Genealogy: Indexes to Names

The original set edited by Fremont Rider. Partially superseded by The American Genealogical-Biographical Index to American Genealogical, Biographical, and Local History Materials. It is essential to consult the "Key Title Index" [yellow pages] in volume 26 to identify the sources.

Originally edited by the late noted librarian/author Fremont Rider, this monumental series is invaluable to anyone seriously pursuing family history research. Among its many attributes is the inclusion of over two million names from the pre-nineteenth-century newspaper Boston Evening Transcript and names of all Revolutionary War soldiers in one consolidated index. As of 2004 this series is complete in 206 volumes. There are also 20 supplemental volumes. In order to identify the sources listed after each family name, it is necessary to consult the "Consolidated Key Title Indexes" which are separate volumes. Once a particular source is identified, the next step is to check the title in the Online Library Catalog to see if it is owned by the Dartmouth College Library. Many of these sources, especially the family histories, are not available in the Library and must be obtained from through Inter-Library Loan (ILL) or used at other libraries.

These [microfilms] in some part are an answer to those who state that the history of black people has been destroyed, lost, ignored, or for some other reason, is not available. They are proof that a tremendous amount of information is accessible to those who wish to spend the exciting, not wearying, time in the search. It is hoped that these [microfilms] will ... delineate more clearly the characters of many known and unknown 19th and early 20th century black people and the enterprises with which they were involved. [Preface].

Over 125,000 family names are mentioned in this compilation of American colonial families.

Commonly known as the Newberry Index, this compilation is the work of the staff of Chicago's Newberry Library, one of the largest and most respected genealogical libraries in the country. The index is a detailed listing of over 500,000 surnames that were identified in various genealogical periodicals and local histories.

Volume 67 in a series offering genealogists and family-history researchers an indexed source of German-surname immigrants. The entire project covers the period 1850-1893. The data is based upon original passenger lists filed by vessels entering US ports.

Each volume in this series contains transcriptions of passenger lists containing German surnames for ships entering all US ports beginning in 1843. Lists are arranged by date of ship arrival and are indexed by passenger names. This volume covers the period from July 1843 to December 1845.

Compiled by William Prescott Greenlaw, librarian of the Society from 1894-1929, this useful reference source contains over 35,000 entries by family name.

Munsell's Genealogical Index is the "standard reference work for locating unknown family histories, i.e., those not catalogued in any library because they are mentioned in books and periodicals." [See Filby, page 13]. A reprint of the fifth edition, 1900, with Supplement, 1900 to 1908.

Approximately 300 state and local histories have been analyzed by the staff of the Local History and Genealogy Room of the United States Library of Congress. The result is a list of nearly 170,000 surnames arranged alphabetically.

Except for the brief period from March 1803 to March 1806, no official registers of passengers leaving Irish ports were ever kept. The exception refers to lists contained in the so-called Hardwicke Papers, now located in the British Library, London. Altogether, some 4,500 passengers are identified in the 109 sailings recorded in the Hardwicke Papers--most cited with their all-important place of residence. ...

Transcriptions of passenger lists containing Italian surnames for ships entering all U.S. ports beginning in 1880. Arranged by ship date and indexed by passenger names.

The CD-ROM includes the 7 volume set of Dictionnaire Genealogique des Families Canadiennes Depuis la Fondation de la Colonie Jusqu'a Nos Jours. "It covers the period of 1608 to 1763 ... Monumental and definitive work ... but use with care because of errors." [See Filby, page 411]. Description based on print edition.

Even though this massive set includes only a small percentage of the total immigrants arriving in North America, this is still a necessary source to check for that elusive immigrant ancestor.

Over one million passengers are listed with their age and date and place of arrivals. It is important to remember that these names are derived from published records; thus representing a small but still significant fraction of the twenty million immigrants to North America.

This book lists 37,000 marriages in New England between 1620 and 1700. The information was compiled from 2,000 printed books and manuscripts.