Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
In the Library's collections
Although Geography is scattered throughout the collections, there are 4 main sections of call number ranges for the subject. They are D, E, F and G.
D is the call number range for histories of the world outside of the Western Hemisphere. Within each country's call number range is a section for Geography.
E is the call number range for the United States. Within this call number range, there is a section for Geography.
F is the call number range for the rest of the Western Hemisphere and the individual states and provinces in the U.S and Canada. Within each call number range for a U.S. state, Canadian province or foreign country in the Western Hemisphere, there is a section for Geography.
G is the call number range for the Geography as a subject.
You can browse in those sections of the stacks or Berry Level 4, to see what's there.
Also, see the related subject headings in the online catalog.
- human geographyThis is the main subject heading for searching the catalog.
- physical geographyThis is the main subject heading for searching the catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
All possible worlds: a history of geographical ideas by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 80 .M38 2005ISBN: 9780195168709The fourth edition of All Possible Worlds: A History of Geographical Ideas is the most complete and comprehensive book of its kind. The text also features a layout and readability that make the material easy to navigate and understand. The book investigates the ways in which the subject of geography has been recognized, perceived, and evaluated, from its early acknowledgment in ancient Greece to its disciplined form in today's world of shared ideas and mass communication.
Companion encyclopedia of geography: from local to global by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. G 116 .C645 2007 v. 1 - 2ISBN: 9780415431699Publication Date: Rev, ed.This revised edition takes the theme of place as the unifying principle for a full account of the discipline at the beginning of the twenty-first century. The work comprises 64 substantial essays addressing human and physical geography, and exploring their inter-relations. The encyclopedia does full justice to the enormous growth of social and cultural geography in recent years. ...
A dictionary of geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191918841Publication Date: 6th ed.This bestselling dictionary contains entries on both physical and human geography, covering topics such as cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development. Over 70 diagrams complement the text, and many entries include worked examples. This edition has been fully revised and updated, and includes useful web links which can be accessed on the dedicated companion website. ...
Encyclopedia of geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412956970This encyclopedia strategically reflects the enormous diversity of the discipline, the multiple meanings of space itself, and the diverse views of geographers. It brings together the diversity of geographical knowledge, making it an invaluable resource for any academic library.
Feminist geography unbound: discomfort, bodies, and prefigured futures by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781949199871A field-defining collection of new voices on gender, feminism, and geography. Feminist Geography Unbound is a call to action--to expand imaginations and to read and travel more widely and carefully through terrains that have been cast as niche, including Indigenous and decolonial feminisms, Black geographies, and trans geographies. ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
International encyclopedia of human geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080449104The International Encyclopedia of Human Geography provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas. The encyclopedia includes over 1,000 detailed entries on philosophy and theory, key concepts, methods and practices, biographies of notable geographers, and geographical thought and praxis in different parts of the world. ...
International encyclopedia of the social & behaviorial sciences by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2nd ed.The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. It discusses history, current trends and future directions. ...
Theory and explanation in geography by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119845508Grounded in a generous reading of a multitude of critical approaches in human geography and their diverse conceptions of theory, Theory and Explanation in Geography draws upon cutting-edge debates on the mechanism-based approach to theory and explanation in analytical sociology, political science, and the philosophy of social sciences to inform current and future geographical thinking on theory. This consolidated conceptual work represents an extension and much further development of the author's well-cited works on relational geography, critical realism and causal explanation, process-based methodology, globalization and the theory of global production networks, and "theorizing back" and situated knowledges that were published in leading journals in Geography. ...
