Polar Studies: Maps & Images

The vast empty spaces of the Poles were the last frontier to be assailed by explorers intent on achieving a geographical goal. But long before the North Pole was finally attained, men sailed the seas searching for an easier and shorter path to the riches of the Orient. The mapmakers of the day translated sparse information into often fanciful, sometimes stunningly artistic maps. Author Derek Hayes documents the international race for the Pole involving expeditions on foot, by hot air balloon and by airplane. Along with the detailed historical maps, Hayes provides insightful commentary, and describes the aspirations and motivations of explorers and the harsh realities they faced. ...

This map shows explorers names and dates of expeditions to the North Polar regions up to 1879.

Designed in consultation with NASA and the NOAA, this atlas is a detailed exploration of the Earth's oceans and provides more than 150 maps, photos, and satellite images combined with information on its diverse life and phenomena, as well as related technological developments.

Looking down on the world from the North Pole.

Just as humans scale the highest mountains, they also explore the deepest depths of the world's oceans. In this lavish atlas, a variety of maps depict the fascinating geographical landmarks of the ocean floor: volcanoes that rise suddenly from the deep ocean; seamounts and ridges that contain rich mineral deposits; shipwrecks (the Titanic is only one example among many); and marine life in the hidden depths of the ocean that until now has been invisible to humans. ...

Features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as the best of the international photo report. A second database features the regional European and Asian daily picture reports, along with a selection of their historical photos.

You can use this searchable database of more than 300,000 images to find examples of fashion used in films and those designers who worked in films.

The SPRI Picture Library houses one of the world's most comprehensive collections of historical photographs of the Polar Regions. It also holds a growing collection of modern photographs taken by scientists and researchers working in the field.
The collection contains stunning images taken from the very early days of exploration to both the Arctic and the Antarctic, particularly those of the expeditions led by Scott and Shackleton. It provides a documentary record of all aspects of life, travel and work in the polar regions, ranging through the fauna and flora, transport, science, scientific stations, glaciology, scenery and ethnography.