Polar Studies Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Selected journal title(s)
Arctic, antarctic and alpine research by Call Number: Electronic journalArctic, Antarctic, and Alpine Research seeks to advance understanding of the rapid environmental change occurring in cold regions through research into past, present, and future high-latitude and mountain regions. The journal publishes research from a diverse group of international authors from academia, government agencies, and non-governmental organizations. ...Arctic anthropology by
Call Number: Electronic journalArctic Anthropology is an international journal devoted to the study of Old and New World northern cultures and peoples.
Ecography by Call Number: Electronic journalISBN: 1600-0587Ecology publishes papers focused on broad spatial and temporal patterns, particularly studies of population and community ecology, macroecology, biogeography, and ecological conservation.
Geografiska annaler. Series A, Physical geography by Call Number: Electronic journalLooks at physical geography and glaciology with an emphasis on the polar regions.- Northern notes: occasional publication of the John Sloan Dickey Endowment for International Understanding byCall Number: Baker-Berry G 600 .N66Northern notes continues Polar notes which was an occasional publication of the Stefansson Collection.
Polar biology by Call Number: Electronic journalPolar Biology is a focal point for biologists working in polar regions. It is also of interest to scientists working in biology, ecology and physiology in general, as well as in oceanography and climatology related to polar life.
Polar geography by Call Number: Electronic journalPolar Geography is a publication that offers a venue for scholarly research on the physical and human aspects of the Polar Regions. The journal seeks to address the component interplay of the natural systems, the complex historical, political, economic, cultural, diplomatic, and security issues, and the interchange amongst them. ...
Polar record by Call Number: Electronic journalPolar Record publishes articles in a wide variety of areas of polar research in both the Arctic and the Antarctic and keeping its readers up to date with an extensive range of topics and concerns.
Polar science by Call Number: Electronic journalPolar Science is an international, peer-reviewed quarterly journal. It is dedicated to publishing original research articles for sciences relating to the polar regions of the Earth and other planets.
Indexes Specifically for Polar Studies
These are some of the main databases for researching Polar Studies.
- ASTIS (Arctic Science and Technology Information System) byCall Number: Electronic resourceASTIS (Arctic Science and Technology Information Science) contains over 86,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada.
- UAF Alaska & polar periodical index byCall Number: Electronic resourceThe Alaska & Polar Regions Index cites articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica. It does not contain the full text of those articles, but all were received by the UAF Rasmuson Library. The coverage is strongest from the 1980s to 2016. ...
- COLD database byCall Number: Electronic resourceThe COLD Database includes the USPA Permafrost Alert Program, Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology and Antarctic Bibliography (1950-2011).
Other relevant indexes
These are other databases you can use for researching Polar Studies.
AnthroSource by Call Number: Electronic resourceAnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. ...- Bibliography of Indigenous peoples of North America (BIPNA) byCall Number: Electronic resourceBibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BIPNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
GeoRef by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers all areas of the Earth Sciences. It also covers a wide range of Physical Geography too.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
