Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
-
Outfoxed Rupert Murdoch's war on journalismCall Number: Jones Media DVD #2255This documentary contends that the Rupert Murdoch-owned Fox News Channel (FNC) has a strong conservative bias in its news reporting practices. Includes interviews with former Fox News employees: anchors, analysts, producers, public relation specialists, and segment graphic designers; examines some of the inter-office memos these former employees provide. Also includes many clips from Fox News broadcasts.
-
William S. Paley: the eye of CBSCall Number: Jones Media video tape #5232The life and career of CBS broadcasting founder William S. Paley.
-
Introduction
Each network has its own place in television broadcasting. To make finding works about networks a little easier, each box contains works about a different broadcasting company. There is also a link to lead you to more books in the online catalog, if more are available. Don't forget about the networks' own websites.
Worldcat is also available for more searching. To search the online catalog, you can use the following subject heading:
-
television broadcastingYou can add the name of a specific country to focus your search.
General interest title(s)
-
Branding television
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.8 .H56 2012ISBN: 9780415548434Branding Television examines why and how the UK and US television industries have turned towards branding as a strategy in response to the rise of satellite, cable and digital television, and new media, such as the internet and mobile phone. This is the first book to offer a sustained critical analysis of this new cultural development. Branding Television examines the industrial, regulatory and technological changes since the 1980s in the UK and the USA that have led to the adoption of branding as broadcasters have attempted to manage the behaviour of viewers and the values associated with their channels, services and programmes in a world of increased choice and interactivity. ...
ABC - American Broadcasting Company
Find more titles for ABC in the library's collections.
-
Beating the odds: the untold story behind the rise of ABC: the stars, struggles, and egos that transformed network television by the man who made it happen
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.8 .G63 1991ISBN: 9780684190556 -
Papers, 1941-1971 byCall Number: Rauner Library ManuscriptsPapers of the journalist and foreign correspondent, John M. Mecklin. Includes material dating from his association with United Air Lines, The Chicago Sun, American Broadcasting Company, and CBS Television Network and his work as a journalist covering the events of World War II and the Vietnam War.
CBC - Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Find more titles in the library's collections.
-
Turn up the contrast: CBC television since 1952
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.65 .M55 1987ISBN: 9780774802789From Shakespeare to cop shows, sitcoms to docudramas, for over three decades the CBC has presented viewers with every variety of television drama and has become Canada's closest equivalent to a national theatre. Turn Up the Contrast is the first book to explore the content of Canadian television drama and is both a critical analysis and a survey history of how Canadians have used the medium to tell themselves their own stories. ...
CBS - Columbia Broadcasting System
Find more titles in the library's collections.
-
Fighting for the First Amendment: Stanton of CBS vs. Congress and the Nixon White House
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4888 .P6 D86 1997ISBN: 9780275960278Here is an inside look at how a Congressional Committee, supported by the Nixon White House, sought to establish control over broadcast news by investigating editorial news judgment. Frank Stanton, legendary President of CBS, refused to produce outtakes from the award-winning documentary, The Selling of the Pentagon, subpoenaed by the Committee in an attempt to condemn the program and CBS. The Committee voted to hold Stanton and CBS in contempt, and the House of Representatives held a full debate on its power to investigate and control broadcast news. ... -
The king of cash: the inside story of Laurence A. Tisch and how he bought CBS
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 102.5 .T56 W56 1995ISBN: 9780471549239His net worth is more than $1 billion. His corporate assets total more than $40 billion and generate almost $14 billion in annual revenue. His thrift in the name of cash flow is legendary. He is often compared to Warren Buffett because of his knack for turning struggling companies into hugely profitable ones. He is Larry Tisch, Chairman of CBS. Written by a former Wall Street Journal editor, this book takes a candid look at the career of a man as admired as he was once despised. In this behind-the-scenes story, you'll come to know the unaffected family man whose best-known accomplishment is the transformation of CBS back to its glory days as the Tiffany Network. ...
CNN - Cable News Network
Find more titles in the library's collections.
-
Clash of the Titans: how the unbridled ambition of Ted Turner and Rupert Murdoch has created global empires that control what we read and watch
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HC 102.5 .T86 H33 2003ISBN: 9781893224605Ted Turner and Rupert Murdoch are the major players in the media world today and both have personal lives as complicated as their business dealings. This is a researched look at media business and also a dual biography. -
The CNN effect: the myth of news, foreign policy and intervention
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4784 .T4 R63 2002ISBN: 9780415259057The CNN Effect examines the relationship between the state and its media, and considers the role played by the news reporting in a series of 'humanitarian' interventions in Iraq, Somalia, Bosnia, Kosovo and Rwanda. Piers Robinson challenges traditional views of media subservience and argues that sympathetic news coverage at key moments in foreign crises can influence the response of Western governments. -
How CNN fought the war: a view from the inside
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 4888 .T4 S64 1991ISBN: 9781559720830In this provocative, hard-hitting, insightful book, CNN's leading military analyst during the war against Iraq tells all: from how CNN beat the much touted network newscasts to how it allowed itself to become an instrument of enemy propaganda with its reports from Baghdad after Iraq imposed censorship. ... -
We changed the world: memoirs of a CNN global satellite pioneer
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.4 .P48 A3 2005ISBN: 9781557788559CNN began a revolution in television with the advent of its 24-hour cable news channel out of Atlanta in 1980, challenging the three major television networks headquartered in New York that shaped the perception of current events by Americans. This revolution was to take the world by storm during the next decade as satellite and cable television provided an alternative, if not the only, source of information for people throughout the world. With satellites over 22,400 feet above the earth's surface beaming their signal like sunshine to the earth, media and telecommunications monopolies and governments could no longer control the programming and flow of information in their countries. ...
ESPN
Find more titles in the library's collections.
-
30 for 30. Volume 1
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #12113 discs 1 - 6In celebration of the ESPN's 30th anniversary, ESPN Films presents 30 for 30, a critically acclaimed series of films from some of today's finest directors. From Barry Levinson & Peter Berg to Steve James, Brett Morgen and Ice Cube, each filmmaker brings their unique perspective to an extraordinary sports story from the last 30 years.
Kings ransom -- The band that wouldn't die -- Small potatoes: who killed the USFL? -- Muhammad & Larry -- Without Bias -- The legend of Jimmy the Greek -- The U -- Winning time: Reggie Miller vs. the New York Knicks -- Guru of go -- No crossover: the trial of Allen Iverson -- Silly little game -- Run Ricky run -- The 16th man -- Straight outta L.A. -- June 17th, 1994. -
Those guys have all the fun: inside the world of ESPN
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry GV 742.3 .M55 2011ISBN: 9780316043007It began, in 1979, as a mad idea of starting a cable channel to televise local sporting events throughout the state of Connecticut. Today, ESPN is arguably the most successful network in modern television history, spanning eight channels in the Unites States and around the world. But the inside story of its rise has never been fully told-until now. Drawing upon over 500 interviews with the greatest names in ESPN's history and an All-Star collection of some of the world's finest athletes, bestselling authors James Miller and Tom Shales take us behind the cameras. ...
Fox Broadcasting/Fox News
-
The fourth network: how Fox broke the rules and reinvented television
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .F68 K56 2004ISBN: 9781566635721When Garth Ancier left NBC for the start-up FOX network, NBC head Grant Tinker told Ancier he was making a terrible mistake. "I will never put a fourth column on my schedule board," Ancier recalls Tinker telling him. "There will only be three." Today, fewer than twenty years later, FOX is routinely referred to as one of the "Big Four" television networks while more recent arrivals like UPN, PAX, and the WB strive to be number five. The Australian-born media mogul Rupert Murdoch, Barry Diller, and the many executives who have worked at the FOX network over the years changed the rules of the game. ... -
How to steal an election: the inside story of how George Bush's brother and Fox Network miscalled the 2000 election and changed the course of history
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry JK 526 2000 .M66 2006ISBN: 9781560259299This is the inside story of how Jeb Bush persuaded the Fox network to call the presidential election for his brother George W. Bush on Election Night 2000. It was one phone call to Fox -- the details of which are revealed in this book for the first time -- that propelled George W. Bush into leading position for 43rd president of the United States. Even though the erroneous statement had to be retracted within two hours, the damage done by this false call to Al Gore's chances of winning the election were incalculable. ...
HBO - Home Box Office
Find more titles about HBO in the library's online catalog.
-
The essential HBO reader
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .H66 E87 2008ISBN: 9780813124520The founding of Home Box Office in the early 1970s was a harbinger of the innovations that transformed television as an industry and a technology in the decades that followed. HBO quickly became synonymous with subscription television and became the leading force in cable programming. Having interests in television, motion picture, and home video industries was crucial to its success. HBO diversified into original television and movie production, home video sales, and international distribution as these once-separate entertainment sectors began converging into a global entertainment industry in the mid-1980s. ... -
Inside the rise of HBO: a personal history of the company that transformed television
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .H66 M47 2015ISBN: 9780786497867There are two ages in the history of television: before HBO and after HBO. Before the launch of Home Box Office in 1972, the industry had changed little since the birth of broadcast network television in the late 1940s. ...
NBC - National Broadcasting Company
Find more books about NBC in the library's online catalog.
-
NBC: America's network
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .N37 N33 2007ISBN: 9780520250819Spanning eight decades from the beginnings of commercial radio to the current era of international consolidation and emerging digital platforms, this pioneering volume illuminates the entire course of American broadcasting by offering the first comprehensive history of a major network. Bringing together wide-ranging original articles by leading scholars and industry insiders, it offers a comprehensive view of the National Broadcasting Company (NBC) that brings into focus the development of this key American institution and the ways that it has intersected with, and influenced, the central events of our times. ... -
The sweeps: a year in the life of a television network
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .N37 C49 1984ISBN: 9780688039127
Nickelodeon
Find more titles about Nickelodeon in the library's online catalog.
-
Kids rule!: Nickelodeon and consumer citizenship
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .N55 B36 2007ISBN: 9780822339939In Kids Rule! Sarah Banet-Weiser examines the cable network Nickelodeon in order to rethink the relationship between children, media, citizenship, and consumerism. Nickelodeon is arguably the most commercially successful cable network ever. ... -
Nickelodeon nation: the history, politics, and economics of America's only TV channel for kids
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.92 .N55 N53 2004ISBN: 9780814736524Nickelodeon is the highest rated daytime channel in the country, and its cultural influence has grown at an astounding pace. Why are Nickelodeon shows so popular? How are they developed and marketed? And where do they fit in the economic picture of the children's media industry? Nickelodeon Nation, the first major study of the only TV channel just for children, investigates these questions. ...
PBS - Public Broadcasting Service
For more titles, click here.
-
The Corporation for Public BroadcastingCall Number: Check the online catalogThis link is a subject search for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in the online catalog. The Corporation is the main source of funding for PBS and NPR.
-
The PBS companion: a history of public television
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.79 .U6 S73 1999ISBN: 9781575000503 -
Public television: politics and the battle over documentary film
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry HE 8700.79 .U6 B85 1997ISBN: 9780813524702Public television's original mandate requires the system to address issues of controversy and facilitate the inclusion of voices and perspectives that lie outside the established consensus. But attempts to include these voices reveal to a system riddled with conflicting obligations and agendas. Public Television looks at who in the world of public television is powerful, who is weak, and who cares. Through detailed chronologies, B. J. Bullert traces how independently produced documentaries pushed the limits of public television between 1985 and 1993. ...
