Library Resources for Arts & Sciences Faculty

The Library is excited about the upcoming opening and move into the new Library Collections and Services Facility (LCSF). The LCSF is a purpose-built, high-density shelving facility providing archival standard conditions and environmental controls for our collections and the College’s records for their long-term preservation and continued access.

This new facility supports the Library’s work of collection management and preservation allowing the Library to balance the materials it keeps on the central part of campus and the housing of lower use but important materials that we maintain for the Dartmouth community. The facility will also support the Library’s participation in national partnerships committed to preservation and access to the scholarly record. The LCSF will be a key resource in the Library’s ongoing work of collection review and active curation of the collections. The facility has three staff members and will continue to offer on-demand digitization for articles, book chapters, and select college records. Once the move is completed, there will also be onsite reading room space for scholars to consult fragile or large runs of materials at the location on Etna Road, a short drive from the center of campus.

We began moving the collections that are already offsite from their current depository on September 11 and expect that move to take approximately five months. The materials will remain available to the community, but please factor in an additional one to two business days to accommodate possible delays while material is in transit. Additional information about the LCSF can be found on the FAQ.
 

Please feel free to contact Qiana Johnson (Qiana.M.Johnson@dartmouth.edu), Associate Dean of Libraries, Collections and Content Strategies, with questions about the facility.

The Dartmouth Library now provides access to e-book packages across the following platforms:

• De Gruyter - complete ebook collections from 14 university presses, started 2023
  • Presses include Columbia, Cornell, Fordham, Harvard, NYU, Princeton, Rutgers, Stanford, California, Chicago, Hawaii, Pennsylvania, Toronto, and Yale
  • New titles added monthly
  • Downloadable at chapter and full book levels
• JSTOR - Pilot for FY 24
  • Downloadable at chapter level
  • 2023 and later copyright years
• Wiley - Pilot for FY 24
  • New titles added weekly
  • Downloads at chapter and full book levels
  • Does NOT include access to Wiley major reference works or textbooks
• Cambridge University Press - Pilot for FY 24
  • New titles added monthly
  • Downloads at chapter level and full book (ZIP of chapter pdfs)
  • Does NOT include access to Cambridge Companions, textbooks, Cambridge Shakespeare so if a book is in one of these series, please order it.
• Oxford University Press - the following collections:
  • Classics
  • History
  • Literature
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Religion
• Oxford Handbooks Online (all subjects)
• Art & Architecture ePortal
• Cahiers d'Art Institute
• CAIRN
• Duke University Press (all years)

The Dartmouth Library features new books by current faculty, staff, and students in our rotating display near the Berry Circulation Desk. Are you publishing a new book this fall, or do you know someone who is? Fill out this form so we can spotlight your work!