Classics and Greco-Roman Archaeology

One of America's preeminent ancient historians covers Rome from its backwater beginnings to its dominance of the Mediterranean world. Includes many full-color photographs and passages from primary sources.

"Offers a comprehensive sweep of Roman history, ranging from the prehistoric settlements to the fall of the empire in 476. Addressing issues that still confront modern states worldwide - including warfare, empire building, consensus forging, and political fragmentation - the authors also provide glimpses into everyday Roman life and perspective, demonstrating how Rome's growth as a state is inseparable from its social and cultural development."

"A new view of early Rome as a highly mobile society within a wider interconnected Mediterranean network. Covers the rise of Rome from small scale community to supremacy in central Italy. Uses the latest archaeological evidence to demonstrate the sophisticated and cosmopolitan nature of early Rome."

"What transformed a humble city into the preeminent power of the region? Lomas reconstructs the diplomatic ploys, political stratagems, and cultural exchanges whereby Rome established itself as a dominant player in a region already brimming with competitors."

"Provides both a detailed introduction to late antiquity and a direct challenge to conventional views of the end of the Roman empire. Cameron focuses on the changes and continuities in Mediterranean society as a whole before the Arab conquests."

"This book presents a historical study of the Roman Empire in Late Antiquity from the accession of the emperor Diocletian 284 to the death of the emperor Heraclius in 641. A bibliographical survey supports further study and research Includes chronological tables, maps, and charts of important information help to orient the reader."

The standard introduction for non-specialists.

"The Fragments of the Roman Historians is a definitive and comprehensive edition of the fragmentary texts of all the Roman historians whose works are lost. Volume one provides an introduction to each historian, outlining what is known of their life and works. Volume two sets out the critical text with facing English translation, and volume three offers a detailed and up-to-date commentary on each of the historical fragments."

Texts, translations, and notes for the most important late antique sources.

"The first systematic collection of fragmentary Latin historians from the period AD 300-620, this volume provides an edition and translation of, and commentary on, the fragments. It proposes new interpretations of the fragments and of the works from which they derive, whilst also spelling out what the fragments add to our knowledge of Late Antiquity. Integrating the fragmentary material with the texts preserved in full, the volume suggests new ways to understand the development of history writing in the transition from Antiquity to the Middle Ages."