Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Defining New Media
This page includes several texts which will explain what New Media is and provide examples.
- What is New Media? from the New Media Institute
New Media is a 21st Century catchall term used to define all that is related to the internet and the interplay between technology, images and sound. In fact, the definition of new media changes daily, and will continue to do so. New media evolves and morphs continuously. ... - New Media from PC Magazine's Encyclopedia(1) The forms of communicating in the digital world, which includes publishing on CDs, DVDs and, most significantly, over the Internet. It implies that the user obtains the material via desktop and laptop computers, smartphones and tablets. Every company in the developed world is involved with new media.
(2) The concept that new methods of communicating in the digital world allow smaller groups of people to congregate online and share, sell and swap goods and information. It also allows more people to have a voice in their community and in the world in general.
Introductory reading(s)
Berkshire encyclopedia of human-computer interaction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780974309156Articles that explore what's going on inside leading research labs and technology corporations, and are accompanied by lively sidebars and a popular culture database of novels, television shows, and movies.
New Media from the Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780123876706This article defines new media in terms of the convergence of telecommunications, computing, and traditional media. This conceptual definition therefore embraces a set of ever-changing technologies, ranging from the Internet and World Wide Web to global positioning systems (GPS) and omni-directional cameras. ...
Encyclopedia of new media: an essential reference to communication and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780761923824From Amazon.com to virtual communities, the Encyclopedia of New Media presents more than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Each subject is examined in depth in a single, coherent article and the Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive, A-Z reference on the ongoing revolution in communications. ...
New media by Call Number: Baker-Berry Cook QA 76.575 .N477 2006ISBN: 9780824210601This book looks at the explosion of music and video downloads and other phenomena, including online communities, instant messaging, electronic research, video games, e-books, bloggers, and more.
New media theory from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286New media theory, broadly speaking, conceptualizes the implications of digital technologies: from the novel sociopolitical configurations fostered by computer-mediated communication, to the aesthetic and cultural significance of digital culture. The focus in the bibliography is on theory that emerged after the popularization of the World Wide Web in the early 1990s, as it is from this point that the field was consolidated and key journals dedicated to the subject began to emerge. ...
The Oxford handbook of film and media studies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195175967This handbook examines film and new media in the light of their convergence. It draws on leading scholars in the field to discuss traditional areas of history and theory of film and digital media. Its focus, however, is on the cycle of technologically driven arts. Film was born of a number of experiments in reproducing motion, all of which culminated in the nineteenth-century projection of short films. The creation of digital media resulted from experiments in alternative forms of representation in the early 1960s. ...
Other selected books
New media : a critical introduction by Call Number: Baker/Berry P 96 .T42 N478 2009ISBN: 0415431611New Media: A Critical Introduction is a comprehensive introduction to the culture, history, technologies and theories of new media. The book considers the ways in which 'new media' really are new, assesses the claims that a media and technological revolution has taken place and formulates new ways for media studies to respond to new technologies.
The shock of the old: technology and global history since 1900 by Call Number: Library Depository T 20 .E3275 2007ISBN: 9780195322835From the books of H.G. Wells to the press releases of NASA, we are awash in clichéd claims about high technology's ability to change the course of history. Now, in The Shock of the Old, David Edgerton offers a startling new and fresh way of thinking about the history of technology, radically revising our ideas about the interaction of technology and society in the past and in the present. He challenges us to view the history of technology in terms of what everyday people have actually used-and continue to use-rather than just sophisticated inventions. ...
New media, old media: a history and theory reader by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 90 .N52 2016ISBN: 9781138021105Publication Date: 2nd ed.This much-expanded and updated second edition of New Media, Old Media brings together original and classic essays that explore the tensions of old and new in digital culture. Touching on topics including media archaeology, archives, software studies, surveillance, big data, social media, organized networks, digital art, and the Internet of Things, this newly revised critical anthology is essential reading for anyone studying the cultural impact of new and digital media.
New Media and Religious Transformations in Africa by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253015303New Media and Religious Transformations in Africa casts a critical look at Africa's rapidly evolving religious media scene.
Emerging genres in new media environments by Call Number: Check catalog for locationISBN: 9783319402949This volume explores cultural innovation and transformation as revealed through the emergence of new media genres. New media have enabled what impresses most observers as a dizzying proliferation of new forms of communicative interaction and cultural production, provoking multi-modal experimentation, and artistic and entrepreneurial innovation.
