Reference Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website
Photographs & images
-
AP imagesCall Number: Electronic resourceFeatures state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as the best of the international photo report. A second database features the regional European and Asian daily picture reports, along with a selection of their historical photos.
-
For more images, see "Finding Images for Research and Presentations"A Research Guide from the Visual Arts Librarian, Laura Graveline, for finding images of all types.
Selected journal titles for Journalism
-
Columbia journalism review (CJR)
by
Call Number: Electronic journalCJR’s mission is to be the intellectual leader in the rapidly changing world of journalism. It is the most respected voice on press criticism, and it shapes the ideas that make media leaders and journalists smarter about their work. ... -
International Communication Gazette
Call Number: Electronic journalThis journal covers all aspects of international communication including the structures and processes of international communication, the regulatory regimes in the field of international communication, the interaction between international and national flows of communication and the complexities of intercultural communication across national borders. -
International journal of communication
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe International Journal of Communication is an interdisciplinary journal that, while centered in communication, is open and welcoming to contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that meet at the crossroads that is communication study. -
Journalism & mass communication quarterly
Call Number: Electronic journalThe journal serves all the divisions and interest groups of AEJMC and publishes original articles and book reviews on topics including but not limited to theoretical and methodological developments in journalism and mass communication, international communication, media technologies and society, advertising, public relations, journalism history, media law and policy, media management and economics, political communication and health communication. -
Nieman reports byCall Number: Electronic journalFounded in 1947, Nieman Reports is a website and quarterly publication covering thought leadership in journalism. Its editorial mission mirrors that of the Foundation itself: “to promote and elevate the standards of journalism.” ...
-
Quill
by
Call Number: Electronic journalFor more than 90 years, Quill has been a respected and sought-after resource for journalists, industry leaders, students and educators on issues central to journalism. -
The revealer: a daily review of religtion and the press
by
Call Number: Electronic magazineThe Revealer is an award-winning online magazine that explores religion and its many roles in society and people’s lives. Published ten times a year, The Revealer takes seriously how religion shapes, and is shaped by, race, sexuality, gender, politics, history, and culture. ...
Article indexes for Journalism
-
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC)
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media. -
MLA international bibliography
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceMLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. -
Performing arts periodicals database
Call Number: Electronic resourcePerforming Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
General article indexes
-
Academic search complete
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject. -
The web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Other library resource(s)
-
Vanderbilt television news archive
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceDescriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Online videos available for some broadcasts from 1999 to the present.
Note: There may a charge to rent some of the video footage. -
BBC monitoring: international reports
Call Number: Electronic resourceAn extremely valuable research tool for anyone who needs to monitor non-U.S. media sources, the material in WNC is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). -
Around the World in 72 Days: the Audacious Adventures of Nelly Bly
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #4237ISBN: 9781593754792On January 25, 1890, the world waited for a young reporter named Nellie Bly to arrive back home. For 72 days, newspaper readers followed her progress in one of the most highly publicized journeys of all times.
Keeping up with the journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature in Journalism? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's you can download and read the articles you want.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.