Keeping up with Television Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Television Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's now available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
The readings are from the Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.
Inspired by the Shoah Visual History Foundation's interviews, television executive Dean Valentine sought to adapt Shoah's model to create an oral history of television -- a video collection of first-person interviews with those involved in the birth and growth of the American television industry. In 1996 Valentine brought the idea to then-Television Academy president Richard Frank and Foundation chairman Thomas W. Sarnoff, who immediately saw the value of such a project. In 1997, the Television Academy Foundation officially launched the Archive of American Television to capture the stories behind the making of television and preserve them for future generations. In 2017, the Archive was renamed The Interviews: An Oral History of Television. In that time, they've amassed nearly 900 oral history interviews (approximately 4,000 hours) with the legends of television. The Interviews continues to produce new interviews every year, and covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history and American culture. These primary-source oral histories are conducted in a life-history format, starting with the subject's early years and influences. The conversation then moves into their major television work, and concludes with the subject's thoughts about his or her craft, as well as advice to aspiring professionals. The interviews are presented uncut and unscripted. They are never edited for content, but in rare cases an interviewee may request to amend their own words for the historical record.
Their mission is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain through their archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications and online access to their resources.
Museum of the Moving Image advances the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media.
The site includes the Pinewood Dialogues and a short Research Guide.
Table of Contents: Season one: an expensive experiment -- Season two: ratings and relevance -- Season three: from Brian's song to the night stalker-something for everyone -- Season four: feeding the beast twice a week -- Season five: every night of the week: TV movie saturation -- Season six: diminishing returns -- Epilogue -- Appendix I- A chronological list of the movie of the week -- Appendix II- An alphabetical filmography -- Appendix III- List of movie of the week pilot films -- Appendix IV- A comment on available sources.
This is an encyclopedic listing of all the special animated television presentations aired on the various networks or syndicated extensively in the United States, from the first in 1962 through the 1986-1987 season.
This reference work is an authoritative chronicle of prime time television programming on 20 major cable networks: A&E, ABC Family, AMC, BET, Bravo, Comedy Central, The Disney Channel, FX, GSN, HBO, Lifetime, MTV, Nickelodeon, Oxygen, Showtime, Spike, TBS, TNT, USA and VH1. These 20 represent the mass-oriented cable networks that have been most involved in airing original programming. ...
The Encyclopedia of Television is the first major reference work to provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context.
This is the must-have book for TV viewers in the new millennium ; the entire history of prime-time programs in one convenient volume. It's a guide you'll turn to again and again for information on every series ever telecast. There are entries for all the great shows, from evergreens like I Love Lucy,The Honeymooners, and Happy Days, to modern classics like Will & Grace, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Friends; all the gripping sci-fi series, from Captain Video and The X-Files to all versions of Star Trek; the popular serials, from Peyton Place to Dallas to Dawson's Creek; and ...
A reference of American 20th-century television and a celebration of the medium. It provides a historical guide to the programmes, personalities and practices of network television from its early days to the end of the century. From game shows to the nightly news, from sitcoms to serious dramas and everything in between, more than 1000 entries provide story synopses, biographies, production histories, air dates, and more.
The Encyclopedia of Television is the first major reference work to provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context. ...
Before the Internet and the rise of scholarship on popular culture, Vincent Terrace built his reputation as one of the leading researchers in television reference. This work represents decades of research and spans the entire history of television. While documentation regarding cast and personnel is now often found online, descriptions of the shows from authoritative sources are still not widely available. Terrace fills that gap with this work, which covers more than 9,350 shows (including pilots!) and constitutes the most comprehensive documentation of television series ever published. All the traditional genres are here along with show genres not well covered elsewhere-including children's programming, talk and advice shows, game shows, opera, stage plays, women's programming, dance, documentary television, and more.
Television historian Alvin H. Marill has compiled a comprehensive listing of every film made for television since the first was broadcast in 1964. Each entry cites the film's original network, airdate, length of broadcast, extensive production credits (director, writer, producer, composer, director of photography, and editor), and a complete cast (and character) listing, as well as a brief summary. Five volumes including complete actor and director indexes.
This enormous, oversize, three-volume reference of performers' television credits (United States) is for serious researchers and writers who cannot afford not to have the most complete information available anywhere. The data begins in 1948, with the advent of serious network television broadcasting, and go through May 31, 2000, the end of the 1999-2000 TV season. Death information is included up to the end of 2000. Included are persons appearing on dramatic and comedy programs, made-for-TV movies and miniseries, game and quiz shows, performance-oriented talk shows and variety shows. ...