Census Data

The use of census data forms an important part of many research activities in subject areas as diverse as geography, demography, sociology, economics, politics and statistics. It is vital that the researchers know how the data was collected, which statistical techniques are useful and why, and how to model the data in order to draw inferences about the whole population. This volume meets these particular needs and is the only book available with a section devoted to showing examples of the analysis of census microdata across many different application areas.

Census data are widely used in the United States across numerous research and applied fields, including education, business, journalism, and many others. Until recently, the process of working with US Census data has required the use of a wide array of web interfaces and software platforms to prepare, map, and present data products. The goal of this book is to illustrate the utility of the R programming language for handling these tasks, allowing Census data users to manage their projects in a single computing environment.

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census represents a unique and definitive collaboration among more than 80 leading experts on all aspects of the U.S. Census. Drawing from academia, government, and the private sector, CQ Press and the editorial board have commissioned more than 100 concise, definitive articles on the decennial census and related topics. ...

This volume is a census-focused compilation of state-level population, agriculture, and manufacturing data for the fifty states and the District of Columbia. It also includes population figures for the largest 1990 cities from 1790 to 1990. Thus it fills a gap in the historical statistics provided by the government publication, Historical Statistics of the United States (1975), which provides national statistics, and the county-level data compiled by the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research.

Seeking to demystify the census and explaining the potential of GIS for understanding people, places, and local economies, this guide explains how geographic information systems (GIS) can significantly ease data management, allowing for new ways to analyze and present relationships among variables.

This book is the first social history of the census from its origins to the present and has become the standard history of the population census in the United States. The second edition has been updated to trace census developments since 1980, including the undercount controversies, the arrival of the American Community Survey, and innovations of the digital age.

This book provides the first comprehensive and consistent analysis of vital statistics and migration patterns for the United States between the Revolution and the Civil War. It is anchored in the one available source for nationwide estimates, the decennial censuses. It attempts to provide, for black and white populations, a consistent set of estimates of birth and death rates, rates of natural increase, and net international and interregional flows. For the black population, it also estimates the changing pace of manumissions in the antebellum decades. ...

This newly revised and renamed Handbook reflects the recommendations of the expert group meetings and regional workshops on geographic information systems (GIS) and census-mapping. It covers both managerial and operational needs in considerable detail. The Handbook addresses organisational and institutional issues that concern statistical agency heads and other managers; and it explicitly addresses technical and practical issues that concern census cartographers and takers.

This report contains detailed information on the questionnaires and instructions used for each census, plus individual histories of each census.

The U.S. census, conducted every 10 years since 1790, faces dramatic new challenges as the country begins its third century. Critics of the 1990 census cited problems of increasingly high costs, continued racial differences in counting the population, and declining public confidence. This volume provides a major review of the traditional U.S. census. Starting from the most basic questions of how data are used and whether they are needed, the volume examines the data that future censuses should provide. ...

Urban Policy and the Census helps researchers and policy analysts gain an integrated understanding of census data and other relevant policy data sources, their strengths and limitations, and how best to use this data in policy research. Researchers will be able to critically assess decennial census and the American Community Survey data, which can be the starting point for spatial analysis for realistic policy planning and decision-making. ...