Fundamentals of Engineering Exam
What is the FE Exam?
The Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam is cumulative exam that covers the basics of engineering that all engineers must pass once in their careers. Those that pass the FE exam then register for an engineer-in-training (EIT) certificate. The FE exam must be passed before you can sit for the PE exam. The FE exam is a computer-based exam that consists of 110 questions and it is administered year-round at NCEES-approved Pearson VUE test centers. Be sure to access the NCEES prep materials online, including the handbook you can use on the test. You'll want to become a specialist at using the index!
FE Other Disciplines, FE Electrical & Computer, FE Mechanical
Most Dartmouth students that choose to sit the FE exam will take the FE Other Disciplines exam, which is considered to be the general engineering exam. Some choose the FE Electrical & Computer exam, and others choose FE Mechanical exam. To help you study for your FE exam, Dartmouth Library provides access to several resources:
PPI FE Other Disciplines Review Manual by Publication Date: 2014Includes 15 mini-exams and concise explanations of thousands of equations and hundreds of figures and tables. Topics Covered: Chemistry; Dynamics; Electricity, Power, and Magnetism; Engineering Economics; Ethics and Professional Practice; Fluid Mechanics and Dynamics of Gases and Liquids; Heat, Mass, and Energy Transfer; Instrumentation and Data Acquisition; Materials Science; Mathematics and Advanced Engineering Mathematics; Probability and Statistics; Safety, Health, and Environment Statics; Strength of Materials.
FE Other Disciplines Practice Exam by Call Number: Feldberg Permanent ReservePublication Date: 2020The Other Disciplines Exam is considered to be the general engineering exam, and the exam recommended by Thayer. 98 pages of exam questions and answers. Available at the front desk of Feldberg.
PPI FE Electrical and Computer Review Manual by Publication Date: 2015Topics Covered: Circuit Analysis and Linear Systems; Communications and Signal Processing; Computer Networks and Systems; Control Systems; Digital Systems Electromagnetics; Electronics; Engineering Economics; Engineering Sciences; Ethics and Professional Practice; Mathematics; Power; Probability and Statistics; Properties of Electrical Materials; Software Development.
FE Electrical & Computer Practice Exam by Call Number: Feldberg Permanent ReservePublication Date: 2020107 pages of exam questions and answers. Available at the front desk of Feldberg.
PPI FE Mechanical Review Manual by Publication Date: 2014Topics Covered: Computational Tools; Dynamics, Kinematics, and Vibrations; Electricity and Magnetism; Engineering Economics; Ethics and Professional Practice; Fluid Mechanics; Heat Transfer; Material Properties and Processing; Mathematics; Materials; Measurement, Instrumentation, and Controls; Mechanical Design and Analysis; Mechanics of Materials; Probability and Statistics; Statics; Thermodynamics.
FE Mechanical Practice Exam by Call Number: Feldberg Permanent ReservePublication Date: 2020122 pages of exam questions and answers. Available at the front desk of Feldberg.
FE Exam Review Manuals
Before the FE exam divided to specialized disciplines, it was a broad, general exam. These resources are still relevant for studying for the tests.
PPI FE Review Manual: Rapid Preparation for the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam, 3rd Edition by Publication Date: 2010Topics Covered: Computational Tools; Dynamics, Kinematics, and Vibrations; Electricity and Magnetism; Engineering Economics; Ethics and Professional Practice; Fluid Mechanics; Heat Transfer; Material Properties and Processing; Mathematics Materials; Measurement, Instrumentation, and Controls; Mechanical Design and Analysis; Mechanics of Materials; Probability and Statistics; Statics; Thermodynamics.
PPI FE Review Manual, 3rd Edition by Call Number: TA159 .L5733 2011Publication Date: 2010Topics Covered: Computational Tools; Dynamics, Kinematics, and Vibrations; Electricity and Magnetism; Engineering Economics; Ethics and Professional Practice; Fluid Mechanics; Heat Transfer; Material Properties and Processing; Mathematics; Materials Measurement, Instrumentation, and Controls; Mechanical Design and Analysis; Mechanics of Materials; Probability and Statistics; Statics; Thermodynamics.- PPI FE Review Manual, 3rd Edition by Call Number: Feldberg Permanent ReservePublication Date: 2010Note: This copy is in the Feldberg Permanent Reserve Collection. It is available for 1 week loan. Please request this copy at the Feldberg Front Desk in Murdough.
Other FE Subjects or Related Handbooks
Some subject handbooks include questions written in the style of the FE exam, such as those below. We also have access to some materials for other FE subject exams.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowOn the front page of access engineering select "Exam Prep."
Fundamentals of Engineering FE Civil All-In-One Exam Guide by Publication Date: 2018This highly effective study guide offers 100% coverage of every subject on the FE Civil exam. Includes hands-on exam strategies and accurate practice problems with fully worked solutions. Includes references to the official FE Reference Handbook along with tips on how to utilize that resource during the exam itself.
Schaum's Outline of Fluid Mechanics, Second Edition by Publication Date: 2020Includes FE Exam practice questions in various chapters.
Schaum's Outline of Strength of Materials, Seventh Edition by Publication Date: 2019Includes practice exams and problems designed to mirror the FE exam questions.
Examination Organization Materials
Exams are proctored by NCEES at approved testing sites. The NCEES website provides testing information and testing site information.
- NCEES Prep MaterialsTo access prep materials for free, you must create an account. Free digital versions of all handbooks, which is the only reference for use on the test, are available.
- NCEES Exam Guide: November 2023Be sure to read the exam guide! It outlines what to expect, how many questions cover each topic, and what is allowed in the exam room.
- NH Board of Professional EngineersIncludes testing and certification information