Skip to main content

Citation Management

Information about citation management, as well as EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero.

Creating Your Bibliography in PubMed and NCBI

As of May 25, 2015, the NIH implemented a new policy concerning biographical sketch format. One of the several changes involves investigators being encouraged to include a link to their bibliography, as created and maintained in NCBI. 

1. Sign into your PubMed account. 

2. Select "Advanced".

3. Using the drop-down menu, select "Author" and enter your name any way it may appear in a publication. Repeat using "Affiliation" instead of "author". When you're done, click search. (Helpful hint: Make sure to include all possible iterations/spellings of your name and institutions as well their location separated by a capital OR).

4. Place a checkmark next to each publication that belongs to you.

5. Click “Send To” (1), “My Bibliography" (2), "Add to my bibliography"(3) and select the bibliography you would like to save to and click "Save".

 

Helpful Hints:

-- Manually add citations not indexed by PubMed by navigating to your bibliography and clicking "Manage My Bibliography." Click "Add Citation" and select the type of publication you wish to add. 

-- To generate a public URL, select “settings” next to the bibliography you want to share, change sharing to “public” and click save. Once you hit save, a link should appear at the top of the screen.

-- Looking to monitor the search you created? Use the "Create alert" button under the search bar and decide how frequently you would like to be updated on the search results.

More information about NIH's new policy: