Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
- Shokus Video presents vintage television: current events 1950s style, II byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #8582A compilation of television news programs from the 1950s and 1960s. Includes two episodes of Plymouth news caravan (NBC) with host John Cameron Swayze. You can change the world is a promotional program for the Christophers, a movement that tried to recruit good people into jobs important to society such as education. Jack Benny and other Hollywood stars show their support for the movement. The final program is a tour of the newly renovated White House hosted by Mrs. John F. Kennedy. She discusses the historical elements of the building and furnishings.
Universal newsreels, 1929-1967 by Call Number: Streaming videoIn the age before television, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theater, in the newsreels that were shown with every feature film. These discs cover American and world events from 1929 through 1967.
VNR's . . . video news release by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #6177ISBN: 9781561200252A new approach in television news is for companies or organizations to produce their own press releases on video and then provide these to the various television stations across America. The video news releases or VNRs look like typical television news stories but in reality promote a product, service, or idea. See why and how corporations use VNRs to further their message. Experts in television news react to this new trend. Many examples of video news releases are included in this program.
Apps for News
We have lots of resources for television news, but many news organizations have their own apps. Within those apps, there may be archives of past telecasts. The "60 Minutes" app is a good example of that. They broadcast a story over the air, have the same story archived and have the "Overtime" segment. They also have a historical archive of well known segments. They now have CBSN which is 24/7 airing online.
Selected News Programs
These are links to various broadcast news programs. You can search online for other programs.
- National Public Radio (NPR)
NPR is an independent, nonprofit media organization that was founded on a mission to create a more informed public. Every day, NPR connects with millions of Americans on the air, online, and in person to explore the news, ideas, and what it means to be human. ...
News transcripts
There is no subject heading called "news transcripts." However, a keyword search for "news transcripts" will show you all the links we have in the online catalog. Searching news transcripts can be a more efficient way to find specific news stories. You would have dates rather than having to use keyword searching.
- ABC news transcripts byCall Number: Electronic resourceIncludes transcripts of the followings programs: ABC News Closeup, This Week with David Brinkley, Nightline, Our World, ABC News Specials, 20/20, Viewpoint, The Weekend Report, World News Saturday and Sunday, and World News Tonight, etc.
- Factiva byCall Number: Electronic resourceFactiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, transcripts and media programs.
- Newspaper source plus byCall Number: Electronic resourceProvides cover-to-cover full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.
The database also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. 
Nexis uni by Call Number: Electronic resourceNational & international newspapers, wire services, radio & television transcripts.
News Archives
Meet the Press by Call Number: Streaming videoThis database includes over 1,500 hours of footage for the news program 'Meet the Press.' Programs are dated from 1947 to the present for surviving shows.
Vanderbilt television news archive by Call Number: Electronic resourceDescriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Online videos available for some broadcasts from 1999 to the present.
Note: There may a charge to rent some of the video footage.
TV news from the Internet Archive by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Internet Archive works to preserve the published works of human kind. Inspired by Vanderbilt University’s Television News Archive project, the Internet Archive collects and preserves television news. Like library collections of books and newspapers, this accessible archive of TV news enables anyone to reference and compare statements from this influential medium.
Course description
The history of broadcast and electronic journalism in the United States, from telegraphy to the internet, focusing on the development of and changes to its fundamental relation to the public sphere. We will pursue a contextualized historical understanding of the formats, aesthetics, economics, and industrial organization of these media, in addition to case studies of specific debates, events, and individuals that have conditioned the impact of these media on society. We will invite speakers who have worked in these media industries and/or these histories. Students will be expected to create a digital video project and to write analytical papers, including a research paper.
[Source: Registrar, 05/19/2022]; Dist:SOC; WCult:W
In the Library's collection
While the majority of books on journalism are in the PN 4699 to PN 5650 range (Baker Stack Level 4), Television broadcasting of the news has the specific call number, PN 4784 .T4. Other works can also be found under PN 4888 .T4 or HE 8700.
Also, look at books that cover television news of specific people or events. These are shelved with the event or person rather than Television news.
Use the catalog to make sure you find everything relevant to your topic.
Radio journalism is similar to Television broadcasting of the news in that both are scattered throughout the PN's.
Useful subject headings for the online catalog include:
- blog* AND journalis*This is a keyword search in the online catalog.
- radio journalismThis subject heading is used rather than "radio news."
- news agenciesNews agencies include Associated Press (AP), United Press International (UPI), Reuters Ltd and Telegrafnoe agentstvo SSSR (TASS). You can see what we have by doing a subject search for individual agencies.
- ... press coverageInsert the name of a person or event in front of the heading or see the whole of possibilities.
Introductory reading(s)
Encyclopedia of international media and communications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780123876706Everyone agrees that we're living in the Information Age. How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. ...
Encyclopedia of television by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.18 .E53 2004 v.1-4ISBN: 9781579583941Publication Date: 2nd ed.The Encyclopedia of Television is the first major reference work to provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context. ...
Encyclopedia of television news by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780585056937The Encyclopedia of Television News includes over 300 entries on the people who built broadcast journalism, the programs for which they are best known and concepts and issues evolving from their efforts. [Preface]
Encyclopedia of radio by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781135456481Encyclopedia of Radio includes more than 600 entries covering major countries and regions of the world as well as specific programs and people, networks and organizations, regulation and policies, audience research, and radio's technology. This encyclopedic work will be the first broadly conceived reference source on a medium that is now nearly eighty years old, with essays that provide essential information on the subject as well as comment on the significance of the particular person, organization, or topic being examined.
On the air: the encyclopedia of old-time radio by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. PN 1991.3.U6 D8 1998ISBN: 9780195076783In On the Air, Dunning has completely rethought his classic work, reorganizing the material and doubling its coverage, to provide a richer and more informative account of radio's golden age. Here are some 1,500 radio shows presented in alphabetical order. The great programs of the '30s, '40s, and '50s are all here--Amos 'n' Andy, Fibber McGee and Molly, The Lone Ranger, Major Bowes' Original Amateur Hour, and The March of Time, to name only a few. For each, Dunning provides a complete broadcast history, with the time slot, the network, and the name of the show's advertisers. ...
Swingin' on the ether waves: a chronological history of African Americans in radio and television programming, 1925-1955 by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1991.8 .A35 S36 2005 v. 1 - 2ISBN: 9780810840874This is the first book to fully document the historical contributions of African Americans to broadcasting in the United States from the beginning of commercial broadcasting in 1925 to the age of television in 1955. This work fills a void that has only been marginally covered by previous books on the history of American broadcasting. This work documents the impact of their unique and popular entertainment styles on network radio programming, describes how racial discrimination and prejudice limited the opportunities of African American performers to receive full financial compensation, unlike many others who gained radio and television fame and fortune by emulating them, ...
That's the way it is: a history of television news in America by Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.8 .P66 2015ISBN: 9780226472454When critics decry the current state of our public discourse, one reliably easy target is television news. It's too dumbed-down, they say; it's no longer news but entertainment, celebrity-obsessed and vapid. The critics may be right. But, as Charles L. Ponce de Leon explains in That's the Way It Is, TV news has always walked a fine line between hard news and fluff. The familiar story of decline fails to acknowledge real changes in the media and American news-consuming habits, while also harking back to a golden age that, on closer examination, is revealed to be not so golden after all.
Selected book title(s)
All the news that's fit to sell: how the market transforms information into news by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4888 .T4 H355 2004ISBN: 9780691116808That market forces drive the news is not news. Whether a story appears in print, on television, or on the Internet depends on who is interested, its value to advertisers, the costs of assembling the details, and competitors' products. But in All the News That's Fit to Sell, economist James Hamilton shows just how this happens. Furthermore, many complaints about journalism--media bias, soft news, and pundits as celebrities--arise from the impact of this economic logic on news judgments. ...
Class and news by Call Number: Baker-Berry HN 90 .S6 C563 2004ISBN: 9780742527133News as a cultural product has earned a place in scholarly research over the past several decades, and media scholars and sociologists have successfully looked at news for ideological content and how news may shape an audience's ideas on politics, gender, and race. But how does news influence an audience's ideas about social structure? Class and News is a multidisciplinary collection of essays examining how the news media treats or neglects this structure in everyday reporting. Are certain stories chosen for their appeal to the upper or middle classes? Are stories of interest to lower class readers/viewers avoided? ...
Digital currents: how technology and the public are shaping TV news by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4784 .T34 B58 2014ISBN: 9781442615861Social media has irrevocably changed how people consume the news. With the distinction between professional and citizen journalists blurring like never before, Digital Currentsi illuminates the behind-the-scenes efforts of television newscasters to embrace the public's participation in news and information gathering and protect the integrity of professional journalism.
Mission Al Jazeera: build a bridge, seek the truth, change the world by Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.9 .Q22 R87 2007ISBN: 9781403979056Blending his riveting personal story with innovative ideas about how to win the war on terror, former marine turned Al Jazeera reporter Josh Rushing addresses all the issues he was not allowed to talk about when he was in uniform. If we are to win the war on terror, Rushing explains, we have to interact with the media at home and abroad in order to control the way we are perceived. By refusing to appear on Al Jazeera, Western leaders allow people who disagree with the current administration to represent the West to the Arab world in a skewed, negative way. ...
No time to think: the menace of media speed and the 24-hour news cycle by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4867.2 .R67 2008ISBN: 9780826429315An eviscerating look at the state of journalism in the age of the 24 hour news cycle by a Pulitzer Prize-winning television critic and a veteran news correspondent. No Time To Think focuses on the insidious and increasing portion of the news media that, due to the dangerously extreme speed at which it is produced, is only half thought out, half true, and lazily repeated from anonymous sources interested in selling opinion and wild speculation as news. ...
Primetime politics: the truth about conservative lies, corporate control, and television culture by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.6 .G73 2005ISBN: 9780742521070In this insightful new book, media critic Philip Green explores the true nature of television and the effect this TV addiction has on American democracy. He argues that mainstream shows are little more than extended commercials, dominated by advertising interests and designed to be as habit-forming as possible. Programming is controlled by conglomerates afraid of losing market share or upsetting advertisers, leading to television news, dramas, and sitcoms that uphold conservative values at the expense of controversial opinions. ...
The rise of 24-hour news television: global perspectives by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4784 .T4 .R57 2010ISBN: 9781433107764In the thirty years since CNN launched the first 24-hour television news service, an ever-growing army of dedicated channels has arrived on the scene. This groundbreaking edited collection is the first to explore the genre of rolling television news channels.
Documentaries on television news
Serious looks at television news broadcasts and news gathering.
Changing face of the news mediaCall Number: Jones Media DVD # 5323 & 53242 part series
Technological advances are rapidly redefining the news industry. This program includes two reports on the revolution in print, Internet, broadcast, and cable TV news.
When CNN debuted, a 24/7 TV news channel seemed like a radical idea. Two decades later, the spread of 24-hour news networks has validated the concept while generating intense inter-network competition for audience share and advertising revenue. In this program, prominent news anchors discuss the evolution and future prospects of "news on demand."
Exclusive to al-JazeeraCall Number: Jones Media DVD #5443Documentary that goes behind the scenes at al-Jazeera's broadcast headquarters in Qatar during its nonstop coverage of the 2003 invasion of Iraq. Highlights the Arab-language network's differences from its Western counterparts, but also illustrates similarities between al-Jazeera's media sensibilities and those familiar to most Americans.- News war byCall Number: Jones Media DVD #6918 discs 1 - 2, 4Part 1 Examines the political and legal forces challenging the mainstream news media today and press reactions.
Part 2 Continues with the legal jeopardy faced by a number of reporters across the country, and the complications generated by the war on terror.
Part 3 Network executives, journalists, Wall Street analysts, bloggers, and key players at Google and Yahoo! explain the battle for survival in a rapidly changing world.
Part 4 Focuses on two stories. 
Recorder: the Marion Stokes project by Call Number: Streaming videoMarion Stokes was secretly recording American television 24 hours a day for thirty years. It started in 1979 with the Iranian Hostage Crisis at the dawn of the twenty-four-hour news cycle. It ended on December 14, 2012, while the Sandy Hook massacre played on television as Marion passed away. In between, Marion recorded on 70,000 VHS tapes, capturing revolutions, lies, wars, triumphs, catastrophes, bloopers, talk shows, and commercials that told us who we were, and show how television shaped the world of today.
The News in Context
Whenever you look at a topic historically, you need to know something about the time period. What is a quick way to find information? We have many subject encyclopedias that look at specific time periods in American history. You can use these types of encyclopedias to ground yourself in the happenings of a specific decade. Click here for more possible resources.
Elections A to Z by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. JK 1976 .T37 2012ISBN: 9780872897694Elections A to Z explains how campaigns and elections, the hallmark of any democracy, are conducted in the United States.
Newspapers & Indexes as search tools
Newspapers are a good source for analysis of news programs. Several newspapers have a critic dedication to Television. If you know the critic's name, you can search for their columns. You can also look for "television news programs" and "analysis" to see what you get. If you get a long list, you can use other relavant terms to narrow that search.
The article indexes are good sources for relevant, scholarly works on television news.
- U.S. Newsstream byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database lets you search a collection of current newspapers. Coverage varies from 1980 to the present. You can search a few or all of the newspapers in the collection.
Proquest historical newspapers by Call Number: Electronic resourcesA collection of major regional and ethnic newspapers from their beginning date to a date in the near past. The New York Times goes until 3 years ago, while the Boston Globe only goes to 1989. The Chicago Defender goes from 1905 to 1975.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Film & television literature index by Call Number: Electronic resourceUse this index to find articles about television news.
Web of Science by Call Number: Electronic resourceWeb of Science has some surprising results when searching for "television news" and all articles are scholarly in approach.
The news in popular culture
Search the online catalog to find more videos.
Crónicas = Chronicles by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8841Star anchorman Manolo Bonilla has flown to a small town in Ecuador with producer Marisa and cameraman Ivan on the trail of a child serial killer and rapist. The accidental death of a young boy brings the town to the verge of lynching Vinicio Cepeda, a humble traveling salesman. Manolo's intervention saves the man's life, and makes a great story for his show in Miami. Vinicio is put in jail for involuntary manslaughter and he offers Manolo information about the "Monstruo" in exchange for a news story on TV about his wrongful imprisonment. Manolo accepts, powerfully drawn to the dark side he senses in Vinicio. He begins to break the rules, determined to be the hero who single-handedly stops the killer.
Good night, and good luckCall Number: Jones Media DVD #3233ISBN: 9781419818202Taking place in the 1950's America, during the early days of broadcast journalism, the film chronicles the real-life conflict between television newsman Edward R. Murrow and Senator Joseph McCarthy and the House Un-American Activities Committee. With a desire to report the facts and enlighten the public, Murrow, and his dedicated staff - headed by his producer Fred Friendly and Joe Wershba in the CBS newsroom - defy corporate and sponsorship pressures to examine the lies and scaremongering tactics perpetrated by McCarthy during his communist 'witch-hunts'. ...
Indecision 2004 by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4468ISBN: 9781415705407Comedy Central's hit series, "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart's" coverage of both parties national conventions with satirical commentary.
Mary Tyler Moore ShowCall Number: Jones Media DVDsMary Richards moves to Minneapolis after a relationship goes bad. She finds work as an associate producer in a small television newsroom where the characters include Lou Grant, her gruff boss, Murray Slaughter the humorous writer, and Ted Baxter the Anchor Man who spends his time mispronouncing country names. Mary continues to hope for romance, but finds that her friends are more dependable.
Medium cool by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #2799ISBN: 9780792177418Set in 1968 in Chicago at the time of the Democratic National Convention, this is the story of a TV cameraman and his involvement with the realities of hate and hypocrisy he finds in his filming.
Murphy Brown. The complete first season by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3530 discs 1 - 4ISBN: 9781419803413Murphy Brown is an outspoken TV journalist, who along with her quirky cohorts of the top-rated news magazine show, FYI, struggles to handle personal and professional problems with humor and insight.
Network by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1622ISBN: 0790744805A satirical look at the politics and power struggles of television executives as a network news anchorman turns the tables on the "ratings."
No such thing by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #8117ISBN: 0792852850Beatrice works at a sleazy tabloid TV news show, run by a producer eager for something different. The producer sends her camera crew to Iceland in search of something new and unusual, but the show's crew doesn't survive their first encounter with the local monster, and Beatrice is sent to find out what happened to them. She ends up taking on the reclusive monster and takes him from the remote island and brings him into the media spotlight in New York City.
Internet resource(s)
These are selected resources available through the Web.
- C-SPAN
C-SPAN runs numerous programs on Journalism and Television News, their futures and other topics related to them. - Globalpost
GlobalPost provides original international reporting rooted in integrity, accuracy, independence and powerful storytelling. - HuffPost
At HuffPost, they report with empathy and put people at the heart of every story. They take a people-first approach in everything they report—be it news and politics or lifestyle and entertainment—and they cover real stories about real life. - Many Americans Get News on YouTube, Where News Organizations and Independent Producers Thrive Side by Side from the Pew Research Center
... YouTube also has become an important source of news for many Americans. About a quarter of all U.S. adults (26%) say they get news on YouTube. And while relatively few of these people say it is their primary news source, most say it is an important way they stay informed. ... - Museum of Broadcast Communications
Their mission is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain through their archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications and online access to their resources. - Stanford Cable TV News Analyzer
Their goal is to provide the public with computational tools that enable large-scale, data-driven analysis of the contents of cable TV news. They believe the ability to quantitatively measure who is in the news and what is talked about will increase transparency about editorial decisions, serve as a powerful mechanism to identify forms of bias, and identify trends in an important information source that reaches millions of Americans each day. - Universal Newsreels from the Internet ArchiveIn the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience.
