Maps for Genealogical Research
The Evans Map Room of the Dartmouth College Library, located in Berry Library on the 2nd level next to the Jones Media Center contains over 190,000 maps, 1,000 atlases, and 15 globes. Among its many resources are many historical atlases, gazetteers, and sheet maps of places throughout the world with special emphasis upon New Hampshire, Vermont, and communities in the Upper Connecticut River Valley.
-
Map guide to American migration routes, 1735-1815
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry E 179.5 .D65 1997ISBN: 9781877677748An atlas which shows the various routes of expansion for the United States. -
Using maps in genealogy: a fact sheet byCall Number: Online resourceThis is a fact sheet from the U.S. Geological Survey. It talks about getting started, what maps are right for genealogical research and where to find the right maps.
-
Walking with your ancestors: a genealogist's guide to using maps and geography
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry CS 49 .K37 2005ISBN: 9781558707306This book outlines how you can use maps of all types in your genealogical research.
Maps published in a specific year a genealogist has interest in is worth its weight in gold. The Evans Map Room has maps drawn at various time periods in United States history.
However, we also have software which allows a user to create a historical county map of any of the contiguous states. You can pick a year and see a map of the state as it looked during that year. This is particular helpful because counties changed their boundaries and their names. You can also plot cities and towns to make their importance more relevant to readers of your genealogies.
-
AniMap 3.0 with SiteFinder U.S. place name database
by
Call Number: Evans Map Room CD-ROM G 1201 .A1 E88 2008This software displays maps showing all the changing county boundaries in the 48 adjacent states for every year from colonial times to the present. It includes searchable databases with over 800,000 locations including cities, towns, churches, schools, cemeteries, courthouses, and historical sites. New overlays show rivers & streams, railroads, and township/range grids for the public land states. The latitude longitude readout can be displayed as traditional degrees/minutes or as decimal degrees to conform with most GPS output.
You can only use the software in the Evans Map Room or purchase a copy of it for your own personal use from Goldbug. -
SiteFinder
Call Number: Online resourceA version of SiteFinder is now available online. You can search for specific types of sites such as cemetaries or schools and plot those sites on a Google Earth map.
-
Atlas of Cheshire County, New Hampshire, from recent and actual surveys byCall Number: Evans Map Room Special G 1223 .C5 R63 1877
-
Atlas of Strafford county, New Hampshire, from actual surveys, drawn and published byCall Number: Evans Map Room Special G 1223 .S8 S33 1871
-
The Old maps of Carroll County, New Hampshire, in 1892 byCall Number: Rauner - White Mountains G 3473 .C3 1892 .O4This set contains 38 maps reproduced from Town and City Atlas of the State of New Hampshire published by D.H. Hurd & Company of Boston in 1892.
-
Town and city atlas of the State of New Hampshire: compiled from government surveys, county records and personal investigations byCall Number: Evans Map Room Special G 1224 .A1 D54 1892
Atlases produced by Frederick W. Beers are famous for their detailed local history information. All of the Vermont counties, as well as other states, were mapped by Mr. Beers, et. al.
-
-
-
-
-
Atlas of Franklin and Grand Isle counties, Vermont byCall Number: Evans Map Room Special G 1228 .F7 B4 1871
-
Atlas of the counties of Lamoille and Orleans, Vermont byCall Number: Evans Map Room Special G 1228 .L3 B4 1878
-
-
Atlas of Rutland Co., Vermont: from actual surveys byCall Number: Evans Map Room Special G 1228 .R9 B4 1869
-
-
-
-
Fire insurance maps: their history and applications
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry Evans Map Room HG 9771 .O89 1997ISBN: 9780965969802A short history of fire insurance maps in the United States. -
Union list of Sanborn fire insurance maps held by institutions in the United States and Canada byCall Number: Baker-Berry Evans Map Room Z 6026 .I7 H63 v. 1 - 2This 2 volume union list contains the names of every city and town which the Sanborn Company mapped and in whose collections the maps reside.
-
Catalogue of insurance maps published by Sanborn Map Company, 1950 byCall Number: Evans Map Room Z 6026 .I7 S2
-
Insurance maps for the cities and towns in New Hampshire byCall Number: Electronic resourceThe primary object of the Sanborn Map is to picture buildings to scale in such a manner that the user can envisage all of the physical characteristics and occupancies of the buildings. [Catalogue of Insurance Maps, page 3A, Evans Map Room Ref. Z 6026 .I7 S2]. This digital collection showcases most of the Sanborn maps available for New Hampshire.
-
Sanborn fire insurance maps. Vermont, 1867-1950 byCall Number: Library Depository #4499rReel 1. Bethel. Bradford. (2 pts.) -- Reel 2. Chester. Fairlee. Hartland. (3 pts.) -- Reel 3. Ludlow -- Reel 4. Randolph. Rochester (2 pts.) -- Reel 5. South Royalton. Springfield. Wells River. West Randolph. White River Junction. Windsor. Woodstock (7 pts.)
Acknowledgement
(Text and resources taken from the print edition of: Jaccaud, Robert D, comp. Passages to Family History: A Guide to Genealogical Research in the Dartmouth College Library. Rev. ed. Hanover: Dartmouth College Library, 1994).