Research Guides: Engineering: Journals

Key Resources

If you are looking for a specific article, a general Dartmouth Library search is a good place to start.

If you are searching for articles on a specific topic, you'll want to search a database that is focused on engineering. The following databases are good starting points for finding engineering journal articles, conference proceedings, and more. The green "Get It" icon will link you to full-text articles.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and more than 3,400 technical standards.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.

Browse Journals

If you are curious about journals published in your field, using BrowZine is a great way to explore titles. Find titles in Engineering & Technology, broken down by dozens of subdisciplines. You can select "Journal Rank"* at the top right to sort by most impactful journals in the field.

*BrowZine uses the SCImago Journal Rank to determine the rank of each journal.

Search for Journals by Title

Exploring Journal Metrics

Discover Top Journals in Your Field, as Indexed by Web of Science

Navigate to Web of Science
Run a search for a Topic or Author, click "Analyze" in the top right of the results screen
Using the drop down, rank the results by "Publication Title"

Top Journals By Impact Factor

Journal Impact Factor is a journal level metric that is an expression of the number of times articles have been cited in the past two years, divided by the number of citeable items in Web of Science (articles and reviews only) over the past two years.

Journal Citation Reports provides access to journal impact factors

CiteScore on Scopus Sources

CiteScore is based on the number of citations to documents (articles, reviews, conference papers, book chapters, and data papers) by a journal over four years, divided by the number of the same document types indexed in Scopus and published in those same four years.

Scopus Sources provides access to journal CiteScores