Subject Guide
Indexes, Bibliographies, and Guides
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowConsists of searchable database of citations (1949-present) to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the fields of religious and theological studies.
- China Academic JournalsFull-text database of Chinese journals. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1979. All items in this database are in Chinese.
- H-BuddhismAn academic online forum for specialists in Buddhist studies.
- Buddhism: A Subject Index to Periodical Articles Written in English, 1728-1971Call Number: Baker-Berry Z7862 . P45 1983
- Digital Catalogue of Chinese BuddhismA catalogue of Chinese-language Buddhist publications from 1860 to 1949.
- Bibliography of Western Language Publications on Chinese Popular Religion (1995 - )Follows the same subject groupings as Thompson's "Chinese religion in Western Languages" (below).
- Chinese Religion in Western Languages ... through 1980
- Wiley-Blackwell Companion to East and Inner Asian Buddhism byOffers a comprehensive and balanced survey of Buddhism within East and Central Asia, from the time of the Buddha through to the present day.
- Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed.)...widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.
- Thesaurus Literaturae BuddhicaeA quadrilingual presentation of Buddhist literature sentence by sentence in Sanskrit, Chinese, Tibetan, English.
- Mahayana Texts Translated into Western Languages: A Bibliographic GuideCall Number: Baker-Berry Z7862 .P45 1983
- Sacred Books of the BuddhistsBaker-Berry BL1410 .S2 v.1-
- Sacred Books of the East (Max Mueller, ed.)Baker-Berry BL1010 .M8 v.1-50
Translated key sacred texts of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, and Islam. Available online. - Pali Text Society Translation SeriesIts main object was to translate and edit Pali manuscripts in order to make the canonical texts and commentaries of Theravada Buddhism available in English.
- BDK English TripiṭakaTexts selected from the Taishō edition of the Chinese Buddhist canon.