Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Google Books Search
Use this search box to find book chapters on television criticism.
Reviews from newspapers
- Major metropolitan newspapers are a good source for TV reviews and information.
- You can also limit your searching to "reviews" in most of this group of databases.
- Note that the Historical newspapers do not cover the present.
- ProQuest Newsstand has coverage from 1980's to the present.
- LexisNexis and Library Pressdisplay give you more current coverage of television.
- U.S. Newsstream byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database lets you search a collection of current newspapers. Coverage varies from 1980 to the present. You can search a few or all of the newspapers in the collection.
Proquest historical newspapers by Call Number: Electronic resourcesA collection of major regional and ethnic newspapers from their beginning date to a date in the near past. The New York Times goes until 3 years ago, while the Boston Globe only goes to 1989. The Chicago Defender goes from 1905 to 1975.
Los Angeles sentinelCall Number: Electronic resourceThe Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and it's readers. Its a highly regarded paper that significantly influences the perceptions, attitudes and buying decisions of it's readership.- LexisNexis AcademicCall Number: Electronic resourceLexisNexis gives you access to current newspapers. However, some newspapers go back several years while others only have the last 6 months. Your best search may be in "Major Papers" under the "General News" category in a Guided News Search.
PressReader by Call Number: Electronic resourceA database of regional, national and international newspapers. The time limit is the last 60 days. Many countries are represented in the archive.
Reviews from scholarly journals
Except for the Screen Studies Collection, the list here highlights resources that may not have citations prior to 1970. If you need information for movies made before 1970, look at the tab above called Researching early films.
These resources will lead you to more scholarly reviews.
- ATLA Catholic periodical and literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceLooking at film from another viewpoint.
Film & television literature indexCall Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
MLA international bibliography by Call Number: Electronic resourceMLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. Coverage includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Performing arts periodicals databaseCall Number: Electronic resourcePerforming Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Screen studies collection by Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute.
Reviews in Variety
- Variety television reviews, 1923-1988: the first fifteen volumes of the series, including a comprehensive index byCall Number: Baker-Berry Ref. PN 1992.3 .U5 V36 1989 v.1-16ISBN: 9780824025878Television reviews originally published in two sister publications: Variety (New York, N.Y.), and Daily Variety.
Reviews from Popular literature
Readers' Guide Retrospective does provide early film coverage, but only for popular literature. Popular literature includes Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone, Cosmopolitan, Instyle, etc.
Readers guide abstracts by Call Number: Electronic resourceIndexes articles from more than 200 of the most popular general-interest magazines published in the United States and Canada, covering all subjects of such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, food, education, sports, history, and science.
Readers' guide retrospective, 1890-1982 by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe regular Readers' Guide Abstracts covers popular literature from 1983 to the present. This retrospective version covers that same literature from 1890 to 1982. Because this is historical material, remember to search using the terms that were used during a particular time period. For example, early Black films would use the subject "Negro" or "Colored" rather than Black or Afro-American (African-American). You can also limit your searching to film reviews when looking for a particular title.
Online reviews
You may have your own favorite sight for online reviews. This is a list of possibilities.
- Christian Spotlight on EntertainmentThis site is from Christian Answers. Their primary goal is to provide accurate, biblical answers on a wide variety of questions asked by Christians and non-Christians.
- Television Critics Association
The Television Critics Association represents more than 200 journalists writing about television for print and online outlets in the United States and Canada. - Television without PityArchive only.
- Variety.com - tv reviewsCovers all aspects of entertainment, film, TELEVISION, music, videos publishing and the internet.
