Geography

The Office for National Statistics of the United Kingdom publishes this book. It tells you what type of statistics they collect, where they are and what agency collects them.

The IDB helps the U.S. government and the public answer fundamental questions about the people and places of our world. These data inform program planning, policymaking, educational, and research data users. We have produced these data since the 1960s, and we have published our results on census.gov since 1996. We regularly update the IDB and release the results online. ...

This is a compilation of basic economic and social indicators for countries in the world. The book also includes the sources for the statistics listed.

Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world.

The DOTS presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund (the Fund), current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. This online edition currently covers 1999 to 2009.

GFS Online contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries.

The IFS database contains approx. 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages. ...

This database contains bibliographic citations to statistical books and articles in more than 1,100 journals, with coverage generally extending back to 1974, and earlier in some instances.

Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Project Euclid is designed to address the unique needs of low-cost independent and society journals.

Widely adopted, this uniquely comprehensive text introduces the techniques and concepts of statistics in human and physical geography. Unlike other texts that gloss over the conceptual foundations and focus solely on method, the book explains not only how to apply quantitative tools but also why and how they work. ...

Integrating a discussion of the application of quantitative methods with practical examples, this book explains the philosophy of the new quantitative methodologies and contrasts them with the methods associated with geography's `Quantitative Revolution' of the 1960s. ...

Numerical data are everywhere. Charts and statistics appear not just in geography journals but also in the media, in public policy, and in business and commerce too. To engage with quantitative geography, we must engage with the quantitative methods used to collect, analyse, present and interpret these data. Quantitative Geography: The Basics is the perfect introduction for undergraduates beginning any quantitative methods course. ...

How do beginning students of statistics for geography learn to fully understand the key concepts and apply the principal techniques? This text provides exactly that resource. Accessibly written, and focused on student learning, it's a statistics 101 that includes definitions, examples, and exercise throughout. Now fully integrated with online self-assessment exercises and video navigation, it explains everything required to get full credits for any undergraduate statistics module: Descriptive statistics, probability, inferential statistics, hypothesis testing and sampling, variance, correlation, regression analysis, spatial patterns, spatial data reduction using factor analysis and cluster analysis. ...

This is a massive, central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Its work is carried out by 8 projects. See the site for the projects.

StateMaster is a unique, statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. They have compiled information from various primary sources such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics. StateMaster goes beyond the numbers to provide you with visualization technology like pie charts, maps, graphs and scatterplots. We also have thousands of map and flag images, state profiles, and correlations.

Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. BJS also provides financial and technical support to state, local, and tribal governments to improve both their statistical capabilities and the quality and utility of their criminal history records.

A comprehensive database Web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. It includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macro-economic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also included are statistical yearbooks, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
Please note: Dartmouth College Library only subscribes to "Census Map & Report and "Sample Data" at this time.

Provides political, economic and financial ratings for over 160 countries back to the 1980s.

An online, multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in: production, trade, food-balance sheets, food aid shipments, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, agricultural machinery and population.

These reports provide statistics on economic development and the quality of life around the world. The reports are also available online at the United Nations Development Programme site.

Election Guide contains information on the electoral results, parties and parliaments of countries around the world.

The International Data Base (IDB) is a data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for all countries of the world. ...

This United Nations resource provides statistics and indicators on women and men in six specific fields of concern: population, families, health, education, work and politics and human rights. The data are compiled mainly from official national and international sources ... Other sources and estimates that have been subjected to peer review are used to supplement official sources. All sources are given at the end of each table, as are technical notes on the indicators presented."

This database covers all countries and areas and selected series from more specialized international data sources.

The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. As the official statistical agency of UNESCO, the UIS produces a wide range of indicators in UNESCO’s fields of action by working with national statistical offices, line ministries and other statistical organizations. ...

The World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. WDI includes approximately 800 indicators in 87 tables, organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. The tables cover 152 economies and 14 country groups-with basic indicators for a further 55 economies.