Journalism

This resource covers 1942 through 1946.

In the age before television, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theater, in the newsreels that were shown with every feature film. These discs cover American and world events from 1929 through 1967.

Videofashion is the world’s premiere fashion video producer and supplier. Videofashion’s archive is a veritable time capsule documenting the art and industry of fashion from 1976 to present day.

Videofashion Collections presented by Videofashion Daily is a front row seat to the creative genius of New York, London, Milan and Paris Fashion Weeks that set the fashion trends for Spring/Summer and Autumn/Winter. Videofashion Collections delivers comprehensive and rapid coverage of each major fashion show, complete with extensive and unparalleled VIP access to, and interviews with: designers, fashion editors, makeup artists, models, fashion luminaries, and celebrities. ...

For the first fifty years of film history, the newsreel was a fixture in American movie theaters. These short segments released twice a week and lasting only about ten minutes, contained a potpourri of news footage representing a unique combination of journalism and entertainment. With the advent of television news programs following World War II, newsreels became obsolete though they did not die immediately. These shorts remain the first instances of moving image photographic journalism and for over five decades proved a unique and influential source of information and misinformation for generations of American moviegoers. ...

Tucked away in a garden on the edge of Paris is a multimedia archive like no other: Albert Kahn's Archives de la Planète (1908-1931). Kahn's vast photo-cinematographic experiment preserved world memory through the privileged lens of everyday life, and Counter-Archive situates this project in its biographic, intellectual, and cinematic contexts. ...

The Lost World of Mitchell and Kenyon contains essays from leading historians covering film history, popular entertainment, the seaside, transport and the social and economic context of Edwardian Britain. Together they provide a vivid commentary on the Peter Worden Mitchell and Kenyon collection of films.

A fascinating look at the United States' conflicted relationship with news and the media, through the lens of the newsreel When weekly newsreels launched in the early twentieth century, they offered the U.S. public the first weekly record of events that symbolized "indisputable evidence" of the news. News Parade examines the history of the newsreel and how it changed the way Americans saw the world. ...

Projected History: A Catalog of the U.S. National Stories Released by Universal Newsreel, Volume I, 1929-1930 is a new book that will interest students of history, film and genealogy. This well-researched landmark work details over 1275 nationally released newsreel titles that covered the first two years of what was known back then as the Universal Newspaper Newsreel. ...

The twentieth century generated tens of thousands of hours of American newsfilm but not the scholarly apparatus necessary to analyze and contextualize them. Assembling new approaches to the study of U.S. newsfilm in cinema and television, this book makes a long overdue critical intervention in the field of film and media studies by addressing the format's inherent intermediality; its mediation of "events" for local, national, and transnational communities; its distinctive archival legacies; and, consequently, its integral place in film and television studies more broadly. ...

Yesterday's News is a collection of over forty contemporary and recent articles on newsreel history, presented chronologically, from the early years of the newsreels in the 1910s to their recent revival as the subject of academic research and a key source for historical documentaries. The book covers the filming of two World Wars, the Spanish Civil War, the rise of television news, and censorship, propaganda and political bias in the news. ...

This compilation of newsreel footage opens with a young Fidel Castro as he assumes power of Cuba in January of 1959 and continues on through the Cuban Missile Crisis of 1962.

The newsreel series Jornal Português (1938-1951) was produced for the Secretariat of National Propaganda (SPN/SNI) by the Portuguese Newsreel Society (SPAC), under the technical supervision of António Lopes Ribeiro. It was conceived and employed as part of the propaganda machinery of Salazar's regime. Screened in cinema theatres prior to the main feature film, each issue of Jornal ran approximately ten minutes in length and covered a variety of official government acts, national political news, major sports events and other assorted social and cultural affairs. ...

Kino-eye is a collection of excerpts from newsreels and documentary films of Soviet life in the early 1920s made by Vertov and his Kino-Eye group. ...

In the age before television, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theater, in the newsreels that were shown with every feature film. This disc covers American and world events from 1949 through 1951. There are 2 additional volumes.

Original newsreel footage from official news agency of Spain, Noticiario Español, or NO-DO, between 1943 and 1981.

For the last 40 years, the photographer Sebastião Salgado has been traveling through the continents in the footsteps of an ever-changing humanity. He has witnessed some of the major events of our recent history: international conflicts, starvation and exodus. He is now embarking on the discovery of pristine territories, of wild fauna and flora, and of grandiose landscapes as part of a huge photographic project which is a tribute to the planet's beauty.