Research Guides: Television Studies: Journals & magazines about television

Introduction

This page highlights several indexes which cover Television and journals that also cover the subject. You can also find articles using the search box at the top of the page.

Article indexes for television

Film & television literature index by EBSCO Publishing
Call Number: Electronic resource

This index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of television, and articles of popular interest about television.
Film literature index by Film and Television Documentation Center; Indiana University
Call Number: Electronic resource

The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
Cinema and media studies from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Various authors
Call Number: Electronic resource

ISBN: 9780199791286

Cinema and media studies includes an array of subfields: film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. ...
Communication from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Various authors
Call Number: Electronic resource

ISBN: 9780199756841

The study of communication is a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. The extensive nature of communication means that efforts to study it span multiple epistemologies and methodologies. Also, given the changing media landscape, scholars and professionals must constantly consider new content, technologies, processes and effects, and theories of communication. The overlapping domains of communication make it challenging to stay informed about every applicable area.
Communication & mass media complete (CMMC) by Ebsco
Call Number: Electronic resource

This is the main article index for the field of Communications and Mass Media.
The web of science citation databases by ISI (Institute for Scientific Information)
Call Number: Electronic resource

The online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.

Short list of journals

Broadcasting & Cable
This title search not only gives you the journal Broadcasting & Cable but also television industry profiles from different countries.
Critical studies in television: the international journal of television studies by SAGE
Call Number: Electronic journal

Critical Studies in Television publishes articles that draw together divergent disciplines and different ways of thinking, to promote and advance television as a distinct academic discipline. It welcomes contributions on any aspect of television—production studies and institutional histories, audience and reception studies, theoretical approaches, conceptual paradigms and pedagogical questions. ...
Film quarterly by University of California Press
Call Number: Electronic journal

Film Quarterly publishes substantial, peer-reviewed writing on cinema and media.
Flow by the University of Texas, Austin. Department of Radio, Television, Film
Call Number: Electronic journal

Flow is an online journal of television and media studies. Flow‘s mission is to provide a critical forum where scholars, teachers, students, and the general public can read about and discuss the changing landscape of contemporary media at the speed that media moves.
Journal of e-media studies by Dept. of Film & Media Studies, Dartmouth College
Call Number: Electronic journal

The Journal of e-Media Studies is a blind peer-reviewed, on-line journal dedicated to the scholarly study of the history and theory of electronic media, especially Television and New Media.
Journal of popular film & television by Bowling Green State University
Call Number: Electronic journal

The primary purpose of the Journal of Popular Film and Television is to provide a representative cross section of critical-cultural perspectives and to broaden the existing literature to include the “public visions” of popular filmmakers and television showrunners, economic and industrial factors, and an emphasis on the complex role of audiences in the development of film and television as art forms and wide-reaching socio-cultural forces.
New review of film and television studies by Taylor & Francis
Call Number: Electronic journal

New Review of Film and Television Studies publishes peer-reviewed research on the theory, history, aesthetics, and politics of expressive screen culture. NRFTS welcomes articles on digital, sound, video, and web-based media.
Spactator (Los Angeles, Calif.) by USC Cinema and Media Arts
Call Number: Electronic journal

Spectator is the school's premier journal for film and television criticism. This internationally distinguished journal carries insightful articles and research findings by Cinema & Media Studies students on a broad range of topics. ...
Television & new media by SAGE Publishing
Call Number: Electronic journal

Television & New Media (TVNM), explores the fields of television and new media studies as they focus on the historical, ethnographic, political-economic, technological, and textual dimensions of media in social contexts.
Televizion by Internationales Zentralinstitut für das Jugend- und Bildungsfernsehen (IZI)
Call Number: Electronic journal

The IZI wants to contribute to the understanding of the cultural meaning of television for children and young people and of the ways that television is embedded in the children's and young people's lives. In addition to that the IZI aims at contributing to the discussion of broadcasters' public service task and its current realisation as well as the social responsibility of the media in general. They also publish an annual English language edition.
The Velvet Light Trap
Call Number: Electronic journal

The Velvet Light Trap (VLT) is a journal devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media. While VLT maintains its traditional commitment to the study of American film, it also expands its scope to television and other media, to adjacent institutions, and to other nations' media.

Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature

Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.

You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.

Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.