I need to find primary records & documents
Primary source materials include such resources as vital records [births, marriages, and death], abstracts of wills, court records, town records, city directories, church [parish] registers, land deeds, military lists, and family folklore. Many of these collections include detailed indexes that often contain family surnames.
- Annual report of the town officers byCall Number: Baker-Berry JS 13 .T5 1878-The Library maintains a good collection of "town reports" from Vermont and New Hampshire.
- A Celebration of American family folklore: tales and traditions from the Smithsonian collection byCall Number: Baker-Berry GR 105 .C34 1982ISBN: 9780394712239This is a marvelously delightful and informative compilation of original family stories, expressions, and traditions -- all forms of family folklore.
- Domesday book: a survey of the counties of England "Liber de Wintonia" compiled by direction of King William I byCall Number: Baker-Berry DA 190 .D7 M67 v. 1 - 8; 9, pt.1-2; 10-29; 30, pt.1-2; 31, pt.1-2; 32; 33, pt.1-2; 34,When Duke William of Normandy conquered England and became king, he sent his commissioners throughout the countryside surveying what land he had and who held it. Because these surveys were the final register of land ownership, they became known as the Domesday Book -- analygous to the final Day of Judgment. This is a remarkable statistical record of English society in the eleventh-century. Volume 37 is an Index of Persons. In English and Latin.
- List of pensioners on the roll January 1, 1883; giving the names of each pensioner, the cause for which pensioned, the post-office address, the rate of pension per month, and the date of original allowance, as called for by Senate resolution of December 8 byCall Number: Baker-Berry E 494 .U55 1883 v. 1 - 5300,000 Army and Navy pensioners of the War of 1812 and the Civil War are listed.
- State papers of Vermont byCall Number: Library Depository H843 V592seCharters granted, general petitions dealing with land claims, New York land patents, and sequestration of estates are a few of the unusual primary sources included in this important collection. Personal names are found in the indexes.
There are many volumes and indexes under separate titles in this set. - Vital records of New Bedford, Massachusetts to the year 1850... byCall Number: Baker-Berry F 74.N5 N45 v. 1 - 3This collection is one of a large series published by the New England Historic Genealogical Society providing the vital records of the towns of Massachusetts. Each town is located under a different call number in Baker/Berry Stacks. For a list of other towns in the catalog, see the title Vital records of the Towns of Massachusetts.
- [Provincial and state papers] byCall Number: Baker-Berry F 31 .N42 v. 1 - 40 (1867 - 1943)Commonly known as the New Hampshire State and Provincial Papers, this invaluable collection for New Hampshire historical research contains a wide variety of primary sources. Each volume has its own index that includes family names.
See the entire record for more information on the volumes in the collection.
I need to find city directories
City directories offer the family historian an opportunity to locate an ancestor at a specific time, in a specific place. The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy provides an interesting discussion of the usefulness of city directories in genealogical research.
Other city directories available in the Jones Media Center:
- [Manchester, N.H. city directory : 1844-1860]Call Number: Library Depository 498f
- [Manchester, N.H. city directory : 1861-1935]Call Number: Library Depository 4309r
Acknowledgement
(Text and resources taken from the print edition of: Jaccaud, Robert D, comp. Passages to Family History: A Guide to Genealogical Research in the Dartmouth College Library. Rev. ed. Hanover: Dartmouth College Library, 1994).