Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Internet resource(s)
- Democracy Now!Democracy Now! is a global news program on television and radio. They rely entirely on donations. They are not corporate owned.
- Independent Media CenterThe Independent Media Center is a network of collectively run media outlets for the creation of radical, accurate, and passionate tellings of the truth.
- Alternative Press CenterThe Alternative Press Center (APC) is a non-profit collective dedicated to providing access to and increasing public awareness of the alternative press. They also publish the Alternative Press Index.
What is "Alternative media?"
The Encyclopedia of American Journalism describes "Alternative Press" like this.
"Although the term alternative press is commonly understood to refer to those publications emerging since the early 1960s that have both championed the rights of groups and individuals, and have stood against the excesses of governmental and corporate power, an alternative press has been in service in the United States throughout its history."
["Alternative press." Encyclopedia of American Journalism. 2008, p.13]
In the Library's collections
Introductory reading(s)
Alternative journalism, alternative voices by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415521864Bringing together new and classic work by Tony Harcup, this book considers the development of alternative journalism from the 1970s up until today. Bringing theory and practice together, Harcup builds an understanding of alternative media through the use of detailed case studies and surveys. ...- Annotations: a guide to the independent critical press byCall Number: Baker-Berry Ref. PN 4784 .U53 A565 1999ISBN: 9780965389426Publication Date: 2nd updated ed.
Encyclopedia of social movement media by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780761926887This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theatre, graffiti and dance. ...
Smoking Typewriters by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195319927How did the New Left uprising of the 1960s happen? What caused millions of young people-many of them affluent and college educated-to suddenly decide that American society needed to be completely overhauled? In Smoking Typewriters, historian John McMillian shows that one answer to these questions can be found in the emergence of a dynamic underground press in the 1960s. Following the lead of papers like the Los Angeles Free Press, the East Village Other, and the Berkeley Barb, young people across the country launched hundreds of mimeographed pamphlets and flyers, small press magazines, and underground newspapers. ...
Understanding alternative media by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335222100What are alternative media? What roles do alternative media play in pluralistic, democratic societies? What are the similarities and differences between alternative media, community media, civil society media and rhizomatic media? How do alternative media work in practice? This clear and concise text offers a one-stop guide through the complex political, social and economic debates that surround alternative media and provides a fresh and insightful look at the renewed importance of this form of communication. ...- Utne byCall Number: Electronic journalFor more than 20 years, Utne has functioned as a guide to the alternative and independent press.
Voices of revolution: the dissident press in America by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4888 .U5 S77 2001ISBN: 9780231122498Streitmatter tells the stories of dissident American publications and press movements of the last two centuries, and of the colorful individuals behind them. From publications that fought for the disenfranchised to those that promoted social reform, Voices of Revolution examines the abolitionist and labor press, black power publications of the 1960s, the crusade against the barbarism of lynching, the women's movement, and antiwar journals. ...
Selected book titles
Best altWeekly writing 2009 And 2010 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4798 .B47 2011ISBN: 9780810127371Alternative newsweeklies--from stalwarts such the Village Voice, LA Weekly, and the Chicago Reader to more recent additions like Seattle's The Stranger--have long covered the most provocative stories with some of the country's sharpest writing and reporting. And with the decline of the mainstream media, alternative weeklies now serve as a bulwark against the disappearance of local print coverage. Best AltWeekly Writing 2009 & 2010 showcases articles that won the Association of Alternative Newsweeklies's AltWeekly Awards in 2009 and 2010. ...
Contesting media power: alternative media in a networked world by Call Number: Baker-Berry P 96 .A44 C66 2003ISBN: 9780742523852Contesting Media Power is the most ambitious international collection to date on the worldwide growth of alternative media that are challenging the power concentration in large media corporations. Media scholars and political scientists develop a broad comparative framework for analyzing alternative media in Australia, Chile, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Russia, Sweden, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Topics include independent media centers, gay online networks and alternative web discussion forums, feminist film, political journalism and social networks, indigenous communication, and church-sponsored media. ...
Free press: underground & alternative publications 1965-1975 by Call Number: Baker-Berry Oversize PN 4784 .U53 B52 2006ISBN: 9780789314963Taking its collective name from the wartime "underground press" of Europe's anti-Nazi resistance, the publications examined here were all members of the Underground Press Syndicate (later renamed the Alternative Press Syndicate), founded in 1967 so that member papers could freely share and reprint material. This utopian model resulted in an explosion of alternative publications worldwide as every small start-up had access to the work of soon-to-be famous writers, journalists, artists, and graphic designers. ...
Other library resource(s)
- Underground newspaper collection byCall Number: Library Depository #1123R no. 1 - 147 (1965/66-1973)This is a collection of underground newspapers published around the country from 1965 through 1973.
Independent voices: an open access collection of an alternative press by Call Number: Electronic resourceIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. ...- Alternative media in a time of war: a talk byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #12660David Barsamian talks about alternative media in a time of war.
- Independent media versus the corporate media: a talk byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #12659Amy Goodman, host of the satellite television program and syndicated radio show, "Democracy Now!," discusses the development and current state of corporate media vis-a-vis the exciting rise of media alternatives. Her story is one of persistence, resistance, and hope for breaking through the media monopoly.
