FINDING ARTICLES AND MORE
- L'Année philologiqueThis is the main database for Classics, and it covers much more than just journal articles, BUT recent articles are often not yet covered. Go to the following databases to make sure your research is complete.
- Humanities Abstracts
- Web of Science
- Gnomon Online
- Academic Search Complete
- TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
- Project DYABOLAThe main database for classical archaeology.
- Art Full Text
- International Medieval Bibliography
- Philosopher's Index
- Art Index Retrospective
Comments (0)
Specialized Encyclopedias
Especially at the beginning of a research project, looking up a topic in a subject encyclopedia tends to be more effective than starting out with an article search. Entries in these encyclopedias provide a scholarly overview and often contain useful bibliographies for further reading.
- Brill's New PaulyA great starting point. The paper version is also available in Baker/Berry Reference (DE5 .N4813 2002). Includes useful supplements such as an Historical Atlas of the Ancient World and an entire range of volumes dedicated to the Classical Tradition.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD)"A researcher's quick rescuer"
- The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and RomeVery comprehensive. Also in print: Baker Berry Ref. DE5 .O95 2010 v.1 - 7
- Oxford Companion to Classical CivilizationMore concise than the other encyclopedias.
- Oxford Art OnlineThe Grove Art Online is a must for research in classical art and architecture.
Reference Bibliographer |
Contact Info 180 Berry Baker Berry Library Dartmouth College Hanover, NH 03755 tel. (603) 646-0793 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
