Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Finding scholarly journal articles and titles
Articles and other writings about Water can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look at Water exclusively. To find articles, you can search a variety of indexes such as Water Resources Abstracts, World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts or use the search box at the top of the page.
Discover water by
Call Number: Electronic journalDiscover Water is part of the Discover journal series. It is an open access, community-focussed journal publishing research from across all fields relevant to water research. ...
WaterCall Number: Electronic journalWater is an international and interdisciplinary open-access journal covering all aspects of water, including water science, technology, management and governance.
Hydrology and earth system sciencesCall Number: Electronic journalHydrology and Earth System Sciences (HESS) is an international two-stage open-access journal for the publication of original research in hydrology, placed within a holistic Earth system science context. HESS encourages and supports fundamental and applied research that seeks to understand the interactions between water, earth, ecosystems, and humans.
Water resources abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceAn article index for all things related to water.
World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis database covers agricultural economics to farm economics, food industry and rural sociology from 1973 to the present.
Internet resource(s)
- 9 water podcasts on the water industry and water technology - XylemA list of 9 podcasts that feature water topics.
- Eyes on Earth #114 - The Color of Water with Landsat
Typically, we use Landsat data to study changes on the land—you know, Landsat. In this episode of Eyes on Earth, we learn how satellite images and pixels of water, along with actual water samples, are helpful in determining the productivity of lakes across the United States. ... - USGS Water Science School
From the U.S. Geological Survey, information and other resources about water. - The Water Main
The Water Main builds public will in support of clean, accessible, affordable water. They do this as a social impact arm of American Public Media that harnesses the expertise and resources of APM – research, journalism, storytelling, convening, community engagement, and reach across an audience of over 20 million – to make a lasting difference in how Americans think, feel, and act on issues of water in their communities and across the country. ... - Water Resources Division from the National Park Service
The Water Resources Division (WRD) was established to provide sound science to parks for the protection and management of water and aquatic resources. - Water Resources from GreenFacts
How can water resources be managed sustainably while meeting an ever increasing demand? - Water resources of the United StatesThe USGS's collection of resources about water in the United States.
- Water Resources Primer from the State of New Hampshire
The Water Resources Primer was developed to inform policy makers and citizens about the state’s water resources and the challenges faced in sustainably managing them.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Defining Hydrology & Hydrography
Hydrology - The study of the Earth’s water, particularly of water on and under the ground before it reaches the ocean or before it evaporates into the air. This science has many important applications such as flood control, irrigation, domestic and industrial water supply, and the generation of hydroelectric power.
Mayhew, S. (2015). "Hydrology." In A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 7 Apr. 2017
Hydrography - The measurement, description, and depiction of the nature and form of water’s topographic features.
Mayhew, S. (2015). "Hydrography." In A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 2 Feb. 2022
In the Library's collections
Books about Water are scattered throughout the collections depending on their focus. Here are some useful subject headings for searching in the online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
Encyclopedia of hydrological sciences by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780471491033With the increasing pressures on the availability and exploitation of fresh water resources through population increase, pollution and degradation of resources, and variations in distribution from regional and global change in the climate, compilation of knowledge in this area has become a prerequisite for education and training of practising and research hydrologists. The Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences is the definitive research level multi-volume treatment of this important topic.
Fundamentals of hydrology by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 661.2 .D385 2003ISBN: 9780203933664Publication Date: 2nd ed.In order to manage the world's increasingly scarce water resources we must have a sound understanding of how water moves around the planet and what influences water quality. Fundamentals of Hydrology provides an engaging and comprehensive introduction to this subject and provides real-life examples of water resource management in a changing world. The second edition brings the text up-to-date with additional case studies and diagrams and a greater synthesis of water quality with physical hydrology. ...
Water: a very short introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 661.2 .F56 2015ISBN: 9780198708728Water dominates the surface of Earth and is vital to life on our planet. It is a remarkable liquid which shows anomalous behaviour. In this Very Short Introduction John Finney introduces the science of water, and explores how the structure of water molecules gives rise to its physical and chemical properties. ...
Water: a visual and scientific history by Call Number: Baker-Berry Popular Science QD 169 .W3 C42 2021ISBN: 9780262046145The story of the most abundant substance on Earth, from its origins in the birth of stars billions of years ago to its importance in the living world. Water is so ubiquitous in our lives that it is easy to take for granted. The average American uses ninety gallons of water a day; nearly every liquid we encounter is mostly water--milk, for example, is 87 percent water. Clouds and ice--water in other forms--affect our climate. Water is the most abundant substance on Earth, and the third-most abundant molecule in the universe. In this lavishly illustrated volume, Jack Challoner tells the story of water, from its origins in the birth of stars to its importance in the living world. ...
Water dictionary: a comprehensive reference of water terminology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781583217412Publication Date: 2nd ed.Newly updated and expanded, The Water Dictionary provides standardized definitions for thousands of water- and wastewater-related words, phrases, acronyms, chemicals, and microorganisms.
The water encyclopedia: hydrologic data and Internet resources by Call Number: Baker-Berry TC 403 .W38 2007ISBN: 9781566706452Publication Date: 3rd ed."Just do an Internet search." "It's on the Internet" These phrases have quickly become a part of the vernacular. The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources arose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily found on the Internet. As the editors and their team of contributors soon discovered, using the Internet for research can be problematic. Too much, too little, and questionable data sets can influence the caliber of your results. ...
Selected book title(s)
Hydrology in practice by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 661.2 .S53 2011ISBN: 9780415370424Publication Date: 4th ed.Hydrology in Practice is an excellent and very successful introductory text for engineering hydrology students who go on to be practitioners in consultancies, the Environment Agency, and elsewhere.
The last drop: the politics of water by Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 1691 .G66 2015ISBN: 9780745334929Indispensable for human existence yet increasingly owned and controlled by private capital; the last decade has witnessed an intensifying battle for water. The exploding profits of the multinational companies which dominate the water industry are testimony to how high the stakes are - by 2012 it had become a worth a trillion dollars. ...
Public water and covid-19: dark clouds and silver linings by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781553396673Covid-19 has once again demonstrated the significance of safe, accessible and affordable water for all. It has also highlighted enormous disparities in service provision while at the same time dealing a blow to public water and sanitation operators around the world due to massive drops in revenues, rapidly rising costs and concerns about health and safety in the workplace. This book provides the first global overview of the response of public water operators to this crisis, shining a light on the complex challenges they face and how they have responded in different contexts. ...
Southern water, Southern power: how the politics of cheap energy and water scarcity shaped a region by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781469620053Why has the American South--a place with abundant rainfall--become embroiled in intrastate wars over water? Why did unpredictable flooding come to characterize southern waterways, and how did a region that seemed so rich in this all-important resource become derailed by drought and the regional squabbling that has tormented the arid American West? ...
Traveling the 38th parallel: a water line around the world by Call Number: Baker-Berry Popular Science GC 28 .C37 2013ISBN: 9780520266544Between extremes of climate farther north and south, the 38th North parallel line marks a temperate, middle latitude where human societies have thrived since the beginning of civilization. It divides North and South Korea, passes through Athens and San Francisco, and bisects Mono Lake in the eastern Sierra Nevada, where authors David and Janet Carle make their home.
Water: a global history by Call Number: Baker-Berry TD 345 .M635 2015ISBN: 9781780235011Other than air, the only substance more vital to life is water. Our bodies brim with it, and if we're deprived of it for even a few days, the results can be fatal.
Water and society: changing perceptions of societal and historical development by Call Number: Baker-Berry TD 353 .T84 2016ISBN: 9781784530792Despite the central importance that water has held for civilizations both ancient and modern, its social significance has made surprisingly little impact on our contemporary understanding of human history and development. Dominant interpretations of the relationship between society and nature have remained water blind. ...
The world water crisis: the failures of resource management by Call Number: Baker-Berry HD 1691 .B665 2009ISBN: 9781845117535In the last decade, water resources planners have frequently signalled an impending water crisis. The message is that the world is running out of water and that only by careful planning and the adoption of integrated water resources management can catastrophe be avoided. Stephen Brichieri-Colombi challenges these perceptions. He maintains that the crisis is one of resource management rather than availability: it arises because water resource planners advocate exploitation of rivers without due regard to social, environmental and geopolitical consequences. ...
Other library resource(s)
The atlas of water: mapping the world's most critical resource by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520292031Publication Date: 3rd ed.Climate change, population increase, and the demands made by the growing number of people adopting urban lifestyles and western diets threaten the world's supply of freshwater, edging us closer to a global water crisis, with dire implications for agriculture, the economy, the environment, and human health. Completely revised and updated, The Atlas of Water is a compelling visual guide to the state of this life-sustaining resource. Using vivid graphics, maps, and charts, it explores the complex human interaction with water around the world. ...
Blue gold: world water wars by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11301ISBN: 9780793670208Blue Gold: World Water Wars examines environmental and political implications of the planet's dwindling water supply, and posits that wars in the future will be fought over water. The film also highlights some success stories of water activists around the world and makes a strong case for community action.
Damnation by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18815ISBN: 9781938340376This powerful film odyssey across America explores the sea change in our national attitude from pride in big dams as engineering wonders to the growing awareness that our own future is bound to the life and health of our rivers. Dam removal has moved beyond the fictional Monkey Wrench Gang to go mainstream. Where obsolete dams come down, rivers bound back to life, giving salmon and other wild fish the right of return to primeval spawning grounds, after decades without access.
Hydrology from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Hydrology is the study of water’s (i) movement, (ii) transport and storage of mass and energy, and (iii) distribution through, and exchange between, the biosphere, lithosphere, and atmosphere. The field of hydrology seeks to describe, model, and predict the water cycle (and its connections to other biogeochemical and climatological processes) across spatiotemporal scales.- Thirst byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #4616The survival of communities is threatened when big business buys the water supply in the third world. This is a look at how water is becoming the catalyst for community resistance to globalization, and at the conflict between public stewardship and private profit.
Waking the green tiger by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #17248Seen through the eyes of activists, farmers, and journalists 'Waking the Green Tiger' follows an extraordinary campaign to stop a huge dam project on the upper Yangtze river in southwestern China.
Water by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe availability of water is one of the most serious environmental issues of the twentieth century. In 2023, a study published in the journal Nature showed a strong decline in global freshwater reserves. The study, analyzing almost 2,000 lakes that together contain about 95 percent of the world's lake water, indicated that over the last three decades, the world's freshwater storage declined almost three times faster than indicated. ...
Water, the drop of life by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12081Six part series explores the complex global issues of water use and conservation and provides an in-depth look at water's role in agriculture, industry, religion, and transportation. It attempts to show how important and vulnerable the world's fresh water supply is.- Water from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Water is intrinsically multifaceted and multidisciplinary. Within geography, it spans both human and physical dimensions and is present in almost every subdiscipline of geography (e.g., political geography, feminist geography, urban geography). This article focuses primarily on human geography approaches to water, which includes topics such as management, meaning, power, and social relations.
Water issues from CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveCall Number: Electronic resourceA collection of detailed reports looking at various issues surrounding water.
The water knife by Call Number: Baker-Berry PS 3602 .A3447 W38 2015ISBN: 9780385352871In the American Southwest, Nevada, Arizona, and California skirmish for dwindling shares of the Colorado River. Into the fray steps Angel Velasquez, detective, leg-breaker, assassin and spy.
Watermark by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #18127Following their success with Manufactured Landscapes, photographer Edward Burtynsky and filmmaker Jennifer Baichwal reunite to explore the ways in which humanity has shaped, manipulated and depleted one of its most vital and compromised resources: water.
