landscapes are all around us, but most of us know very little about how they have developed, what goes on in them, and how they react to changing climates, tectonics and human activities. Examining what landscape is, and how we use a range of ideas and techniques to study it, Andrew Goudie and Heather Viles demonstrate how geomorphologists have built on classic methods pioneered by some great 19th century scientists to examine our Earth.
Terrain analysis: principles and applications by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 400.4 .T37 2000ISBN: 9780471321880In this landmark publication, reflecting the collaborative effort of thirteen research groups based in four countries, leading experts detail how GIS and related technologies, such as GPS and remote sensing, are now being used, with the aid of computer modeling, in terrain analysis. ...
Selected book title(s)
Geomorphology of desert dunes by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781108420884Publication Date: 2nd ed.Sand dunes are a globally important depositional landform and sedimentary system. Their origins and dynamics are important in understanding how deserts have evolved in response to climate change and changes in sand supply and mobility, and how they will continue to evolve in the future. This book provides a state-of-the-art review of the characteristics of desert dunes and their sediments, and explores their dynamics on timescales from days to millennia as they respond to changes in wind speed and direction, precipitation and sand supply. ...
Geomorphology of desert environments by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 611 .G465 2009ISBN: 9781402057182About one-third of the Earth's land surface experiences a desert climate, and this area supports approximately 15% of the planet's population. This percentage continues to grow, and with this growth comes the need to acquire and apply an understanding of desert geomorphology. Such an understanding is vital in managing scarce and fragile resources and in mitigating natural hazards. This authoritative reference book is comprehensive in its coverage of the geomorphology of desert environments, and is arranged thematically. ...
River confluences, tributaries and the fluvial network by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 562 .R58 2008ISBN: 9780470026724River Confluences and the Fluvial Network brings together state of the art thinking on confluence dynamics tributary impacts and the links between processes at these scales and river network functions. The book is unique in focus, content, scope and in bringing together engineering, ecological and geomorphological approaches to the three key areas of river system science. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal titles
Articles and other writings about Geomorphology can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look at Geomorphology. To see the entire list, do the following subject search in the online catalog: "geomorphology periodicals."