Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Other library resource(s)
Country review. Czech Republic by Call Number: Electronic resourceThese reviews include geographical, political, economic, corporate, & environmental information on the Czech Republic.
EIU.com by Call Number: Electronic resourceIn-depth reports on individual countries including the Czech Republic.
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
This separate box is to emphasize how important it is to have your laptop or computer already set up for off-campus access BEFORE you GO to Prague.
We do not have passwords and usernames to give to you if you are already off-campus and can not get access to electronic resources.
- Off-Campus AccessTo get access to electronic resources when you are away from campus, you MUST set up your computer correctly. This page gives you the information you need. You can also visit the Computer Help Desk.
Off-Campus Programs
- Off-Campus ProgramsAll of the programs available to Dartmouth students for studying off campus including the Foreign Study Programs.
Introduction
Prague emerged relatively unscathed from World War II and the Cold War and continues to offer an array of stunning architecture from many periods including Romanesque, Medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque. This culturally rich city of about 1.3 million people, with relatively inexpensive concerts, opera and theater, has become one of the cosmopolitan hubs of Central Europe.
It now faces the challenges of tourism, rising socioeconomic inequality, and historical preservation in the midst of rapid modernization. In and beyond the capital city, the Czech Republic’s peoples continue to negotiate relations with the European Union, as well as the environmental, economic and social legacies of the socialist era.
Students will discover myriad opportunities for cross-cultural learning. Situated in the heart of Europe, Prague is only a few hours away from other cultural centers such as Vienna, Warsaw, Berlin, and Budapest. Founded in 1348, Charles University is one of the oldest universities in the world and has a 35-member Department of Social Geography.
[Source: Geography Off-Campus Study, 04/03/2022]
Prague emerged relatively unscathed from World War II and the Cold War and continues to offer an array of stunning architecture from many periods including Romanesque, Medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque. This culturally rich city of about 1.3 million people, with relatively inexpensive concerts, opera and theater, has become one of the cosmopolitan hubs of Central Europe.
It now faces the challenges of tourism, rising socioeconomic inequality, and historical preservation in the midst of rapid modernization. In and beyond the capital city, the Czech Republic’s peoples continue to negotiate relations with the European Union, as well as the environmental, economic and social legacies of the socialist era.
Students will discover myriad opportunities for cross-cultural learning. Situated in the heart of Europe, Prague is only a few hours away from other cultural centers such as Vienna, Warsaw, Berlin, and Budapest. Founded in 1348, Charles University is one of the oldest universities in the world and has a 35-member Department of Social Geography.
- See more at: http://geography.dartmouth.edu/campus-study#sthash.8gmjGvaQ.dpuf
Prague emerged relatively unscathed from World War II and the Cold War and continues to offer an array of stunning architecture from many periods including Romanesque, Medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque. This culturally rich city of about 1.3 million people, with relatively inexpensive concerts, opera and theater, has become one of the cosmopolitan hubs of Central Europe.
It now faces the challenges of tourism, rising socioeconomic inequality, and historical preservation in the midst of rapid modernization. In and beyond the capital city, the Czech Republic’s peoples continue to negotiate relations with the European Union, as well as the environmental, economic and social legacies of the socialist era.
Students will discover myriad opportunities for cross-cultural learning. Situated in the heart of Europe, Prague is only a few hours away from other cultural centers such as Vienna, Warsaw, Berlin, and Budapest. Founded in 1348, Charles University is one of the oldest universities in the world and has a 35-member Department of Social Geography.
- See more at: http://geography.dartmouth.edu/campus-study#sthash.8gmjGvaQ.dpufIn the Library's collections
Resources about Prague and the Czech Republic are scattered throughout the Library's collections. The links below are some useful subject headings for searching the online catalog.
These subject headings will lead you to the narrower topics of history and economic conditions for the city and its country.
You can find history books in the collections in the call number range DB 2000 through DB 3150. This range includes Czechoslovakia, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.
Selected book title(s)
The Czech and Slovak republics: twenty years of independence, 1993-2013 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789633861530The essays in the book compare the Czech Republic and Slovakia over the twenty years that had passed after the breakup of Czechoslovakia in 1993. The papers deal with the causes of the divorce and discuss the political, economic and social developments in the new countries. ...
Historical dictionary of the Czech State by Call Number: Baker-Berry DB 2007 .H63 2010ISBN: 9780810833388The Czech Republic is, in relative terms, the second most attractive tourist land in Europe. But its recent popularity gives little indication of its troubled past, including domination by the Hapsburg Empire and the Third Reich.
In quest of history: on Czech statehood and identity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9788024642673In honor of the 2018 centennial of Czech independence, philosopher of law Jirí Pribán and award-winning Czech journalist Karel Hvízd'ala took the opportunity to examine key moments in Czech history from the ninth century to the twenty-first. Covering such a broad span of time allowed them to look into the past and question how Czechs have viewed their history at different points--and what that means for the Czech present and future. ...
Market dreams: gender, class, and capitalism in the Czech Republic by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780472069880Drawing on a rich trove of focus group data, interviews, and textual sources, Elaine Weiner's Market Dreams powerfully captures the varied responses of female managers and factory workers in the Czech Republic to their country's transition from socialism to capitalism. Her work, rooted in sociology and comparative feminism, is an important advance for the literature on women in Eastern Europe. ...
The mystifications of a nation: "the potato bug" and other essays on Czech culture by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780299248949A keen observer of culture, Czech writer Vladimír Macura (1945-99) devoted a lifetime to illuminating the myths that defined his nation. The Mystifications of a Nation, the first book-length translation of Macura's work in English, offers essays deftly analyzing a variety of cultural phenomena that originate, Macura argues, in the "big bang" of the nineteenth-century Czech National Revival, with its celebration of a uniquely Czech identity. ...
The rise and fall of Czech capitalism: economic development in the Czech Republic since 1989 by Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 270.283 .M9 2003ISBN: 9781843762270This book offers a detailed, critical account of the economic transformation of the Czech Republic since 1989. It follows the development and implementation of a reform strategy based on 'shock' therapy and rapid privatisation, set against the background of turbulent political change and conflict. The aim of the government in the mid 1990s was the creation of a 'Czech' capitalism, with Czech-owned business empires and banks. ...
The Routledge handbook to regional development in Central and Eastern Europe by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781472485717Twenty-five years into transformation, Central and Eastern European regions have undergone substantial socio-economic restructuring, integrating into European and global networks and producing new patterns of regional differentiation and development. Yet post-socialist modernization has not been without its contradictions, manifesting in increasing social and territorial inequalities. Recent studies also suggest there are apparent limits to post-socialist growth models, accompanying a new set of challenges within an increasingly uncertain world. Aiming to deliver a new synthesis of regional development issues at the crossroads between post-socialism and post-transition, this book identifies the main driving forces of spatial restructuring in Central and Eastern Europe, and charts the different regional development paths which take shape against the backdrop of post-crisis Europe. ...
Finding scholarly journal articles & titles
Articles and other writings about Prague and the Czech Republic can be found in many publications. Our collection includes many journals which look at Geography in all areas. You can start your search with Academic Search Complete or Web of Science.
Acta Universitatis Carolinae. Geographica by Call Number: Electronic journalAUC Geographica (Acta Universitatis Carolinae Geographica) is a scholarly academic journal that publishes research in the broadly defined field of geography.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Resources in the Evans Map Room
- Základní mapa ČRCall Number: Evans Map Room G 6510 s200 .C4 various sheets
- Czech & Slovak Republics byCall Number: Evans Map Room G 6510 2005 .H36
Prag 1:20 000, Stadtplan: touristische Informationen, Innenstadtplan, Strassenverzeichnis = Prague 1:20 000, city map: tourist information, city-centre map, street index by Call Number: Evans Map Room G 6514 .P7 2005 .F7ISBN: 9783850841221- Czech Republic Maps byCall Number: Electronic resourceFrom the collection of Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas, Austin. They are no longer updating this collection.
Internet resource(s)
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.