International Polar Year 2007-2008 (IPY) was an intense, coordinated field campaign of observations, research, and analysis. It was the largest, most comprehensive campaign ever mounted to explore Earth's polar domains.
NAP publishes the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Full texts are available online. The journal Issues in Science and Technology is also included.
The institute's mandate is to advance the study of the North American and circumpolar Arctic through the natural and social sciences, the arts and humanities and to acquire, preserve and disseminate information on physical, environmental and social conditions in the North.
The Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database contains over 64,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. The Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary maintains ASTIS.
Their mission is to gain knowledge of cold regions through scientific and engineering research and put that knowledge to work for the Corps of Engineers, the Army, the Department of Defense, and the Nation. CRREL is the DoD's only laboratory that addresses the problems and opportunities unique to the world's cold regions.
Located within the Dickey Center for International Understanding, the Institute acts to facilitate student and faculty research, and also sponsors seminars and public events to highlight the importance of polar regions in world affairs and the functioning of global ecosystems.
Polar Knowledge Canada (POLAR) is on the cutting edge of Arctic issues and strengthens Canada's position internationally as a leader in polar science and technology. POLAR also promotes the development and distribution of knowledge of other circumpolar regions, including Antarctica.
Founded as the private research collection of the Arctic explorer Vilhjalmur Stefansson (1879-1962), the Stefansson Collection on Polar Exploration is an exceptionally rich body of material for research on the history of both the Antarctic and the Arctic.
For the Antarctic regions, the bulk of the collection is concerned with events prior to World War II. For the Arctic regions, the bulk of the collection is concerned with events prior to 1930. As Stefansson himself worked exclusively in the Arctic, this part of the collection is more robust.
The collection is made up of printed materials, manuscripts, photographs and vertical files.
The web site includes useful tools for researching the Arctic and Antarctic.
It is envisioned that the International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008 will be an intense, internationally coordinated campaign of research that will initiate a new era in polar science. IPY will include research in both polar regions and recognise the strong links these regions have with the rest of the globe. It will involve a wide range of research disciplines, including the social sciences, but the emphasis will be interdisciplinary in its approach and truly international in participation. It aims to educate and involve the public, and to help train the next generation of engineers, scientists, and leaders.
IPY 2007-2008 is a way to undertake projects that normally could not be achieved by any single nation. It allows us to think beyond traditional borders--whether national borders or disciplinary constraints--toward a new level of integrated, cooperative science. The international collaborations started today will build relationships and understanding that will bring long-term benefits.
A concerted worldwide effort is underway to plan scientific and educational activities for the upcoming International Polar Year (IPY). scheduled to officially begin in March 2007, IPY promises to advance our understanding of how the Earth's remote polar regions impact global climate systems, to bring about fundamental advances in many areas of science, and to fire the enthusiasm of young men and women for future careers in science and engineering.
The records of the first International Polar Year (IPY) offer a unique opportunity to study the Arctic as it existed prior to the present era of environmental change. Meteorological data from IPY stations have been collected and are presented here for the first time in digital format. An extensive documentary image collection may also be viewed.
The purpose of the summit is to provide opportunities for international coordination, collaboration and cooperation in all areas of Arctic science and to combine science and management meetings.
Dartmouth College is hosted this Summit.
The ASSW also offers insight into Arctic research undertaken by the host country.
The Foundation's mission is to communicate and educate on the reality of climate change through the findings of Polar sciences and thereby convince society to act responsibly now to ensure a sustainable world for future generations.