Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Finding geographical journal literature
To find articles on Geography, you can use the search box at the top of the page. You can also use the facets on the left side of the page to limit or refine your search.
Geography News
Find New Books on Geography in the Library's Collections
See new book titles about Geography in the library's collections.
Defining geography
‘The science of place and space. Geographers ask where things are located on the surface of the Earth, why they are located where they are, how places differ from one another, and how people interact with the environment’ (AAG). ‘The subject that bridges the natural and human sciences in understanding societies, places and environments’ (Royal Geog. Soc. with IBG). ‘A fundamental fascination with, and a crucial method for, understanding the way the world works’ (A. Bonnett 2008).
‘The nature of geography has meant different things for different people in different places’ (P. Hubbard 2002). Thus the Royal Dutch Geographical Society claims that geography ‘puts knowing into seeing’, while Swedish geography ‘manifests itself as a form of scholarly praxis that…developed through a process of theoretically informed, hermeneutic reflection concerned with the endogen principles, and history, of geographical writing’ (Olweg (2007) AAAG 97, 4). Shaw and Oldfield (2007) AAAG 97, 1 identify landscape science as a Russian geographical tradition. Bruneau (2005) Sing. J. Trop. Geog. 26, 3 suggests that tropicality has had an epistemologically stronger and more institutionalized relationship with francophone geography than with anglophone geography. Bonnett (2003) Area 35, 1 holds that the spirit and purpose of geography should be ‘a militant anti-parochialism and a refusal of ethnocentrism’. Abbott (2006) Sing. J. Trop. Geog. 27, 3 argues that whiteness ‘as an analytical framework’ challenges the legitimacy of overseas geographical fieldwork. Barnes and Farish (2006) AAAG 96, 4 identify new modes of understanding and representing geography in America that were ‘closely wedded to broader geopolitical conditions of war and militarism’. ‘The collective work of geographers involves persistently questioning what is left out of the consolidation of any particular geographic account, vision, map, or idea [such as the Iraq War]’ (Sparke (2007) AAAG 97, 2). ‘War is God’s way of teaching Americans geography’ (Ambrose Bierce). ...
Mayhew, S. (2015). Geography. In A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 23 May. 2023
Keeping up with the journal literature in Geography
Geography Quick Links - Other Databases
- Country StudiesThe Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. These studies focus on lesser known countries.
- A Dictionary of Geography, 6th ed.This bestselling dictionary contains over 3,000 entries on both physical and human geography and is an essential guide to students of all levels.
- Geographers on FilmGeographers on Film are a collection of recorded interviews conducted with hundreds of geographers from August 1970 until the mid-1980s, which includes scholars, and cartographers who have shaped the discipline. Interviews with Carl Sauer, Richard Hartshorne, Wilbur Zelinsky, Richard Chorley, Mildred Berman, William Warntz, Waldo Tobler, John Fraser Hart, Peter Hagget, E. Cotton Mather, Yi-Fu Tuan and William Bunge, are just a few of the names that are a part of the complete collection. The late Maynard Weston Dow (1929 - 2011), Professor Emeritus at Plymouth State College, largely produced the series. The American Association of Geographers (AAG) and the Library of Congress are now the curators of the collection, and have preserved and digitized the films contents.
- Geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online
This resource is a collection of annotated bibliographies of sub-fields and topics in Geography. - Archives of the CIA's World FactbookThe factbook for the last 20 years are available for downloading.
Something new, something older ...
21st century geography: a reference handbook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412974646Using 80 mini-chapters, this title highlights the most important topics, issues, questions and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Anthropocene: a very short introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 75 .E48 2018ISBN: 9780198792987The proposal that the impact of humanity on the planet has left a distinct footprint, even on the scale of geological time, has recently gained much ground. Global climate change, shifting global cycles of the weather, widespread pollution, radioactive fallout, plastic accumulation, species invasions, the mass extinction of species - these are just some of the many indicators that we will leave a lasting record in rock, the scientific basis for recognizing new time intervals in Earth's history. The Anthropocene, as the proposed new epoch has been named, is regularly in the news. ...
Geography: a very short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199211289This Very Short Introduction answers four basic questions: what is Geography, how do geographers work, why is Geography important, and where is the discipline of Geography heading? Geography has always been important, though it has had only a short history as an academic discipline and is much misunderstood. Modern Geography has come a long way from its historical roots in exploring foreign lands, in mapping the world and in describing the physical and human features of the Earth's surface. ...
Geography: why it matters by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70 .M89 2018ISBN: 9781509523016Ever since humans sketched primitive maps in the dirt, the quest to understand our surroundings has been fundamental to our survival. Studying geography revealed that the earth was round, showed our ancestors where to plant crops, and helped them appreciate the diversity of the planet. Today, the world is changing at an unprecedented pace, as a result of rising sea levels, deforestation, species extinction, rapid urbanization, and mass migration. Modern technologies have brought people from across the globe into contact with each other, with enormous political and cultural consequences. As a subject concerned with how people, environments, and places are organized and interconnected, geography provides a critical window into where things happen, why they happen where they do, and how geographical context influences environmental processes and human affairs. These perspectives make the study of geography more relevant than ever, yet it remains little understood. In this engrossing book, Alexander B. Murphy explains why geography is so important to the current moment.
The geography of insight: the sciences, the humanities, how they differ, why they matter by Call Number: Baker-Berry BF 449.5 .F65 2018ISBN: 9780190865122The Geography of Insight argues that it's appropriate for the sciences and humanities to have different aims and for the values informing their inquiries also to be different. Richard Foley identifies four core differences: (1) it's proper for the sciences but not the humanities to seek insights that aren't limited to particular locations, times, or things; (2) the sciences but not the humanities value findings as independent as possible of the perspectives of the inquirers; (3) the sciences should be wholly descriptive while the humanities can also be concerned with prescriptive claims, which give expression to values; and (4) the sciences are organized to increase collective knowledge whereas in the humanities individual insight is highly valued for its own sake, independently of its ability to generate consensus. Associated with these differences is a set of secondary distinctions: different attitudes about an endpoint of inquiry; different notions of intellectual progress; different roles for expertise; different assumptions about simplicity and complexity; and different approaches to issues associated with consciousness. Taken together these distinctions constitute an intellectual geography of the humanities and sciences: a mapping of key features of their epistemologies. ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
Interpreting our world: 100 discoveries that revolutionized geography by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 80 .K47 2016ISBN: 9781610699198This important book demonstrates why geography matters in the modern-day world through its examination of 100 moments throughout history that had a significant impact on the study of geography--literally, "writing about the earth."
The people's guide to spatial thinking by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 70.212 .S565 2013ISBN: 9781884136214Spatial thinking is an activity that we do throughout our lives and across many settings, to understand problems and seek solutions. The practice can be so automatic that it becomes deceptively obvious, but when it is not done carefully, it can lead to chaos and confusion. ...
Routledge handbooks online geography collectionCall Number: Electronic resourceThis is a collection of handbooks from Routledge including The Handbook of Neoliberalism, The Routledge Handbook of Urbanization and Global Environmental Change, The Routledge Handbook on Cities of the Global South and The Ashgate Research Companion to Border Studies.
