Papyrology & Paleography
-
Oxford Handbook of Papyrology
by
Call Number: Print: Baker-Berry Z110.P36 O98 2009"Provides an introduction to the world of ancient documents and literary texts, ranging from the raw materials of writing to the languages used, from the history of papyrology to its future, and from practical help in reading papyri to frank opinions about the nature of the work of papyrologists." -
-
Bookrolls and Scribes in Oxyrhynchus
by
Call Number: East Reading Room Z5 .J63 2004"Examining only those texts that survive in full form in medieval manuscripts, Johnson has analysed over 400 bookrolls to understand the production, use, and aesthetics of the ancient book. Provides detailed information on the bookroll industry - manufacture, design, and format. Suggests some intriguing questions and provisional answers about the ways in which the use and function of the bookroll among ancient readers may differ from modern or medieval practice."
-
Greek Manuscripts of the Ancient World byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z113.8 .T86 1971b
-
-
Oxford Handbook of Latin Palaeography
by
“Includes essays on major types of script, describing what defines these distinct script types, and outlining when and where they were used. It expands on previous handbooks of the subject by incorporating select essays on less well-studied periods and regions. Has extensive focus on codicology and on the cultural settings and contexts of mediaeval books. Essays treat of various important features, formats, styles, and genres of mediaeval books, and of representative mediaeval libraries as intellectual centers. Additional studies explore questions of orality and the written word, the book trade, glossing and glossaries, and manuscript cataloguing.” -
Latin Paleography: Antiquity and the Middle Ages byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z114.B5713 1990The standard introductory work on Latin paleography.
-
Introduction to Manuscript Studies byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z105.C58 2007Great introduction to medieval Latin paleography. Covers the entire process, from the preparation of the writing surface to the description and cataloging of manuscripts. Lavishly illustrated.
-
Paleography of Gothic Manuscript Books byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z106.5.E85 D47 2003A detailed look at the varieties of Gothic script.
-
Guide to Western Historical Scripts from Antiquity to 1600 byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z113 .B76 1990Brief description of scripts, with a full-page facsimile reproductions and transcriptions.
-
Dictionary of English Manuscript Terminology, 1450-2000 byCall Number: Z106.5G7 B43 2008Intended for use with English manuscripts, but still useful for Latin and Greek manuscripts.
-
Paléographie des classiques latinOnline version of Chatelain's folio facsimile reproduction of manuscripts from different periods.
Print version is in DLD.
-
Greek Literary Hands A.D. 400-1600Call Number: Baker-Berry Z113.8 .B23Publication Date: 1981This book traces the development of Greek literary hands, summarizing what can be deduced about the main characteristics of different styles of writing in different periods. The 110 examples are arranged by style of writing so that similar patterns are easily detectable; each page of plates is faced by a page of description and transcription.
-
Paläographie der griechischen Papyri byCall Number: Baker-Berry East Reading Room Z113.8 .S4Publication Date: 1967-1990v. 1: Documentary papyri
v. 2: Literary papyri
v. 3: History of the paleography of Greek papyri -
Album de paléographie grecque byCall Number: Baker-Berry East Reading Room Z113.8 .W5Publication Date: 196764 plates with writings specimens from the 3rd c. B.C. to the 18th c.
-
Paläographie der lateinischen Papyri byCall Number: Baker-Berry East Reading Room Z114 .S38Publication Date: 1972-1981
-
Latin Bookhands of the Later Middle Ages (1100-1500) byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z114 .T53Publication Date: 1969
-
Earlier Latin Manuscripts"Our database is founded on E. A. Lowe's Codices Latini Antiquiores and thus focuses on non-documentary texts written before the year 800. All of the manuscripts in Lowe's corpus and its supplements will be found in our database, along with corrections by Lowe and later scholars."
-
Medieval Latin Paleography: A Bibliographical Introduction byCall Number: Print: Baker-Berry East Reading Room Z106.B655 1984Still very useful despite its age. This annotated bibliography has over 2200 entries.
-
Paleografia e codicologia greca : una rassegna bibliografica byCall Number: Baker-Berry East Reading Room Z106 .C36 1991Publication Date: 1991The standard bibliography.
-
Capelli's Elements of Abbreviation in Medieval Latin PaleographyPDF of b&w copy. An online, interactive edition of the Italian version is here.
-
Notes on Abbreviations in Greek Manuscripts byCall Number: Print: Baker-Berry: Z113.8 .A58 1967Publication Date: 1889
-
Leuven Database of Ancient Books"Text editions by classical philologists and patristic scholars are usually based upon medieval manuscripts, dating many centuries after the work in question was first written down and transmitted by copies from copies from copies. Here the user will find the oldest preserved copies of each text."
