Research Guides: Business: Quick Links

Quick Links to Business Databases

Off-Campus Access: Use VPN or Tuck Virtual Lab
^R Requires registration: Active Dartmouth/Tuck only
^T Restricted to Tuck: Find passwords/instructions

Company Research

Bloomberg
Calcbench
Capital IQ ^R | Register
D&B Hoovers
EMIS Intelligence
Marketline Advantage
Mergent Archives
Orbis
PitchBook ^R
PrivCo ^R
S&P's NetAdvantage
LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace ^R | Register

Analyst / Equity Research

LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace ^R | Register

Nonprofits / U.S. Government

D&B Hoovers
Foundation Directory Online
GrantForward | Register
GuideStar Pro
Leadership Connect

News / Magazines

Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Econlit (ProQuest)
Factiva
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
Nexis Uni (fka Lexis Nexis)
ProQuest Business
PubMed
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Scopus
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Web of Science (Citations)
Westlaw

Private Equity / M&A / Real Estate

Orbis M&A (FKA Zephyr)
PitchBook ^R
Preqin Private Equity
PrivCo ^R
LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace ^R | Register
WSJ Pro Venture Capital & Private Equity ^T

Industry / Market Research

BCC Research
Bizminer
Business & Community Analyst - ArcGIS ^R
D&B Hoovers
EASI Market Planner
eMarketer
EMIS Intelligence
Forrester ^T| Register
Frost & Sullivan
Gartner
GlobalData: Disruptor
GlobalData: Medical
GlobalData: Oil & Gas
GlobalData: Power
IBISWorld: Industry
Marketline Advantage
MediaRadar (fka Vivvix, Ad$pender, Advertising Insights)
Mintel Academic
Music Industry Data
S&P's NetAdvantage
Statista
Technavio Country/Regional Reports
Technavio Global Reports
WARC.com

Country Reports / Economic Data

CountryData (PRS Group)
EIU Viewpoint (fka Country Reports)
EMIS Intelligence
Factiva
Finaeon (fka Global Financial Data)
Global Road Warrior
International Financial Statistics (IMF)
Marketline Advantage
World Factbook

Time Series Datasets

Datastream
FIVESProject
Harvard Dataverse
Hoberg-Phillips Data Library
Open Data Portals Around the World
Sage Data (fka Data Planet)
SDC Platinum
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Service) ^R

Off-Campus Access: Use VPN or Tuck Virtual Lab
^R Requires registration: Active Dartmouth/Tuck only
^T Restricted to Tuck: Find passwords/instructions
All links on this page will open in a new tab

A to Z Database Descriptions

ABI/INFORM Collection
Indexes business and management journals worldwide; covers corporate strategies, marketing, product development, industry conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and more. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1923 to present.
BCC Research
BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods are at the forefront of the company's expertise.
BizMiner
Granular industry statistical reports and market analysis reports at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and market trends for thousands more.

Bloomberg
Real-time news, financial and economic data. Worldwide pricing of bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, money markets, and mortgages, with historical data. Economic time series, company financial statements, press releases, analysts forecasts, company filings and prospectuses, executive profiles, and more. Bloomberg terminals are available in Feldberg Library.
The Boston Globe
We have a new subscription to Globe content! In addition to website access, our new Globe subscription comes with a host of resources.

Business & Community Analyst - ArcGIS
Data on demographics and business locations, consumer spending and purchasing power at multiple geographies, national to block-group levels.
Business Source Complete
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present.

Calcbench
A database and research tool for financial statement analysis, financial accounting, and auditing of public companies using SEC data.

Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides a wealth of information on companies, markets and people. Covers market intelligence, financial analysis, screening and targeting, and relationships between people and organizations. Register for an account.
CountryData (PRS Group)
Provides political, economic and financial ratings for over 160 countries back to the 1980s.
D&B Hoovers
162 million+ public, private, and nonprofit global companies. News, corporate overviews, financial data, market research reports, analyst reports, executive biographies, SWOT analysis, significant developments, strategic initiatives, industry norms, market share. Create lists of companies that match a given set of criteria.

Datastream
Global historical data and analytics: equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly formats, covering 30+ years. Available within WRDS or by permission within LSEG Workspace.

EASI Market Planner
Data-Planet database on: Consumer Behavior & Expenditures, Consumer Price Index, Consumer Spending Analytics, Demographics (EASI Profiles & Census), Gross Domestic Product, Health, Industries, Life Stages, Media Use, Quality of Life, and Retail Sales. About EASI & Search Examples

EconLit
Indexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.

The Economist
Use the Economist Newspaper for access to the website. To search current content, use ABI/INFORM or ProQuest Central. Gale Historical Archive provides content, 1843-2015.

EIU Viewpoint
From the Economist Intelligence Unit, providing information on the business, economic, and political environment for nearly 200 countries. Detailed reviews and analysis of political and economic events, with a 1-2 year political outlook and economic projection.
eMarketer
Provides market research on the following industries & topics: Automotive, Consumer Products, Financial Services, Healthcare & Pharma, Insurance, Media & Entertainment, Retail, Travel, Advertising & Marketing, B2B, Demographics, Email, Measurement, Media Usage, Mobile, Retail & Ecommerce, Search, Social Media, and Video. eMarketer's research team aggregates data from over 4,000 research firms, consultancies, government agencies and universities around the world. Also provides Benchmarks & Forecasts and a Digital Atlas of internet, mobile phone users, and more around the world.
EMIS Intelligence (fka EMIS Emerging Markets)
Provides information about emerging market countries, their companies, and industries. It includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news, both in English and the local languages.
Factiva
Indexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.
Finaeon
FKA Global Financial Data. Financial and economic time series data covering 200 countries and 20,000 different data series. Includes data on markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264.

Financial Times
One of the world's leading business news organizations, providing essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community. Dartmouth users must register.
FIVEProject
The FIVE Project aims to accelerate and broaden the reach of research on firm and industry evolution and related areas of entrepreneurship. Downloadable data sets include: historical workstation sales, photolightography, breweries, and shipbuilding.
Forrester
Research and analysis on emerging technology and its impact on business, including areas of information technology, marketing and strategy, and technology marketing and sales.
Note: Restricted to Tuck community: Register for login.

Foundation Directory Online
Consists of a searchable database of the information in The foundation directory about U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities; includes links to foundation web sites, links to 990-PF's (foundation tax filings) and application guidelines. Also contains database of grants awarded by the top funders.
Frost & Sullivan
Covers Aerospace & Defense, Automotive & Transportation, Business & Financial Services, Career Research, Chemicals, Materials & Foods, Consumer Products, Education, Electronics and Security, Energy & Power Systems, Environment & Building Technologies, Healthcare, Industrial Automation, Information & Communication Technology, Measurement & Instrumentation, and Metals & Minerals. Coverage is both US and Global.
Gartner
IT research including statistics, forecasts and market analysis on the Hardware, Software, IT Services, Communications, and Semiconductor markets.
GlobalData: Disruptor
Decodes emerging tech-enabled opportunities with information on promising start-ups, technology led innovations, latest sector trends, consumer insights, and venture capital portfolio investments. Covers these technologies: artificial intelligence, blockchain, connected devices & IoT, digital business, payment technologies, robotics & drones, security tech, and others within these verticals: consumer, retail, financial services, and healthcare.
GlobalData: Medical
Medical device intelligence covering 16 key therapy areas: cardiovascular, orthopedics in vitro diagnostics, general surgery, diagnostic imaging, healthcare IT, wound care, diabetes, dental, neurology, nephrology and urology, anesthesia and respiratory, ENT, and ophthalmology. Find marketsize and growth, procedures data, pipeline products, company profiles, clinical trials, reports/analysis, news and deals.
GlobalData: Oil & Gas
Research solutions covering the full breadth of the oil & gas industry, from exploration to refining, data and analysis across the upstream, midstream, downstream and petrochemicals sectors. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.
GlobalData: Power
Covers renewables, carbon emissions and trading, hydrogen and fuel cells, coal to gas, gas to liquids, biomass to liquids and nuclear industries. 25,000+ power plants, 16,000+ companies, and hundreds of research reports. Includes access to GlobalData's Energy Transitions database which highlights alternative energy generation, storage, and capacity along with related data.

GrantForward
GrantForward helps you find grant opportunities that suit your research needs with a database of grants from over 20,000 sponsors, which is updated daily. You can search for grants by keywords and advanced filters, save your favorite searches for new grant alerts, and save your favorite grants to keep track of them. GrantForward also recommends grants to you based on your CV, past publications, and research interests. Register for an account.
GreenFILE
"GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."

GuideStar Pro
A database of millions of US nonprofit organizations. Search for organizations and people by name, geography, financials, or a variety of other criteria. Reports include general information on the nonprofit, people, mission and programs, goals and results, Form 990 filings, and financial data.

Harvard Dataverse - Business & Management
The Harvard Dataverse Repository, the endowed permanent data sharing repository of Harvard University, is a managed data repository which is free and open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community.

IBISWorld: Industry
A collection of market research reports for over 700 U.S. industries and almost 60 global industries. Reports are typically 30-60 pages in length and include key statistics, market segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance, and outlook.

ImpactAlpha
News and information covering the sustainable and impact investment markets including impact investing, sustainable finance, ESG and entrepreneurship. They offer a daily newsletter and multiple podcasts. The website includes articles, profiles of “agents of impact” and opinion pieces. First time users click on the link and select "register".

International financial statistics
The IFS database contains approx. 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherland Antilles: major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables.
Leadership Connect
Search for Federal organizations by location and subject area. Find contact information for alumni or other individuals by their position or organization.
LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace
LSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Workspace also provides market views as well as screening and analysis for companies, deals/league tables, private equity, mergers and acquisition data, and more. Register for LSEG Workspace
MarketLine Advantage
Country-specific industry reports include market overviews, data, segmentation, outlook and five forces analysis. Company reports include financials, top competitors, deals and SWOT analyses.

McKinsey Quarterly
Journal of the global management-consulting firm McKinsey & Company. Articles offer new ways of thinking about management in the private, public, and nonprofit sectors.

MediaRadar (fka Vivvix, AdSpender, Advertising Insights)
Database of top level advertising expenditure, across 18 media and for 3+ million brands. Historical 10-year database of national summary spending trends, accessible by industry, parent company, and brand.

Mergent Archives
Mergent Corporate Manuals (fka Moody's):

Bank and Finance: 1928 -
Industrial: 1923 -
International: 1981 -
OTC Industrial: 1970 -
Public Utility: 1914 -
Transportation: 1909 -
OTC Unlisted: 1986 -

Mintel Academic
Market research reports and consumer data covering US and Global consumer markets and products (emphasis on Western European and US): Automotive; Beauty; Clothing and Footwear; Drink; Financial Services; Food; Foodservice; Health and Wellness; Household Care; Leisure and Entertainment; Lifestyles; Personal Care; Retail; Technology; Travel. Also includes demographic data on Affluent Consumers, Baby Boomers, Kids, Men, Millennials, Mothers, Multicultural, Singles, Teens, and Women.

Music Industry Data
Repository of historical and current data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, GfK Entertainment and many more reporting agencies from over 30 countries around the world. Sales data drives the rankings. Rankings tell the story of the impact of music on society and cultures.

Nexis Uni
Provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; regulations; and patents.

NYT.com - New York Times
Register to access NYT.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.

Orbis
306+ million public and private companies worldwide: financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, ratings, directors and contacts, filings, stock data, PE data, detailed corporate ownership structures, industry research, news, M&A deals and rumors, and global patent agreements.
Orbis M&A (fka Zephyr)
Global information on 1 million M&A, IPO, Private Equity and Venture Capital deals and rumors. Search by hundreds of criteria, including multiples; analyze a set of deals; refer to original sources (translated into English); and integrated financials for companies involved. Formerly known as "Zephyr."

OSIRIS (via WRDS)
Osiris has information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies around the world. The information is very detailed and includes a lot more than financial reports. Different templates are used to show accounts in the correct formats for their company type and location. It covers around 80,000 companies. Request an account

PitchBook
PitchBook tracks every aspect of the public and private equity markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.

Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Access is restricted to current students, faculty, and academic support/staff for academic purposes.
Preqin Private Equity
Preqin provides data on the private equity and venture capital industry: investors, firms, funds, fund performance, fund terms, deals and exits, service providers and more. Buyout, venture capital, growth, turnaround, fund of funds and other strategies.
PressReader
Read newspapers from around the world in full-text, page view. Digital versions of over 7,000 newspapers and magazines in more than 60 languages.
PrivCo
Business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also covers venture capital funding deals, private equity deals, and merger acquisition data.
ProQuest Business
Search across 17 databases of scholarly, business & trade publications, and newspapers in nearly every area of business, economics, banking, trade, and industry. Also includes Hoover's company profiles.
PubMed
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Refinitiv (now called LSEG Workspace)
Looking for Refinitiv Workspace? The name has changed to LSEG Workspace. Register for LSEG Workspace
Responsible Investor
Responsible Investor focuses on business-critical news and data dedicated to covering responsible investment, ESG, and sustainable finance for institutional investors globally. Register for an account. For complete access, email Subscriptions@pei.group from your Dartmouth email account to request access. You will be emailed an access link. No password necessary.

S&P's NetAdvantage
Industry surveys of 50+ major U.S. industries, including current environment, industry profile, trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios & statistics, how to analyze the industry and downloadable comparative company analysis.
Sage Data Statistical Datasets
(fka Data Planet) Repository of standardized and structured statistical data: 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business/Finance, Social Sciences: Political Science (election data, campaign finance, lobbying revenue, etc.), criminal justice, social work, Demography, International Studies, Economics, Agriculture, Education, Nursing/Public Health, Environment/Climate Data/Energy and more. Help Guide
ScienceDirect Journals
Journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books, including business, management, accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics and finance.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.

SDC Platinum
SDC Platinum is a comprehensive financial transactions database, with content across new issues, M&A, syndicated loans, private equity, project finance, public finance, and more.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
Social science research papers, working papers series, conference papers across 24 disciplines including: accounting, corporate governance, economics, entrepreneurship, finance, health economics, innovation, ebusiness, leadership, management, marketing, negotiation, and sustainability.

Statista: the leading statistics portal
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Technavio Country/Regional Reports (via EMIS)
Market research reports on country/regional industries including, communication, consumer services/discretionary/staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities.
Technavio Global Reports (via EMIS)
Market research reports on global industries including, communication, consumer services/discretionary/staples, energy, financials, health care, industrials, information technology, materials, and utilities.

MediaRadar (fka Vivvix, AdSpender, Advertising Insights)
Database of top level advertising expenditure, across 18 media and for 3+ million brands. Historical 10-year database of national summary spending trends, accessible by industry, parent company, and brand.
WARC.com
WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing, including worldwide trends, case studies, consumer insight, ad expenditure data, rankings of marketing campaigns and companies, best practices, news, and more.

Washington Post
Democracy Dies in Darkness

Web of Science
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.

Westlaw
Provides search interfaces to cases, statutes and legislative materials, and encyclopedias; legal guides on various topics; famous documents; and pre-law topics.
World Factbook
Country information, including: history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues, maps of the major world regions, flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, a world oceans map, and a standard time zones of the world map.

WRDS: Wharton Research Data Services
Wharton's business data research service - our subscription includes access to: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, Bureau van Dijk (Amadeus & Osiris), CBOE Indexes, COMPUSTAT, Compstat Global, CRSP, CUSIP, ComScore, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, Eventus, FDIC, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, IBES, MFLINKS, Morningstar CISDM, Option Metrics, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Order Execution, TRACE, Thomson Reuters

WSJ Pro Venture Capital & Private Equity
News, analysis, and data on global private equity and venture capital trends from the Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones. (Restricted to the Tuck community)
WSJ.com - Wall Street Journal
Register to access WSJ.com from your laptop, phone, or other mobile device. Use your Dartmouth email address.