Skip to main content

Geography: Globalization

Start your research in geography with the best available resources curated by the subject librarian.

Introduction

Globalization  The increase in the volume, scale, and velocity of social (and environmental) interactions. Globalization is not new, pre-dating colonialism . Ash ( 2004 ) TIBG 29, 2 describes globalization as a politically driven project, led by the US government, the World Bank, the World Trade Organization, and the G8. He adds that the concept of globalization cannot explain anything, but merely ‘redescribes processes then enmeshed in discourses’. Urry ( 2005 ) Theory, Cult. & Soc. 22, 5 argues that ‘the global order is a complex world, unpredictable and irreversible, disorderly but not anarchic’. Jackson ( 2004 ) TIBG 29, 2 prefers to think of ‘globalizing’ rather than ‘globalized’, suggesting that globalization ‘might be better thought of as a site of struggle rather than as a foregone conclusion’. The strong globalization thesis stresses the primacy of global economic forces over rational/domestic political ones, emphasizing the decline of the social democratic politics and the limitations of national governments; see U. Beck ( 2000 ). Tickell and Peck in J. Peck and H. W. Yeung , eds ( 2003 ) argue that globalization is not a monolithic phenomenon, but produces its own geography. Peck and Tickell ( 2002 ) Antipode 34 differentiate neoliberalism from globalization.

 For more from the Dictionary of Geography, click here.

 
"globalization"   A Dictionary of Geography. Susan Mayhew. Oxford University Press 2009 Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Dartmouth College.  1 October 2010

In the Library's collections

Depending on its context, Globalization can be found throughout the Library's collection. However, there are specific call number ranges where you will find the most resources. The ranges include: JZ 1308, JZ 1317.5 through JZ 1320.7, HF 1385 and HF 1418.5. These ranges are located on Berry Levels 3 & 4. Some subject headings are listed below. Don't forget to check out the Related subjects lists whenever you do a subject search.

Introductory reading(s)

Each of the books contain at least one full chapter about Globalization in context with its main subject.

Selected book titles

Journal articles & titles

Articles and other writings about Globalization can be found in many publications. A note about searching for Globalization. Globalization can be spelled with a "z" or an "s." When searching for articles, be sure to either use both versions of the word or in different article indexes, you can substitute a "?" for the "z" and the "s." The "?" acts as a wildcard character making searching more comprehensive. Our collection includes several journals which look at Globalization exclusively. To find them, do the following subject search in the online catalog : "globalization periodicals." However, to see how many more titles there are, you can search in Worldcat. Use a keyword search with the terms "globalization" and "periodicals." Below is a short list of some of the journal titles we have in our Library's collection. You can also the search box at the top of the page to find articles.