Subject Librarian
Greek and Latin Texts / Translations
- Oxford Scholarly Editions OnlineOxford Classical Texts-Latin (prose and poetry -- except for history and comedy, which are not included) with links to the Oxford Latin Dictionary and secondary literature.
- Perseus Digital LibraryContains a large number of classical texts (Latin and Greek) and translations. Includes links to major Greek and Latin dictionaries dictionaries (LSJ and Lewis & Short) and other useful tools.
Digital Text Collections
- Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeThe definitive repository of Greek texts. Includes links to the Perseus tools.
Helpful hint: The TLG is now linked to the Online Liddell-Scott Jones, the premier lexicon for ancient Greek. All lemmata and word forms in the TLG corpus are now linked to a new dictionary page that contains links to LSJ. - Brill's New JacobyRevised online version of Felix Jacoby's Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker. Presents facing English translations of the Greek fragments, a new, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian's life and works, with a select bibliography.
- Acta SanctorumContains the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes. Contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. BHL reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.
- Bibliotheca TeubnerianaThe complete text (but not the apparatus) of the Teubner editions of Latin texts. Can be searched alongside TLL.
- Library of Latin Texts (A+B)Contains texts from the beginnings of Latin literature to the texts of the Vatican II. Includes all works of the classical period as well as important patristic titles and medieval Latin literature. Use the Cross-Database Search Tool to search across LLT-A+B and the MGH.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH)Brepolis full-text database.
- PHI Latin TextsContains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from late antiquity.
- Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new windowContains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory matter, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.
- Corpus CorporumLarge meta-repository of Latin texts from antiquity to the modern period.
Epigraphic Databases
- Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin EpigraphyA portal interface that allows a simultaneous search of four major epigraphic projects: the Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg (EDH), the Epigraphic Database Roma (EDR), the Epigraphic Database Bari (EDB) and Hispania Epigraphica (HE).
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum OnlineThe Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
The online edition includes all SEG volumes, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series. Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online is automatically updated upon publication of the annual volume.
- Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin EpigraphyA portal interface that allows a simultaneous search of four major epigraphic projects: the Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg (EDH), the Epigraphic Database Roma (EDR), the Epigraphic Database Bari (EDB) and Hispania Epigraphica (HE).
- Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL) : Archivum Corporis ElectronicumAccess by CIL number. Provides bibliographical detail and squeezes (if available).
- Epigraphik-Datenbank Clauss-SlabyVery comprehensive. Good for searching for CIL inscriptions.
- Epigraphische Datenbank HeidelbergMainly Latin inscriptions from the imperial period with a focus on the provinces.