Genealogy: Key Genealogical Sources

This web site offers online newsletters, access to databases, and other resources.

This monumental collection is an absolute must for all serious family historians. Originally edited by the late noted librarian/author Fremont Rider, this monumental series is invaluable to anyone seriously pursuing family history research. Among its many attributes is the inclusion of over two million names from the pre-nineteenth century newspaper Boston Evening Transcript and and names of all Revolutionary War soldiers in one consolidated index. As of 2004, this series is complete in 206 volumes. There are also 20 supplemental volumes. In order to identify the sources listed after each family name, it is necessary to consult the "Consolidated Key Title Indexes" which are separate volumes. Once a particular source is identified, the next step is to check the title in the Online Library Catalog to see if it is owned by the Dartmouth College Library. Many of these sources, especially the family histories, are not available in the Library and must be obtained from through Inter-Library Loan (ILL) or used at other libraries.

The original set edited by Fremont Rider. Partially superseded by The American Genealogical-Biographical Index to American Genealogical, Biographical, and Local History Materials. It is essential to consult the "Key Title Index" [yellow pages] in volume 26 to identify the sources.

If there are New England roots in the family tree, then Savage must be examined. Includes A Genealogical Cross Index compiled by O. P. Dexter.

Looking for an Upper Valley ancestor? This could be the answer! Gilman Dubois Frost (1864-1942), Dartmouth class of 1886 and physician/professor at his alma mater for nearly fifty years, was also an avid genealogist who collected genealogical data for all Hanover families from its founding to the early 1900's and many families from surrounding communities. Dr. Frost's correspondence regarding genealogical queries and his notes dealing with his research on the genealogy of Hanover families are also included. For two very informative articles about Dr. Frost and his collection, please see the Dartmouth College Library Bulletin 8 (NS), no. 1 (Nov. 1967).

Has the family history already been published? This multi-volume set, containing over 50,000 titles and arranged by family surname, is an invaluable source for identifying published family histories that are deposited, for the most part, in America's national library and other major genealogical libraries. "Many of the books of a genealogical nature described in [these volumes] are not published widely; therefore, it may be necessary to make a visit to the Library of Congress if copies cannot be located locally." [Genealogies Cataloge..., p.II]

Is there a New England ancestor? If so, this index is an invaluable reference tool. Compiled by William Prescott Greenlaw, librarian of the Society from 1894-1929, this useful reference source contains over 35,000 entries by family name.

This excellent collection provides references to biographical information for 170,000 families. Approximately 300 state and local histories have been analyzed by the staff of the Local History and Genealogy Room of the United States Library of Congress. The result is a list of nearly 170,000 surnames arranged alphabetically.

The genealogist/family historian cannot do serious research without consulting this superb series. "The oldest continuing American genealogical periodical in existence. Authoritative and respected." [See Filby, page 93]. Includes a three-volume Index of Persons. ESSENTIAL for New England historical research.

Even though this massive set includes only a small percentage of the total immigrants arriving in North America, this is still a necessary source to check for that elusive immigrant ancestor.

Over one million passengers are listed with their age and date and place of arrivals. It is important to remember that these names are derived from published records; thus representing a small but still significant fraction of the twenty million immigrants to North America.

For the first time the United States census schedules include information about the immigrant ancestor.