Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Other library resource(s)
Bamboozled by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #585ISBN: 9780780634060In a searing parody of American television, Bamboozled takes a humorous look at how race, ratings and the pursuit of power lead to a network executive's stunning rise and tragic downfall.
Hollywood shuffle by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #1709ISBN: 9780792850311This is a comedy about Bobby Taylor, a young black actor trying to get a foothold in Hollywood but running into problems of stereotyping at every turn.
Lone star by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #736An unsolved murder in a Texas border town uncovers a tale of corruption, intrigue, and forbidden love.
Internet resource(s)
- Asian American Justice Center
Under their Media Diversity section, the Center publishes report cards and reports on how diverse the television networks are. Included in this section is the report Asian Pacific Americans in Prime Time: Lights, Cameras and Little Action. - The Dawn of Television Promised Diversity. ...Using original archival research and FBI blacklist documents, professor Carol A. Stabile pieces together the inter-sectional narratives that never made it on air. ...
- The Foundation for the Augmentation of African-Americans in Film (FAAAF)
The Foundation’s mission is to identify, inspire and prepare the next generation of African-American filmmakers as they continue to influence, craft and develop the evolving images of African-American people in cinema and television. - Mo' Latinos, Same Problems (Latin Post)... While positive, Latinos portray police officers, nurses/doctors, teachers, lawyers and judges. But more often, Latinos portray the negative roles: the criminals, gardeners, maids and dropouts. ...
- National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC)
NHMC is a women-led non-profit civil and human rights organization that was founded to eliminate hate, discrimination, and racism toward the Latino communities. ... They educate and increase Latinx visibility from their policy work in Washington D.C. to their media advocacy work in Hollywood, where they collaborate, create, and connect Latinx talent with the entertainment industry.
New books in the collections
Find new items on minorities on television in the library's collections.
Defining representation
The image or idea of a thing. In film studies, representation is an overdetermined term with various meanings.
1. In a common use, representation is a synonym for film in general, inasmuch as all films constitute an image or idea of the thing they depict. In relation to this, it is necessary to note that what we actually see is a re-presentation (i.e. the screening) of a representation (the film).
2. In debates about film and realism, the specific qualities of photography have led to claims that the film image transcribes, or indexes, reality rather than represents it; in this formulation the film is the thing (see index). A counterclaim has it that all representation is governed by a framework of codes and conventions specific to a particular time and place (see poststructuralism; semiotics) and also that the thing represented is often just another representation (see intertextuality): in this formulation the once-removed nature, and perhaps even the untrustworthiness, of representation is emphasized.
3. Representation is also a key term for scholars who work on questions of identity and on the ways in which films may construct or deploy negative stereotypes of marginalized or oppressed groups (see disability; gender; race; religion; sexuality; social class). In this context, the term can also mean to advocate on behalf of an individual or a group, as with an elected politician or legal representation. Used thus, filmmakers from marginalized or oppressed groups are sometimes said to bear the burden of representation inasmuch as their work is asked to speak on behalf of, or represent, the group to which they belong or are presumed by others to belong (see cultural studies and film).
4. The use of the term to denote the process of mental representation is less common, though it is integral to some theories of perception and psychology that are occasionally addressed within film studies (see cognitivism; phenomenology and film).
Kuhn, A., & Westwell, G. (2020). Representation. In A Dictionary of Film Studies. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 3 Nov. 2022
In the Library's collections
Suggested subject headings for searching the online catalog include:
- african americans on televisionCall number range is PN 1992.8 .A34 on Baker Level 4.
- asian americans on televisionCall number range is PN 1992.8 .A78 on Baker Level 4.
- hispanic americans on televisionCall number range is PN 1992.8 .H54 on Baker Level 4.
- indians on televisionCall number range is PN 1992.8 .I64 on Baker Level 4.
- women on televisionCall number range is PN 1992.8 .W65 on Baker Level 4.
- minorities on televisionCall number range is PN 1992.8 .M54 on Baker Level 4.
- minorities in mass mediaThis is a more general subject heading to use.
Introductory reading(s)
African Americans on television: race-ing for ratings by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .A34 A48 2013ISBN: 9780275995140A comprehensive look at the history of African Americans on television that discusses major trends in black TV and examines the broader social implications of the relationship between race and popular culture as well as race and representation. ...
The encyclopedia of ethnic groups in Hollywood by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .M56 M85 2003ISBN: 9780816046041Alphabetically arranged biographical and topical entries cover the treatment and progress of African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans in motion pictures and television.- Ethnic and racial images in American film and television: historical essays and bibliography byCall Number: Baker-Berry Z 5784 .M9 W65 1987ISBN: 9780824087333
Filming difference: actors, directors, producers, and writers on gender, race, and sexuality in film by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .S62 F55 2009ISBN: 9780292719743Addressing representation and identity in a variety of production styles and genres, including experimental film and documentary, independent and mainstream film, and television drama, Filming Difference poses fundamental questions about the ways in which the art and craft of filmmaking force creative people to confront stereotypes and examine their own identities while representing the complexities of their subjects. ...- Hispanics in Hollywood: an encyclopedia of film and television byCall Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H47 R49 1994ISBN: 9780815308270
Historical dictionary of African-American television by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .A34 F43 2006ISBN: 9780810853355From Amos 'n' Andy to The Jeffersons to Family Matters to Chappelle's Show, this volume covers it all with entries on all different genres--animation, documentaries, sitcoms, sports, talk shows, and variety shows--and performers such as Muhammad Ali, Louis Armstrong, Bill Cosby, and Oprah Winfrey. ...
Race and media: critical approaches by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781479889310A foundational collection of essays that demonstrate how to study race and media From graphic footage of migrant children in cages to #BlackLivesMatter and #OscarsSoWhite, portrayals and discussions of race dominate the media landscape. Race and Media adopts a wide range of methods to make sense of specific occurrences, from the corporate portrayal of mixed-race identity by 23andMe to the cosmopolitan fetishization of Marie Kondo. ...
Race in American television: voices and visions that shaped a nation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440843051This encyclopedia explores representations of people of color in American television. It includes overview essays on early, classic, and contemporary television and the challenges, developments, and participation of minorities on and behind the screen. ...
Tribal television: viewing native people in sitcoms by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781469618685Native Americans have been a constant fixture on television, from the dawn of broadcasting, when the iconic Indian head test pattern was frequently used during station sign-ons and sign-offs, to the present.
Selected book title(s)
African Americans in television: behind the scenes by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .A34 A32 2010ISBN: 9781433110405From Frank's Place through Soul Food and Girlfriends, the increased involvement of African Americans in the production of television images has impacted the way television portrays the diversity of American life. Yet little research has been done to explore how minority television workers see their role as creators. This book explores television and race from the perspective of industry writers, producers, directors, and executives. ...
Juan in a hundred: the representation of Latinos on network news by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992 .8 .H54 S36 2012ISBN: 9780292743748Latinos constitute the fastest-growing and largest ethnic minority in the United States, yet less than one percent of network news coverage deals with Latinos as the focus of a story. Out of that one percent, even fewer stories are positive in either content or tone. Otto Santa Ana has completed a comprehensive analysis of this situation, blending quantitative research with semiotic readings and ultimately applying cognitive science and humanist theory to explain the repercussions of this marginal, negative coverage. ...
Latina/o stars in U.S. eyes: the making and meanings of film and tv stardom by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .H47 B45 2009ISBN: 9780252076510This book explores the role film and television stardom has played in establishing, reinforcing, and challenging popular ethnic notions of Latina/os in the United States since the silent film era of the 1920s. In addition to documenting the importance of Latina and Latino stars to American film and television history, Mary C. Beltrán focuses on key moments in the construction of "Hollywood Latinidad" by analyzing the public images of these stars as promoted by Hollywood film studios, television networks, producers, and the performers themselves. ...
Latino TV: a history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781479830978The history of Latina/o participation and representation in American television. Whose stories are told on television? Who are the heroes and heroines, held up as intriguing, lovable, and compelling? Which characters are fully realized, rather than being cardboard villains and sidekicks? And who are our storytellers? The first-ever account of Latino/a participation and representation in US English-language television, Latino TV: A History offers a sweeping study of key moments of Chicano/a and Latino/a representation and authorship since the 1950s. ...
Media & minorities: the politics of race in news and entertainment by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .M56 L37 2006ISBN: 9780847694532Media & Minorities looks at the media's racial tendencies with an eye to identifying the system supportive messages conveyed and offering challenges to them. The book covers all major media--including television, film, newspapers, radio, magazines, and the Internet--and systematically analyzes their representation of the four largest minority groups in the U.S.: African Americans, Native Americans, Latinos, and Asian Americans. Entertainment media are compared and contrasted with news media, and special attention is devoted to coverage of social movements for racial justice and politicians of color.
Media and the affective life of slavery by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781517910402Amid fervent conversations about anti-racism and police violence, Media and the Affective Life of Slavery delivers vital new ideas about how our feelings about race are governed and normalized by our media landscape. Allison Page examines U.S. media from the 1960s to today, analyzing how media culture instructs viewers to act and feel in accordance with new racial norms created for an era supposedly defined by an end to legal racism. ...
Monitored peril: Asian Americans and the politics of tv representation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780816623693Early in the movement of Asian labour to the United States, immigrants from the Far East were viewed by the dominant Euro-American society as a peril to a white, Christian nation. How far have we come since then? This first comprehensive study of Asian-American representation on network television supplies some unsettling answers. ...
Outside looking in: viewing First Nations peoples in Canadian dramatic television series by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780773533677In Outside Looking In: Viewing First Nations Peoples in Canadian Dramatic Television Series Mary Jane Miller traces the evolution of perceptions of Indians in series television over 50 years. The series examined are Radisson (1957); Forest Rangers and other childrens series in the 60s and early 70s; ...
Something ain't kosher here: the rise of the "Jewish" sitcom by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .J48 B76 2003ISBN: 9780813532110From 1989 through 2002 there was an unprecedented surge in American sitcoms featuring explicitly Jewish lead characters, thirty-two compared to seven in the previous forty years. Several of these--Mad About You, The Nanny, and Friends--were among the most popular and influential of all shows over this period; one program--Seinfeld--has been singled out as the "defining" series of the nineties. In addition, scriptwriters have increasingly created "Jewish" characters, although they may not be perceived to be by the show's audience, Rachel Green on Friends being only one example. In Something Ain't Kosher Here, Vincent Brook asks two key questions: Why has this trend appeared at this particular historical moment and what is the significance of this phenomenon for Jews and non-Jews alike? ...
Third wave feminism and television: Jane puts it in a box by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .W65 T45 2007ISBN: 9781845112455The sexual politics of television culture is the territory covered by this ground-breaking book - the first to demonstrate the ways in which third wave feminist television studies approaches and illuminates mainstream TV. Leading voices in third wave feminism focus on innovative US television shows, including The Sopranos, Oz, Six Feet Under, The L Word and the reality-TV show The Bachelor to take a closer look at the contradictions and reciprocities between feminism and television, engaging as they go in theoretical and critical conversations about media culture, third wave feminism, feminist spectatorship, the sex wars, and the politics of visual pleasure. ...
Women and American television: an encyclopedia by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1992.8 .W65 L69 1999ISBN: 9780874369700This work presents more than 400 A to Z entries on the individuals, programs, media innovations, and broad topics that tell the story of women's involvement both in front of and behind the television camera. From thought-provoking trends to entertaining trivia, this delightfully illustrated encyclopedia covers it all: Gracie Allen, Ally McBeal, Asian women, black sitcoms, cable TV, the Emmys, tabloid and talk shows, older women on television, Penny Marshall, Our Miss Brooks, Jane Pauley, soap operas, Jamie Tarses, That Girl, Oprah Winfrey, and more. ...
Selected documentaries
The Bronze screen: 100 years of the Latino image in Hollywood by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3322ISBN: 9781568558998The Bronze Screen honors the past, illuminates the present, and opens a window to the future of Latinos in motion pictures. From silent movies to urban gang films, stereotypes of the Greaser, the Lazy Mexican, the Latin lover and the Dark lady are examined. Rare and extensive footage traces the progression of this distorted screen image to the increased prominence of today's Latino actors, writers and directors.
Pioneers of television. Season 4Call Number: Jones Media DVD #17746ISBN: 9781608830626The 'Breaking Barriers' episode traces the story of people of color on American television.
Reel injun by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #11118Travelling through the heartland of America, Cree filmmaker Neil Diamond examines how the myth of the movie "Injun" has influenced the world's understanding - and misunderstanding - of Natives. With clips from hundreds of classic and recent films, and candid interviews with celebrated Native and non-Native directors, writers, actors and activists, including Clint Eastwood, Robbie Robertson, Sacheen Littlefeather, John Trudell, Charlie Hill and Russell Means, Reel Injun traces the evolution of cinema's depiction of Native people from the silent film era to the present day.
The slanted screen by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #3407From silent film star Sessue Hayakawa to Harold & Kumar Go to Whitecastle, The Slanted Screen explores the portrayals of Asian men in American cinema, chronicling the experiences of actors who have had to struggle against ethnic stereotyping and limiting roles. The film presents a critical examination of Hollywood's image-making machine, through a fascinating parade of 50 film clips spanning a century.
