Internet resource(s)
- BFI ScreenonlineThe subtitle to this resource is The Definitive Guide to Britain's Film and TV History.
- The Interviews: An Oral History of Television from the Television Academy Foundation
Inspired by the Shoah Visual History Foundation's interviews, television executive Dean Valentine sought to adapt Shoah's model to create an oral history of television -- a video collection of first-person interviews with those involved in the birth and growth of the American television industry. In 1996 Valentine brought the idea to then-Television Academy president Richard Frank and Foundation chairman Thomas W. Sarnoff, who immediately saw the value of such a project. In 1997, the Television Academy Foundation officially launched the Archive of American Television to capture the stories behind the making of television and preserve them for future generations. In 2017, the Archive was renamed The Interviews: An Oral History of Television. In that time, they've amassed nearly 900 oral history interviews (approximately 4,000 hours) with the legends of television. The Interviews continues to produce new interviews every year, and covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history and American culture. These primary-source oral histories are conducted in a life-history format, starting with the subject's early years and influences. The conversation then moves into their major television work, and concludes with the subject's thoughts about his or her craft, as well as advice to aspiring professionals. The interviews are presented uncut and unscripted. They are never edited for content, but in rare cases an interviewee may request to amend their own words for the historical record. - Museum of Broadcast Communications
Their mission is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain through their archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications and online access to their resources. - Museum of the Moving ImageMuseum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media.
The site includes the Pinewood Dialogues and a short Research Guide. - National Association of BroadcastersThe NAB is a full-service trade association which represents the interests of free, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters.
- Online TV DatabaseTheTVDB.com is a community driven database of television shows. It is their aim to be the most complete and accurate source of information on TV series from many countries.
- The Paley Center for MediaThe Paley Center for Media, with locations in New York and Los Angeles, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public. Formerly the Museum of Television and Radio and Museum of Broadcasting.
- Aca-Media - Talking Television from (SCMS & JCMS)A podcast from the Society for Cinema and Media Studies and its journal about teaching television studies during global upheavals such as pandemics and social unrest.
- TV DictionaryThese are blog posts from the Critical Studies in Television journal site. The TV Dictionary is a collaborative collection of videos premised on a simple prompt: each video attempts to capture the essence of a television series using a single word, by juxtaposing the dictionary definition(s) of that word with a clip or several clips from the series. ...
- TV BureauTVB is the not-for-profit trade association representing America’s local broadcast television industry. They also have a variety of statistics about television viewing updated regularly.
- TV|LineTVLine helps TV enthusiasts cut through all the clutter and find a happy place where you will want to read most every post.
Internet resources for older programs
- Classic TV DatabaseThis database includes TV listings by decades and yearly line-up schedules. Although they only list 4 shows for the 1950's, this could be a valuable resource.
- FiftiesWebScroll down this page and see a list of 1950's shows. There are short descriptions, cast information, theme song lyrics and more. Also see the Pop History link. You get a list of happenings for each year in the Fifties.
- MeTV"Me-TV features a wide range of classic television programming, some of the best programming written for television, that audiences and advertisers find comfortable and engaging."
- Retro TVA television network that specializes in showing classic television shows from 1950's to the early 1990's.
- THiS TVTHiS TV is a free premium channel that brings you award winning films, box office hits, cult classics, retro TV series and all your favorite Hollywood stars!
Internet resources for shows
Besides the sites listed below, don't forget to look at various channels' web sites. More channels are re-broadcasting episodes on their web sites the day after that episode airs on television.
- TVShowPilot
TVShowPilot.com allows you to find everything from the latest news on all your favorite TV series and show reviews to informative articles on new shows, other fun posts about various different TV series, and their characters, and even the occasional interview with actors and show creators.