Research Guides: New Media: Journals & magazines on New media

Getting started ...

Articles and other writings about movies can be found in many publications. The list in the next box highlights some of the more relevant article indexes. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.

Article indexes

Academic search complete by EBSCO
Call Number: Electronic resource

A scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
ACM digital library by Association for Computing Machinery
Call Number: Electronic resource

ACM Digital Library is a searchable, browsable, bibliographic database from the key publishers in computing, including books, journals, proceedings and theses.
MLA international bibliography by Modern Language Association
Call Number: Electronic resource

MLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as new media.
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resource

This index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

A Short list of journals

Brains, minds & media: journal of new media in neural and cognitive science and education by Dept. of Neurobiology, Faculty for Biology, University of Bielefeld
Call Number: Electronic journal

Brains, Minds & Media is an open access eJournal for interactive and visual media in the neural and cognitive sciences. It is the main aim of the journal to provide peer-reviewed articles, software and interactive media for the neural and cognitive sciences with a particular focus on the education and teaching ranging from the advanced high-school level to undergraduate and graduate programmes, and research on the relation between brains, minds and media.
Convergence: the international journal of research into new media technologies by University of Luton
Call Number: Electronic journal

Convergence is an international peer-reviewed academic journal which was set up to address the creative, social, political and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies. As an international research journal, it provides a forum both for monitoring and exploring developments in the field and for encouraging, publishing and promoting vital innovative research.
Digital humanities quarterly: DHQ by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations
Call Number: Electronic journal

ISBN: 1938-4122

DHQ is an open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities.
Journals and magazines for Human computer interaction
Call Number: Electronic journals

This search in the online catalog finds all of the journals which look at human-computer interactions.
New media age by Centaur Communications
Call Number: Electronic journal

This publication covers the issues of publishing in the new media - Internet publishing, on-line databases, CD-ROM, video-on-demand - and all other ways there are of representing digital content or material.
Television & new media by SAGE Publishing
Call Number: Electronic journal

Television & New Media (TVNM), explores the fields of television and new media studies as they focus on the historical, ethnographic, political-economic, technological, and textual dimensions of media in social contexts.
User modeling and user-adapted interaction by Kluwer Academic Publishers
Call Number: Electronic journal

User Modeling and User-Adapted Interaction provides an interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of novel and significant original research results about interactive computer systems that can adapt themselves to their users, and on the design, use, and evaluation of user models for adaptation. ...
Vectors: journal of culture and technology in a dynamic vernacular
Call Number: Electronic journal

Vectors maps the multiple contours of daily life in an unevenly digital era, crystallizing around themes that highlight the social, political, and cultural stakes of our increasingly technologically-mediated existence. As such, the journal speaks both implicitly and explicitly to key debates across varied disciplines, including issues of globalization, mobility, power, and access. ...

Keeping up with the journal literature

Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature in New Media? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.

You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.

Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.