Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Internet resource(s)
- Center for International Media AssistanceThe term “media development” refers to evolution and change in the fields of news media and communications. This evolution can be stimulated by donor support, private investment, or indigenous processes of change led by media owners, managers, journalists, or other players such as media industry associations, or other collective efforts.
- Center for Social MediaThey investigate, showcase and set standards for socially engaged media-making. They organize conferences and convenings, publish research, create codes of best practices, and incubate media strategies.
- comScore, Inc.comScore is a global leader in measuring the digital world and the preferred source of digital marketing intelligence. Through a powerful combination of behavioral and survey insights, comScore enables clients to better understand, leverage and profit from the rapidly evolving worldwide web and mobile arena.
- CyberspaceWikipedia's entry for cyberspace.
- Map of the InternetCreate your own map of the internet.
- Pscyhology of CyberspaceA hypertext book that looks at the psychological effects of computer networks.
Definition
In its most common current usage, cyberspace refers to the Internet and the World Wide Web, or to any similar shared, interactive, computer-mediated environment. The term was coined by science-fiction writer William Gibson in his fictional depictions of a future world in which people could immerse themselves in graphical representations of information contained in computers. The prefix “cyber” comes from the word cybernetics, a term that since the 1940s has referred to, among other things, interconnections and similarities between humans and computers.
Cyberspace. (2002). In Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference Guide to Communication and Technology. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/sageeonm/cyberspace
In the Library's collection
Useful subject headings for searching in the online catalog:
- cyber ...This search shows how different subjects that start with "cyber" are treated in the catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Cyberspace from the Encyclopedia of new media: an essential reference to communication and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780761923824In its most common current usage, cyberspace refers to the Internet and the World Wide Web, or to any similar shared, interactive, computer-mediated environment. The term was coined by science-fiction writer William Gibson in his fictional depictions of a future world in which people could immerse themselves in graphical representations of information contained in computers. ...
Companion encyclopedia of geography: from local to global by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. G 116 .C645 2007 v. 1 - 2ISBN: 9780415431699Publication Date: Rev, ed.This revised edition takes the theme of place as the unifying principle for a full account of the discipline at the beginning of the twenty-first century. The work comprises 64 substantial essays addressing human and physical geography, and exploring their inter-relations. The encyclopedia does full justice to the enormous growth of social and cultural geography in recent years. ...
Encyclopedia of geographic information science by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412913133Geographic information science (GIS) is an emerging field that combines aspects of many different disciplines. As a result, GIS literature is spread widely across the academic spectrum and the vocabulary is an amalgam of all of these fields. Often, given the specialized disciplinary orientations of authors, some expectation of foundational knowledge is assumed in much of the literature, making it difficult for readers from different disciplines to understand the full context of what they are reading. The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field. It also provides details about the key foundations of GIS, no matter what their disciplinary origins, and is, therefore, an important resource for both academic and corporate libraries. ...
Other library resource(s)
Selected book titles
Against the machine : being human in the age of the electronic mob by Call Number: Baker/Berry HM 851 .S5484 2008ISBN: 0385522657From the author dubbed by New York Times Magazine as one of the country's most eloquent and acid-tongued critics comes a ruthless challenge to the conventional wisdom about the most consequential cultural development of our time: the Internet.
The digital sublime : myth, power, and cyberspace by Call Number: Baker/Berry HM 851 .M667 2004ISBN: 026213439XThe digital era promises, as did many other technological developments before it, the transformation of society: with the computer, we can transcend time, space, and politics-as-usual. In The Digital Sublime, Vincent Mosco goes beyond the usual stories of technological breakthrough and economic meltdown to explore the myths constructed around the new digital technology and why we feel compelled to believe in them.
The Oxford handbook of internet psychology by Call Number: Baker/Berry HM 1017 .O94 2007ISBN: 0198568002Over one billion people use the Internet globally. Psychologists are beginning to understand what people do online, and the impact being online has on behaviour. It's making us re-think many of our existing assumptions about what it means to be a social being. For instance, if we can talk, flirt, meet people and fall in love online, this challenges many of psychology's theories that intimacy or understanding requires physical co-presence. The Oxford Handbook of Internet Psychology brings together many of the leading researchers in what can be termed 'Internet Psychology'.
Realspace: the fate of physical presence in the digital age, on and off planet by Call Number: Baker-Berry TL 794.5 .L48 2003ISBN: 9780415277433Is planet Earth the end of the line, or is space itself the next stop? Cyberspace. It's incredible, taking us to any part of the planet we want to visit. But as Paul Levinson shows in his brilliant new book, when it comes to transport, we're still stuck in the past, preferring to take our bodies with us. Whether it's trains, yachts, scooters or pogo-sticks, we're compelled to keep moving, our movements curtailed only by the earth itself. In our imaginations however, we soar way past the limits of current technology. ...
The rise of the blogosphere by Call Number: Baker/Berry PN 4784 .O62 B37 2007ISBN: 0275989968Publication Date: 2007-03-30In 1985 The WELL, a dial-up discussion board, began with the phrase: "You own your own words." Though almost everything else about online discussion has changed in the two decades since, those words still describe its central premise, and this basic idea underlies both the power and the popularity of blogging today. Appropriately enough, it also describes American journalism as it existed a century and a half before The WELL was organized, before the concept of popular involvement in the press was nearly swept away on the rising tide of commercial and professional journalism.
